We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpersonal big resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape St Francis Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cape St Francis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Not really anything wrong with this place, but just not our cup of tea. Too big and therefore unpersonal. The room was large (4 beds for just 2 people) but dark, smelly and the whole place needs a lift. No privacy, since other guest walk through your garden and gaze inside the room.... It's a family resort and therefore we recommand couples and people who travel alone so seek for a more intimate place to stay. Besides that it's just another "white people reserve" on the south east coast. The food we had was really good (burger).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMS121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

We took the family for a beach holiday and rented one of the five bed Sunbird units.
The unit were nicely furnished with all the basic necessities and were serviced every day and the on site restaurant was very convenient.
The beach was a 100m walk and was very clean. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back next year for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 817Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita L, Manager at Cape St Francis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Resort and are pleased that you had a great holiday.
It was lovely to welcome all visitors both new and returning and certainly look forward to welcoming you back.We wish you a prosperous and healthy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

19 of our family went - from Grandparents down to teenagers. Everybody had a fantastic time there. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the units were clean and neat and Joe Fish, the resort restaurant is brilliant - best seafood, great prices. Beautiful beach (with awesome waves for the surfer) right on the doorstep. Quality shops and restaurants in St Francis Bay and JBay for those rainy days. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita L, Manager at Cape St Francis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to review the Resort and for your very positive comments regarding staff, the food and the general environment.All much appreciated and a great motivation for all after a summer season of fantastic weather and awesome guests.
Have a rewarding 2013 and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed for 1 night in early January. While not really upset at anything besides the bed, I felt that it was slightly overpriced for what you get. We paid more than R600 for a 2 persons cottage that elsewhere would go for around R350 - R400. Though the cottage was basic, the bed was horrific.

Also, the food at the restaurant was disappointing. No calamari, tasteless steak and though they have a beautiful pool with tables outside, it wasn't possible to sit there. So we landed up at an awkward large inside table with little atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevernscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita L, Manager at Cape St Francis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort.At the outset please accept my most sincere apologies for the uncomfortable nights sleep, and appreciate your bringing this matter to our attention.The mattress has been replaced .
Your stay with us overlapped with our high season rate period so the charges are based on a unit rather than a per person rate and have noted your comment in this regard.
We trust that you enjoyed your visit to Southern Africa and look forward to welcoming you on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Give attention to maintenance.
Dishwasher at this price level should be included. Fridge to small for 10 people.
Special thanks for cleaning over Christmas and New Year.
Thank you for clean towels every day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suzelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita L, Manager at Cape St Francis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Resort and for your constructive input.
We constantly strive for 100% customer satisfaction and assure you that your comments will be addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Beautiful venue right on the beach - Seagull's Song. Several small items were broken/needed repair, i.e. toilet seat, bedside lamp, etc., which should have been picked up by cleaning staff, however, a call to Heidi got it sorted out. Certain cleaning was superficial - tables not wiped down properly and still sticky presumably from previous occupant. Towels removed and not replaced during week - just slight irritations which can be easily managed. What was irritating was the next door occupants parked their car in our driveway for the whole of our stay - luckily there was another access and we didn't have 2 cars otherwise there would have been a problem.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynne89462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Generally the resort offers good value for money when camping (landry was a bit steep). The sites are nicely developed and maintained. Good cover is provided against the elements and wind. Staff was very kind and professional - especially in the bar and restaurant, where good well prepared food was served. Draught beer was a total plus!(the Chrismas Lunch was excellent)

However there are a couple of small issues.

1. The area where we camped was serviced by a badly designed ablution facility. The washing area was close to the male ablutions - not making for gentle background music when you are washing you dishes.

2. Cleaning of the ablution facility was not all that consistant

3. There is only one entrance to the Beach which means a substantial walk for those staying close to the bar area.

If the ablutions could be improved - this would be a world class camping site

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sybert03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita L, Manager at Cape St Francis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thanks so much for your review and constructive comments, we will certainly try and improve on those areas.
We wish you and your family the very best for 2013 and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape St Francis
2.7 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
113 reviews
11.9 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
257 reviews
11.7 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#6 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
173 reviews
2.8 mi away
St Francis Golf Lodge
St Francis Golf Lodge
#2 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
141 reviews
10.8 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#1 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape St Francis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape St Francis Resort

Address: Da Gama Way, Cape St Francis 6313, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Cape St Francis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cape St Francis
Price Range: £52 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape St Francis Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 108 kms west of Port Elizabeth in the quaint village of Cape St Francis lies the Cape St Francis Resort and the luxurious beach villas Beach Break. Privately owned and family run we provide accommodation ranging from luxury beach villas so choose between a sea facing or garden facing room or the entire villa. With a private swimming pool and direct beach access the villas are your ideal choice .Travelling as a family we can offer family styled cottages a mere 200 metres from the beach. These cottages are tastefully decorated and have a strong beach theme and offer a fully equipped kitchen for those who wish to self cater. Our one or two roomed Apartments offer affordable accommodation set around a communal swimming pool . Facilities at the Resort include on site restaurant and bar, Hibiscus health and beauty studio, convenience shop and Resort Adventures where you can book any one of the many activities on offer such as hikes, golf, surfing, deep sea , canal and river cruises ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cape St Francis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing