We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful relaxing accomodation ideal base for touring korcula”
Review of Grgic Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grgic Apartments
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed in 2 bed appt for week in July. Lovely setting with great views. Great pool and handy little supermarket at bottom of hill. 2 restaurant s in easy walking distance or korcula town only 10mins drive away. Helpful attentive host who made sure all was well each day and left us some bread, cheese, milk and wine for our first evening. Croatia and the dalmation coast and islands are stunning and not yet particularly commercialised so really relaxing place to come. To sum up, great appt, great setting, great holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Grgic Apartments in July and were very impressed with the experience.

Following the booking Ljilijana contacted me to offer further information and to offer to pick us up from the port if we didn't have our own transport and her special efforts to make sure you have an enjoyable break really add to the experience. She goes above and beyond what we expected, offering wine and ice cream and additional lifts down to town.

We stayed in a studio apartment, which was really homely and well equipped and spacious. The view from the balcony was lovely, two bays, mountains and flowers. The pool area is also great, and allowed us a proper day of relaxation.

The apartments themselves are a little out of Korcula town. We didn't hire a car but we did walk back in the day and it took about 40 mins or a taxi was about £10. However, there is a supermarket just across the road and a lovely restaurant a few mins walk away so it isn't inconvenient and on the plus side it does mean that it is quite peaceful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFB80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed in this apartment in May before the summer rush. We
had booked a studio apartment but because it was still off season
and we were the only guests the owner put us into a 2 bedroom
apartment.....much thanks for that as it gave us lots of space. It's
a nice property, with swimming pool, out of town on a hillside so
no city noise nor noise from the road below. Easy to get to if you
stay on the water-side road coming out of Korcula town which is
one way going in the apartment direction. It does have a very
steep hill getting up to the building but we had no problems. We
used the ferry system to get to the island, drove through the new
town and along the coast a few kilometers using our GPS. If we
were again visiting on theisland we would certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Everyone comments on how wonderful Ljiljana is, and she certainly "makes" your holiday at Grgic apartments. A fount of local knowledge (she should be, after living there for decades!) and so helpful, nothing is too much trouble including handing round drinks by the pool at the end of the day. Also, she had left fresh bread, a bottle of wine, Emmenthal cheese, tomato, fruit, water and sparkling water for our arrival which meant we had a decent lunch before going off exploring and having to do any shopping.
Our apartment was clean, fairly basic, but had just about everything we needed, even cotton buds and wipes, and laundry detergent. But no tissues. And we didn't have an iron and board but Ljiljana let me use hers and even offered to do the ironing for me! (I declined and did it myself) There was a small washing line with pegs on the balcony.
Yes, the driveway to the apartments is steep but quite manageable in a car for us. I think my only negative comments would be that we found the lighting in our apartment a little dim for reading in an evening, and sound-wise there isn't much privacy between balconies, although you can't see each other. We heard our neighbours discussing every day what they were going to do and where they were going to go!
There is free wifi and it worked fine when we were there although other reviewers have said it wasn't the best.
The little Studenac supermarket nearby is good for picking up a few things but don't expect friendly service, the staff are very surly and half the time won't even look at you. There are bigger ones in Korcula and Lumbarda which are well stocked and have a good selection of wine and beer.
The pool area is lovely, looks just like the photos and was so quiet ~ we were there at the beginning of Sept and at it's busiest there were only us and another couple using the loungers. The water was a little chilly, or "refreshing", should I say. We had a hire car for the week and I would certainly recommend having one as Korcula is a very beautiful island and worth exploring ~ Vela Luka at one end and Korcula old town and Lumbarda at the other, with many bays and beaches in between.
Nearby restaurants Brasic Family Grill and Castello are good, as is Belin Family Grill further away at Zvorno, which we decided was our favourite, the owner/chef was so welcoming and friendly. Restaurant Lina on the seafront at Lumbarda has plenty of choices on the menu and a great view.
If you see a cruise ship moored off the coast, try and avoid going into Korcula itself as it'll be very busy. No cruise ship, less crowds ! If you go to Vela Luka, make sure to visit the cave at Vela Spila, but be warned if you're going to walk up rather than drive ~ the sign may say only 800m but it's hot, hard work walking up the hill ! The views are stunning and make it worthwhile, though.
Pupnatska Luka on the south coast is worth a visit, it's a pretty bay with a small cafe with tables under an awning, and the usual white pebbly beach that makes for such clear water, great for swimming. Lumbarda has sandy beaches but they were too busy for us, we prefer somewhere a bit quieter.
If you're thinking of booking one of these apartments, please do; I can't see how anyone would be disappointed, particularly after all these consistently good reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kiwibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Stayed here for two weeks and had a lovely time

Nice pool and the balcony views are lovely

The instructions we got from simply travel were a little vague it's closer to Korcula than Radice and it's past the second Studenac supermarket and then up a steep hill

Two restaurants with walking distance the Castello which was really good ignore the bad reviews fir its food had some of the nest fish amazing chips anf gnocci and cheesecsauce and Baric which closes in Septrmber

It's a quiet holiday beaches are rocky in the main but Lumbada beach is sandy ish

Vella Luka us a nice drive

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edwmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My partner and I spent a week on Korcula Island, staying at Apartmenti Grgic. The owner was very welcoming and helpful, throwing in a welcome bottle of wine and some fresh fruit. Never used the pool because the beach was so close, but it looked lovely and clean. The local beach (which the owner directed us to) was quiet with perfect swimming water. Not sandy, but then I dislike sandy beaches. The apartment itself was functional, clean, reasonably decorated and spacious. The balcony was where we spent most of our time whilst we were at "home base", the view from which was rather lovely. It is a shame about the ongoing building work at surrounding villa's, but the owner cannot be blamed for this. We had a hire car and to be honest transport is a must, even though the walk to Korcula town is only 40 minutes at a lazy pace. The only slight problem we had was ants in and around the villa, which we were unable to kill off/discourage, resulting in having to throw away a few bits of food (bread/fruit). If not for the ants it would have been a 5-star review. Overall we had a really fantastic time on this holiday. The water all around the island is crystal clear and warm, so swimming was delightful. We loved the local "Restaurant Baric", but the restaurant "Mate" in Pupnat stole the show. The food was absolutely wonderful, especially the "sharing platter" on the starters menu. Everything they make their (including the ham, schnapps and wine) is made in the villiage, which itself is very easy on the eye, but not at all touristy as it's inland. To top it all off "Mate" was the cheapest meal we ate all week! Korcula was wonderful and if I went again Apartmenti Grgic would be my first choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Thank you so much for a wonderful wonderful holiday ... Loved everything about it and loved Croatia it's food the islands and it's simplicity... Fell in love with the place and will def come back.

Hope things don't change with mass tourism because it's just special the way it is. ..

The owner couldn't do enough for you lovely lady .. Five stars all round and thanks for all your hard work to naked it special.

Room Tip: Had the family room on the top floor ....I am sure they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DlSCERNlNG_V0YAGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Korcula Town
1.6 mi away
Marko Polo Hotel
Marko Polo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Korcula Town
499 reviews
2.0 mi away
Port 9 Hotel
Port 9 Hotel
#3 of 3 in Korcula Town
119 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Liburna
Hotel Liburna
#2 of 30 in Korcula Island
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Korsal
Hotel Korsal
#1 of 30 in Korcula Island
298 reviews
3.4 mi away
Captain's Villa Sokol
Captain's Villa Sokol
#2 of 5 in Lumbarda
53 reviews
13.2 mi away
Aminess Lume Hotel
Aminess Lume Hotel
#1 of 1 in Smokvica
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grgic Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grgic Apartments

Address: Zrnovska Banja 842 | Korcula, Korcula Town, Korcula Island 20260, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Korcula Island > Korcula Town
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Korcula Town
Price Range: £68 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Grgic Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Grgic Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grgic Apartments Hotel Korcula Town
Grgic Apartments Korcula Island, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing