We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My fairytale wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape St Francis Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cape St Francis
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“My fairytale wedding”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Had a perfect stay for 17 of us at Beach Break Villa and Seagull Song next door and held our wedding in the garden. Danni and Nicole and the team made our day so special - their organisation and calm attitude made us feel so relaxed and our guests felt well looked after. Danni was amazing at finding things for us - table decorations, speakers etc. We had a spit braai and it was delicious! The decor of the houses and grounds was gorgeous as well as the wonderful beach setting and views. We had two delicious meals at Joe's Fish Bar - chef was amazing and came out to greet us, highly recommend the calamari. Brides - if you want "the full monty" - this is the place for you. Grooms, there is a great pub at the resort to shoot some pool and calm your nerves before you say "I Do". The resort also accommodated my family and friends from PE - so "everything under one roof" as such. Its a place where beautiful memories are made.

Room Tip: For a wedding party and venue - Beach Break is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    214
    67
    29
    9
See reviews for
237
134
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I recently hosted our wedding at Cape St. Francis Resort. What a brilliant location!! I have to thank Danni and all of the staff for assisting us make our special day even better. They were so helpful and accommodating to us and our guests, along with doing exactly what we asked. Everyone raved about the braai and the reception dinner food. The accommodation options offered something for everyone to stay within the resort which was perfect. The spa, while small, is wonderful (Thanks Nicole!). The only suggestions I can make would be to have better cleaners (and ensure the houses get a thorough cleaning often), provide beach towels and even rental beach chairs, given most people have traveled and cannot carry these items, and take care of the ant problem in all of the cottages. Overall our time there was beautiful, relaxing and a ton of fun. I am thrilled to have such a wonderful memory of my wedding. If you come across "Babes" in the bar/restaurant, give her a hug. She is the best waitress ever!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cncissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita L, Manager at Cape St Francis Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hi there,
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay and experience and were privileged to host your special day.
I have taken note of your suggestions and will look into the matter.
Will pass on your comments to Babes - she is really special.
Kind regards
Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just a few things should be repaired in the chalet - Oyster Catcher :
1. The clothing hook behind the door in the bathroom had broken off by the doorstop against the wall.
2. The kettle stand is missing a rubber foot so it wobbles.
3. One of the steps going up to the house is broken and could be dangerous, especially in the dark.
4. There was no back to the TV remote, so batteries kept falling out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed in the Club Break 2-bedroom unit, which was nice and spacious. Kids enjoyed having TV in their room for the first time :) Appliances and kitchen utensils were ok. The outside (private) braai area was nice and both the open plan lounge/kitchen and kids room had a door leading there. We found, however, that the rooms had a slightly musty smell. There was a fair bit of noise from the wedding happening the one evening, but it had stopped just after midnight. The beach we found to be too far really with the kids and all their paraphernalia - it may be 300m from the resort, but the actual ocean is quite a ways from the point of entry at the back of the resort. The pool was nice - a bit of work could be done to improve the grouting/tiles. And a wash line would be useful (either inside or out) to hang wet bathing costumes and beach towels on. The laundry service is a great value-for-money offering. In terms of price, they are quite expensive for what you're getting.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a unit/room away from the construction workers (there was building taking place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurdyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stilbaai, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Cape St Francis resort. Facilities and staff are excellent with perhaps a aircon or fan is needed in the unit in summer time. Very safe environment and pools are kept very clean. Suggest more often special rates in offpeak periods to make it affordable for a break away.We will visit again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jakkiewessels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I was extremely happy with the service I got. Rooms were great and comfortable. Food at the resturant was great, It had a nice variety which I really enjoyed. It was the first time for me staying at St Francis and I really enjoyed.

Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GarethRMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful safe main beach,lots of surfers at seal point. Great accommodation 3 pools, restaurant with extrodanary food. There is also a spa to relax. Jeffreys bay is only 30minutes away, where you'll find most shops. On new years you could go to St. Francis bay to ruins for nightlife and life music from SA's best Artists.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelseySchmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape St Francis
11.7 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.7 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
11.9 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#2 of 26 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape St Francis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape St Francis Resort

Property: Cape St Francis Resort
Address: Da Gama Way, Cape St Francis 6313, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Cape St Francis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cape St Francis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape St Francis Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape St Francis , a tranquil Eco -destination with it's historic Seal Point Lighthouse built in 1878 , pristine beach, surrounding nature reserves, mild temperatures, and the longest sunshine hours on the South African coast ensures a relaxed all year round destination. Action or leisure the choices are varied, exciting and endless. Explore the canals by boat, venture onto the Kromme River, experience a game of golf on one of the surrounding golf courses on either the St Francis Bay Golf Club or the St Francis Links, surf the Endless Summer, charter a fishing vessel or simply relax. From this most southern point one is centrally situated to experience all the Eastern Cape has to offer. Experience its charm and you will want to return again and again. Cape St Francis Resort offers a selection of accommodation options to suit all pockets, Club Break offers 46 one or two roomed en suite Apartments situated around a communal exclusive-use swimming pool. Simple, stylish decor with open plan living room and kitchen with private verandahs and satellite television, Village Break consists of traditional thatch, Cape Dutch style cottages nestled in the dunes and only 300 meters from the beach. Two to four bedrooms mostly en suite with comfortable beach decor, spacious, fully equipped kitchen, satellite television and private garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape St Francis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing