We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit!”
Review of Lyngenfjord House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lyngenfjord House
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit!”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Spent 3 nights at Lyngenfjord House and had the most memorable weekend - views are amazing waking up to sunrise and sound of the ocean, delicious breakfast, huge room and balcony with very comfortable bed only a short walk from the beach. Hosts are very friendly and make you feel very welcome and spoilt and went out of their way with everything! Great location with lots to do and see for a peaceful and relaxing break from the city! We hope to be back very soon and highly recommend staying for a few nights

Room Tip: Room number 3 - massive room, king size bed, balcony with the most beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_Anne88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    14
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
harrogate
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed for one night in February. Stunning views, lovely room, extremely comfortable bed, everywhere spotless, really good breakfast, excellent value for money. Certainly would have liked to have spent a few more days there, unfortunately we did'nt have the time. We found the hosts very helpful and informative without being overly fussy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notmovingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed at Lyngenfjord for 7 nights over Easter 2012 and had a really fantastic holliday.
Lyngenfjord is set 1 row back from the beach which makes for breathtaking views of the beach and the point. We spent every morning on the beach surfing and most afternoons taking in the surrounds (J-Bay, great restaurants, the canals etc.) Kids were free to do as they pleased and spent their time surfing, skateboarding and running back and forth between the beach and Lyngenfjord. We were a group of 3 families, all with kids (8 - 12 years), all staying together at Lyngenfjord and everyone commented on how welcome we were made to feel by the owners and staff - nothing was too much effort. The accomodation is way better than adequate, clean and very homely. The breakfasts were excellant and we were even gifted easter eggs and biltong (for the dads) which was a really nice touch. I would recommend Lyngenfjord to anyone wanting a really relaxing holliday in a truly beautiful setting.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the upstairs sea facing rooms - great breaker views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I have mixed feelings about the stay at Lyngenfjord, especially considering all the good reviews. Although the host was nice enough, it was a bit disappointing to have to let ourselves in and wait around until someone came home to show us to our rooms. Also, although the rooms were good - the entire place (rooms, lounge, entrance, bathroom) smelled like old cigarettes and smoke - to the point where we had to leave our windows open all night despite bad weather because it was giving us headaches and sticking to our clothes. I don't think this is quite what a guest has in mind when they book 'non-smoking' accommodation. My other complaint was that no one showed us around the property or even explained the touristy details, e.g. how to get to the beach, local restaurants, etc. unless we hunted them out and asked. On top of that, the owners had friends over and spent the evening discussing personal business, leaving my partner and I tiptoeing around them just to get out the door and feeling more like intruders rather than paying guests. I also found the hostess not at all welcoming, condescending and rude. All in all - despite the nice location and what could be 'clean' rooms, the service was poor, the value - average at best, and the feeling of staying at some distant relative's house where I can't leave my room without intrurding terrible.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lendelede, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Lyngenfjord House at Cape St Francis is ideally located for excellent golf at St Francis Links, for long beach walks and for very nice hikes on the numerous trails.
Unfortunately it is no longer 4 stars worth.
We travelled from one B&B to another from Cape Town to Cape St Francis and the price/quality balance is not OK at Lyngenfjord House.
But the good news is that its location is superb.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filip_rosselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We had a truly wonderful 2 night stay at Lyngenfjord House.
The rooms are clean and the house is well looked after.
Beautiful view of the beach, and easy access to the beach.
The food was great, even being vegetarians.
Our only "complaint" was the shower which wet the bathroom floor most times, and didn't have much water pressure.
But if you are looking for a quaint and clean place to stay, where the staff is friendly and welcoming, and the beach is just a few steps away... this place is perfect!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Really enjoyed our stay, the rooms are bright and spotlessly clean. Try to book the sea view rooms coz they are really worth it! :) Very stunning view of the beach and absolutely love to stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beebeebuubuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape St Francis
0.6 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
578 reviews
3.2 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
98 reviews
12.4 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
242 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#2 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
170 reviews
12.8 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyngenfjord House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyngenfjord House

Property: Lyngenfjord House
Address: 7 Lyngenf Jord Road, Cape St Francis 6312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Cape St Francis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cape St Francis
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyngenfjord House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the most southern point of the Eastern Cape, the tranquil village of Cape St Francis celebrates Lyngenfjord House, a magnificent home with the Indian Ocean lapping at its doorstep. The spacious, en-suite bedrooms boast private balconies and panoramic sea views; while the antique furniture recreates a timeless bygone era, embellished with every modern comfort. We provide spectacular buffet breakfasts, which you can enjoy on the veranda while watching the whales wading in the shallows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lyngenfjord House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing