We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de Mirambeau
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mirambeau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Representative of great taste in design, service, food and location. The hotel has everything for ideal getaway. Beautiful location, hammam, sauna, inside and outside swimming pools. It is very much like combining visit to the castle with only small point: you don't visit, you live in it. For historical lovers, great impressions one can't find better place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for Chateau de Mirambeau
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

Chateau Mirambeau is a stunning hotel, a neo gothic castle built mainly from 1820 onwards upon the remaining vaulted foundations of a medieval fortress set in 8 hectares of parkland, complete with chapel and water fountains. It is very grandly and expensively kitted out in traditional style with dark wood panels, silk tapestry lined walls, hefty drapes, gold leaf painted ceilings and Baccarat crystal lights. It is beautifully and suitably done though lovers of minimalism may need dark glasses to cope with the floral overload. Our deluxe room was quite incredible, vast in size and again ultra ornate in décor with canopied bed, fine antiques and rich furnishings. It felt like a scene from The Princess and the Pea! Due to the number of windows such a large bedroom affords it was also gloriously light as was the very spacious bathroom which was elegantly decorated in black and white marble with claw foot bath and high end fittings. Drinks and meals can be taken on the lovely terrace which overlooks the estate, a glorious setting though the food did not live up to the scene. The restaurant is a serious affair offering French haute cuisine, either A la Carte or a choice of set menus varying from 49 to 98 euros per person sans wine. We found the food unmemorable. The warmed bread rolls were so hard I feared for my veneers. Service was suitably formal, friendly and slow. However we enjoyed the setting so much that despite a disappointing culinary experience we adored our visit and I have given 5 stars as it is a unique and rather special place. Mirambeau itself offers little of great interest, we chose the location purely because of this hotel, but it is a good base for exploring the area, we particularly liked Bordeaux, Blaye,, Saintes and Talmont.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is an unbelievable 5 star chateaus et relais !!!
It is so breathtaking you have a hard time believing you will actually be allowed to sleep
there !
The rooms are fit for a princess ! The spa fit for royalty and I have seen quite a few spas!
The view is so peaceful and beautiful you feel like you are dreaming and in another century
Very old but well kept and renovated to perfection.
The staff is very classy but also friendly and not pretentious .
One of the best places we ever stayed and some of the places we have been too were
pretty hard to beat ! AWESOME !

Room Tip: We had room 16 so you may ask for that one tough they are probably all beautiful
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulyne17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The chateau is beautiful, relaxing and halfway between Bordeaux and Cognac. Spent 4 nights here and found the stay very relaxing. The food here is Michelin star standard and cannot be faulted. Wine by the glass is not a good idea for the thirsty, get a bottle! There is nothing else to do near Mirambeau, so use the stay to relax, enjoy the cognac and pool(s).

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BowenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed for three days whilst visiting nearby family and were very comfortable in room eight which is one of the smaller rooms. The hotel has only about 20 rooms so it never felt very full and we often had the spa to ourselves. The indoor pool is lovely and we would have used the outdoor pool more but it was only available towards the end of our stay as the staff thought it was too cold to use.
We had one meal in the restaurant which was beautifully presented and delicious. The rest of the time we ate out with our family.
There only seemed to be one member of staff for the spa treatments and it proved impossible to find a slot that fitted into our outings so it's as well to book before you arrive.
Despite the large grounds it was not as peaceful as you might expect as there was traffic noise particularly from lorries climbing the road up the hill. The town of Mirambeau is underwhelming and most places worth visiting are at least a half hour drive but the hotel itself was a lovely place to stay and you can have a wonderful holiday without venturing out at all.
The staff were very solicitous and our room was kept beautifully in order and clean.

Room Tip: Room eight is good. The view is of mature trees and it is not overlooked. It is one of the smaller...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnHythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

When you think of Relais & Chateaux you are probably thinking of a place like this, a 200-year-old mansion built in a seventeenth-century style on the site of a medieval fortress. Somehow it's all dazzling, and the large grounds, gracious service and a first-rate restaurant are a big part of it. The rooms don't leave much to be desired either, with 20-foot ceilings, large floral prints, plush bed and more personal space than you could need. A little private chapel on the grounds was hosting a wedding the weekend after our stay.
You can tour the wine country although here you are closer to the Cognac vineyards than Bordeaux. (We drove an hour on autoroute to and from the city of Bordeaux.) Another day we borrowed some good new bikes available to guests and rode about an hour to a bird sanctuary on the riverfront. There are two tennis courts in the garden and the spa and pool complex is large, new and very complete: jacuzzi, sauna and steamroom. We were there at the end of every day.
Breakfast is a la carte with a continental option and anything else you can order from the kitchen. For dinner there is the formal restaurant or room service; as good as the restaurant is a casual menu would add to the options for a guest.
That's about the only suggestion for improvement. We spent three very enjoyable days here, and wish it had been more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Beautiful views beautiful room fabulous dinner ? the spa was beautiful and the grounds were well attended I slept well in a soft crisp bed I don't need to say anymore made the stay made me feel very special and I don't want to leave

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippip_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mirambeau
15.8 mi away
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
9.0 mi away
Hotel du Moulin du Val de Seugne
22.6 mi away
Relais de Margaux
Relais de Margaux
#1 of 2 in Margaux
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Vieux Logis
9.7 mi away
Chateau des Salles
Chateau des Salles
#1 of 1 in Saint Fort sur Gironde
52 reviews
19.2 mi away
La Closerie des Vignes
La Closerie des Vignes
#1 of 1 in Saint-Ciers-De-Canesse
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Mirambeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Mirambeau

Address: 1 avenue des Comtes Duchatel, 17150 Mirambeau, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Mirambeau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mirambeau
Price Range: £138 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Mirambeau 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situe entre terre et mer, a la croisee des vignobles de Bordeaux et de Cognac, le Chateau de Mirambeau est la residence ideale pour decouvrir et partager les saveurs d'une region, reputee pour sa douceur de vivre. Cet elegant chateau de style Renaissance trone au coeur d'un superbe parc de 8 hectares et est agremente de deux piscines, interieure et exterieure ainsi que de deux courts de tennis pour votre plaisir. Entierement renovee avec de somptueuses etoffes, un mobilier d'epoque, des lustres de cristal, cette demeure d'exception avec ses 22 chambres et suites decline un art de vivre a la francaise, entre reve et realite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau de Mirambeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Mirambeau Hotel Mirambeau
Chateau De Hotel Mirambeau
Mirambeau Chateau De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing