We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau de Mirambeau
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montplaisir(Montendre)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Chateau des Salles(Saint Fort sur Gironde)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau Pomys(Saint-Estephe)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
225
49
14
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
49
14
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor pooljunior suitesteam roomturn down servicebeautiful propertymacaroonsrefreshing changelarge groundsstaff were really helpfulmichelin starrestaurant stafflong driveduckone night stayan absolute gemtravelling through franceroom was large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The chateau is near to the motorway, but you can't hear the traffic. The countryside around Mirambeau is picturesque, but there are no great "sights" nearby. Bordeaux is well worth a visit, as are Cognac and both banks of the Gironde estuary - all about an hour's drive away

The chateau is stunningly beautiful and in a well-tended small park. We stayed 4 nights in a junior suite (room 6) on the first floor. It was very spacious and comfortable and had an excellent marble bathroom with separate shower and bath and two washbasins. The décor of the room was a bit over the top, even for a chateau and it had very good daylight from 3 floor to ceiling windows. However, it needs much more electric lighting than is provided.

The hotel's restaurant is excellent, although we were getting a bit bored with the limited menu after 4 nights. The chef produced exactly the same pre-dinner nibbles 4 nights running - what a lack of imagination.

Most the staff were charming (especially the lovely lady who seemed to serve us every meal in the restaurant) and spoke good English. The sommelier is outstanding - very knowledgeable and helpful.

The outside swimming pool was closed during our stay and the inside one is very small - fine if you have it to yourself and are happy to swim round in circles.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a junior suite
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentManKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here for one night in August. Arrived in unseasonably lashing rain to a very warm welcome from the superb manager. The rain turned out to be a blessing as we stayed at the chateau for lunch and dinner. Both were superb - excellent table side crepe suzette flambé in the evening. Very knowledgable sommelier helped us make our wine choices. My husband was even able to enjoy a cognac from his birth year in the beautiful after dinner cognac room. Loved it all.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had the chance of celebrating our wedding there a bit more than a year ago (should have written this review way before...).

It certainly was the most wonderful day of our life. From our initial visit, all the personnel has been helpful, resourceful, polite and... fun. We visited 4 other places in Frances but this one was clearly out of the league.

Laurence did a perfect job in helping us organizing our wedding. She made everything so easy, yet from helping my sister, I know it must have been a lot of work.

The rooms were amazing: comfortable, gorgeous. The premise is lovely, between the huge park and the spa section. It was a bit too early for the pool, but it seemed very nice too.

Our wedding dinner was well... perfect. Aurelien, the sommelier, understood our tastes almost immediately and offered perfect pairings with each course. Everything was delicious. Not that easy for a group of 20 something people.

We will certainly be back...with our little princess.

(We were there May 2012 but the list for "when did you travel" did not go that far)

Room Tip: Every room as its own design so I don't think you can go wrong...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MtlD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We came to stay at Chateau Mirambeau simply because of its proximity to friends we were visiting, and apart from viewing the web site had no prior knowledge of this hotel.

What a wonderful surprise! The building was beautiful and commanding without being overwhelming & unwelcoming, as some chateau properties I have stayed in.

The staff, led by the charming hotel manager, Frederic Boivent, were warm, kind and friendly without the usual formulaic hotel management style so beloved of "upmarket" international hotel chains.
The suites we were given were immaculate both in decor as well as in space and cleanliness.
Whilst the pool area could have been a little better manicured, the other benefits of this hotel only seemed to make this a minor niggle.

I have seen that some visitors have reported disappointment with the restaurant.
Despite my significant experience of dining in France over the last 30 years, I was really rather pleased with the food at their gastronomic restaurant.
Whilst I might quibble that the chef is trying too hard to impress and over complicating dishes, the actual execution of the dishes was competent , and the core component of each dish was not unduly compromised by the injudicious use of other ingredients.
The dining room was elegant & calm and whilst the service lacked the slickness of, say, a Michelin 2 starred restaurant, it was considerably better than the service I have encountered in countless 1 starred establishments. The staff were polite and keen to please, and their lack of the sort of standardized and insincere training so often endured in other restaurants made their brand of service all the more endearing.

Breakfasts were generous and were charged at what appears to be the normal prices for such types of hotel.

My daughters (aged 10 &12) loved this hotel as indeed did their parents. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mubariz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This hotel was just exquisite, from start to finish the service was perfect and the setting is like no other! It was just amazing to stay in a castle with 11th century foundations and built in the 1800s. It's the type of place which in a main city would be filled with tourists taking photos, but in beautiful Mirambeau it's a place to call your own!

We stayed here for our honeymoon and were upgraded to a beautiful suite with amazing views. The service we received was second to none - every single staff member we encountered congratulated us, and nothing was too much to ask for!

The chateau also had excellent facilities and everything you would expect in a 5 star hotel - beautiful indoor and outdoor pools, hammam, sauna, wonderful concierge service, all of the little luxuries in the guest rooms etc.

The restaurant also deserves a special mention - we had a few meals here and although pricey, was well, well worth it! During our honeymoon we've had meals at a few Michelin star restaurants, yet the restaurant at Chateau Mirambeau was our definite favourite! The service at the restaurant was world class and the traditional French menu did not disappoint.

The concierge service was also great, the staff gave very helpful recommendations and booked all of our visits to beautiful little chateaus in nearby Saint Emilion and the greater Bordeaux and Cognac regions.

Overall we absolutely LOVED our stay here. It cost us less than staying at the Intercontinental Carlton Hotel in Cannes and the Hotel Maria Cristina in San Sebastian (both very iconic hotels), but was a far far superior stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nooree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews