We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic Surfing location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape St Francis Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cape St Francis
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Epic Surfing location”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a high density holiday complex very close to the sea. It offers a wide range of self catering accommodation which we found adequate, but a bit wanting. Particularly, the kitchen utensils are not adequate. There wasn't even a sharp knife to cut onions. There was also a lot of building going on in the complex so incessant noise of drilling and banging. The highlight was Joe's restaurant which is part of the complex. I had the standard Joe's hamburger and I can quite easily say this was the best hamburger I have had for a long time. The best is we enjoyed two days of epic surf at the point, which is really what we came for!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita L, Manager at Cape St Francis Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Cape St Francis Resort .
We have taken note of your comments raised and thank you for your input.
The waves have been amazing the last two weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    216
    67
    29
    9
See reviews for
237
141
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The service was good.
.The facilities were very user friendly.
.NB: Room 59 The shower and bath tap is faulty, needs plumbers
.We felt safe while we were around.
.The facilities are very neat and welcoming

It is a place worth recommending.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita L, Manager at Cape St Francis Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Cape St Francis Resort.Your comments are much appreciated and can tell you that we have looked at the plumbing issue as mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The house was fantastic! The beach was beautiful, clean, and right on your back doorstep. We only stayed for one night, do didn't get a real feel for the area. People in the bar across the road were very friendly. Breakfast in the house was very good. We read after we left that it was the birth place of Nelson Mandella, but we never saw any reference to this while we were there? Would love to return in south Africa's summer months.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew & Elizab... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita L, Manager at Cape St Francis Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Cape St Francis Resort.Your comments are much appreciated and can tell you that we have looked at the plumbing issue as mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night recently whilst touring the Garden Route. We were upgraded to one of the 5*villas overlooking the beach and wow! Amazing villa and such magnificent views. We had three staff serving us breakfast the next morning and it was one of the most delicious breakfasts of our trip. The weather was not great but I can only imagine what this place must be like in summer. Very welcoming and comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita L, Manager at Cape St Francis Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Cape St Francis Resort , your positive feedback is much appreciated and do look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mui Ne, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Lucky for me, friends got married here which was the reason for my visit. The resort is in a magical location, the rooms and villas are fully self contained and have a great feel. A stunning place for a wedding and reception (the food was delicious). Friendly, happy staff and lots of excited wedding guests made for an unforgettable four nights here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JoBetween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The reception was poor. No proper instructions to where the house was located & keys were not given. The restaurant is very good; ambience & food. Wedding reception venue is great. Chapel close to reception area & baby sitting facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Good all round, very clean staff friendly very reasonable good location for a getaway. Restaurant food good have no complaints whatsoever. will recommend to family and friends. went to a wedding which was well organised.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape St Francis
11.7 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
130 reviews
2.7 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
99 reviews
11.9 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#1 of 26 in Jeffreys Bay
457 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#2 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
170 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape St Francis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape St Francis Resort

Property: Cape St Francis Resort
Address: Da Gama Way, Cape St Francis 6313, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Cape St Francis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cape St Francis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape St Francis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape St Francis , a tranquil Eco -destination with it's historic Seal Point Lighthouse built in 1878 , pristine beach, surrounding nature reserves, mild temperatures, and the longest sunshine hours on the South African coast ensures a relaxed all year round destination. Action or leisure the choices are varied, exciting and endless. Explore the canals by boat, venture onto the Kromme River, experience a game of golf on one of the surrounding golf courses on either the St Francis Bay Golf Club or the St Francis Links, surf the Endless Summer, charter a fishing vessel or simply relax. From this most southern point one is centrally situated to experience all the Eastern Cape has to offer. Experience its charm and you will want to return again and again. Cape St Francis Resort offers a selection of accommodation options to suit all pockets, Club Break offers 46 one or two roomed en suite Apartments situated around a communal exclusive-use swimming pool. Simple, stylish decor with open plan living room and kitchen with private verandahs and satellite television, Village Break consists of traditional thatch, Cape Dutch style cottages nestled in the dunes and only 300 meters from the beach. Two to four bedrooms mostly en suite with comfortable beach decor, spacious, fully equipped kitchen, satellite television and private garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cape St Francis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing