We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Mirambeau
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mirambeau
Montreal
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had the chance of celebrating our wedding there a bit more than a year ago (should have written this review way before...).

It certainly was the most wonderful day of our life. From our initial visit, all the personnel has been helpful, resourceful, polite and... fun. We visited 4 other places in Frances but this one was clearly out of the league.

Laurence did a perfect job in helping us organizing our wedding. She made everything so easy, yet from helping my sister, I know it must have been a lot of work.

The rooms were amazing: comfortable, gorgeous. The premise is lovely, between the huge park and the spa section. It was a bit too early for the pool, but it seemed very nice too.

Our wedding dinner was well... perfect. Aurelien, the sommelier, understood our tastes almost immediately and offered perfect pairings with each course. Everything was delicious. Not that easy for a group of 20 something people.

We will certainly be back...with our little princess.

(We were there May 2012 but the list for "when did you travel" did not go that far)

Room Tip: Every room as its own design so I don't think you can go wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtlD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    39
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
38
157
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We came to stay at Chateau Mirambeau simply because of its proximity to friends we were visiting, and apart from viewing the web site had no prior knowledge of this hotel.

What a wonderful surprise! The building was beautiful and commanding without being overwhelming & unwelcoming, as some chateau properties I have stayed in.

The staff, led by the charming hotel manager, Frederic Boivent, were warm, kind and friendly without the usual formulaic hotel management style so beloved of "upmarket" international hotel chains.
The suites we were given were immaculate both in decor as well as in space and cleanliness.
Whilst the pool area could have been a little better manicured, the other benefits of this hotel only seemed to make this a minor niggle.

I have seen that some visitors have reported disappointment with the restaurant.
Despite my significant experience of dining in France over the last 30 years, I was really rather pleased with the food at their gastronomic restaurant.
Whilst I might quibble that the chef is trying too hard to impress and over complicating dishes, the actual execution of the dishes was competent , and the core component of each dish was not unduly compromised by the injudicious use of other ingredients.
The dining room was elegant & calm and whilst the service lacked the slickness of, say, a Michelin 2 starred restaurant, it was considerably better than the service I have encountered in countless 1 starred establishments. The staff were polite and keen to please, and their lack of the sort of standardized and insincere training so often endured in other restaurants made their brand of service all the more endearing.

Breakfasts were generous and were charged at what appears to be the normal prices for such types of hotel.

My daughters (aged 10 &12) loved this hotel as indeed did their parents. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mubariz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This hotel was just exquisite, from start to finish the service was perfect and the setting is like no other! It was just amazing to stay in a castle with 11th century foundations and built in the 1800s. It's the type of place which in a main city would be filled with tourists taking photos, but in beautiful Mirambeau it's a place to call your own!

We stayed here for our honeymoon and were upgraded to a beautiful suite with amazing views. The service we received was second to none - every single staff member we encountered congratulated us, and nothing was too much to ask for!

The chateau also had excellent facilities and everything you would expect in a 5 star hotel - beautiful indoor and outdoor pools, hammam, sauna, wonderful concierge service, all of the little luxuries in the guest rooms etc.

The restaurant also deserves a special mention - we had a few meals here and although pricey, was well, well worth it! During our honeymoon we've had meals at a few Michelin star restaurants, yet the restaurant at Chateau Mirambeau was our definite favourite! The service at the restaurant was world class and the traditional French menu did not disappoint.

The concierge service was also great, the staff gave very helpful recommendations and booked all of our visits to beautiful little chateaus in nearby Saint Emilion and the greater Bordeaux and Cognac regions.

Overall we absolutely LOVED our stay here. It cost us less than staying at the Intercontinental Carlton Hotel in Cannes and the Hotel Maria Cristina in San Sebastian (both very iconic hotels), but was a far far superior stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nooree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

If this review were based on facilities alone, I would give the Chateau de Mirambeau 6 stars. The hotel is in excellent condition and is even nicer than the photographs advertise. We were treated like royalty upon check-in and our room was beautifully appointed. Had we not eaten at the restaurant, it would have been a fairytale night in a picture-perfect setting. Dollar-per-dollar, an overnight stay here is an extraordinary value.

Dinner, on the other hand, couldn’t have been more disappointing. I have never felt more taken advantage of in my life—inedible dishes at lofty prices (we ate a la carte, since the food looked more interesting than the 4-course tasting menu), a near fistfight trying to get the sommelier to limit his wine recommendations to 50 Euros (the bottle he selected was absolutely awful—“like burnt rubber,” as my companion suggested), and Cognacs starting at 20 Euros per glass (in a skimpily measured 4-oz. pour). The oyster appetizer we ordered came in a gelee of gray sludge and tasted as appealing as it looked. Dinner was by far the worst meal of our 10-day trip to France, and that includes sandwiches purchased from a roadside gas station on our 5-our drive from Paris to the Chateau.

Dinner, btw, cost us 250 Euros for 2 people. That included one bottle of wine and 2 rounds of cocktails, one appetizer each and one main course each. I recognize we ordered ordering one of the least expensive options on the wine list, but at these prices I would expect the wines to be serviceable, at the very least.

I have just reread the Trip Advisor reviews for the chateau and am shocked that so many people had good experiences at the restaurant. However, reading the French reviews, I’ve noticed that several people have mentioned the dining experience is unacceptable in a hotel of this caliber. I wholeheartedly agree. On the same trip we stayed at hotels that were much higher up in the Relais & Chateaux rankings, and at each of these “premium” hotels we were able to purchase spectacular wines at much lower price points, and all without attitude from a 22-year-old sommelier. And it goes without saying that we would choose to return to the restaurants at these other hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Benji375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
164 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Representative of great taste in design, service, food and location. The hotel has everything for ideal getaway. Beautiful location, hammam, sauna, inside and outside swimming pools. It is very much like combining visit to the castle with only small point: you don't visit, you live in it. For historical lovers, great impressions one can't find better place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
775 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Chateau Mirambeau is a stunning hotel, a neo gothic castle built mainly from 1820 onwards upon the remaining vaulted foundations of a medieval fortress set in 8 hectares of parkland, complete with chapel and water fountains. It is very grandly and expensively kitted out in traditional style with dark wood panels, silk tapestry lined walls, hefty drapes, gold leaf painted ceilings and Baccarat crystal lights. It is beautifully and suitably done though lovers of minimalism may need dark glasses to cope with the floral overload. Our deluxe room was quite incredible, vast in size and again ultra ornate in décor with canopied bed, fine antiques and rich furnishings. It felt like a scene from The Princess and the Pea! Due to the number of windows such a large bedroom affords it was also gloriously light as was the very spacious bathroom which was elegantly decorated in black and white marble with claw foot bath and high end fittings. Drinks and meals can be taken on the lovely terrace which overlooks the estate, a glorious setting though the food did not live up to the scene. The restaurant is a serious affair offering French haute cuisine, either A la Carte or a choice of set menus varying from 49 to 98 euros per person sans wine. We found the food unmemorable. The warmed bread rolls were so hard I feared for my veneers. Service was suitably formal, friendly and slow. However we enjoyed the setting so much that despite a disappointing culinary experience we adored our visit and I have given 5 stars as it is a unique and rather special place. Mirambeau itself offers little of great interest, we chose the location purely because of this hotel, but it is a good base for exploring the area, we particularly liked Bordeaux, Blaye,, Saintes and Talmont.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is an unbelievable 5 star chateaus et relais !!!
It is so breathtaking you have a hard time believing you will actually be allowed to sleep
there !
The rooms are fit for a princess ! The spa fit for royalty and I have seen quite a few spas!
The view is so peaceful and beautiful you feel like you are dreaming and in another century
Very old but well kept and renovated to perfection.
The staff is very classy but also friendly and not pretentious .
One of the best places we ever stayed and some of the places we have been too were
pretty hard to beat ! AWESOME !

Room Tip: We had room 16 so you may ask for that one tough they are probably all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulyne17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mirambeau
15.8 mi away
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
9.0 mi away
Hotel du Moulin du Val de Seugne
22.6 mi away
Relais de Margaux
Relais de Margaux
#1 of 2 in Margaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Vieux Logis
8.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Ecu
Hotel de l'Ecu
#1 of 4 in Jonzac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
14.0 mi away
Chateau Pomys
Chateau Pomys
#1 of 1 in Saint-Estephe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Mirambeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Mirambeau

Property: Chateau de Mirambeau
Address: 1 avenue des Comtes Duchatel, 17150 Mirambeau, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Mirambeau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mirambeau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Mirambeau 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situe entre terre et mer, a la croisee des vignobles de Bordeaux et de Cognac, le Chateau de Mirambeau est la residence ideale pour decouvrir et partager les saveurs d'une region, reputee pour sa douceur de vivre. Cet elegant chateau de style Renaissance trone au coeur d'un superbe parc de 8 hectares et est agremente de deux piscines, interieure et exterieure ainsi que de deux courts de tennis pour votre plaisir. Entierement renovee avec de somptueuses etoffes, un mobilier d'epoque, des lustres de cristal, cette demeure d'exception avec ses 22 chambres et suites decline un art de vivre a la francaise, entre reve et realite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Chateau de Mirambeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Mirambeau Hotel Mirambeau
Chateau De Hotel Mirambeau
Mirambeau Chateau De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing