We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emergency exit was locked!”
Review of Rondina House

Rondina House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rondina House
Ranked #20 of 21 Korcula Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Average room, hard beds, tiny bathroom. No sign with the name of the place, even on the entrance,so impossible to find. When we got in at night, the emergency exit was locked, and required a key to unlock. A real death trap! :(

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anders O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

Me and my boyfriend have been travelling around the south of Croatia for the past couple of weeks, booking all our accommodation at late notice taking guidance from reviews on tripadvisor. We read the reviews on this this morning and booked it. We arrived in Korcula in the dark after catching the 6.15 ferry from hvar. We didn't recieve any guidance on how to find the place and spent half am hour trudging around the town. We finally got to the entrance and a man stopped us calling my boyfriends name and confirmed we had booked the room for 3 nights which we had. He then handed us over to a very old lady who spoke no English who led us past the entrance to the hotel, down the end of the street through her own house, up some stairs showing us the dirtiest terrace covered in washing on the way up. She showed us up to the top floor of her house to a dimly lit bare room with a bathroom down the hall, all the while speaking in Croatian. There was barely a seaview, no WiFi, no bathroom, NOTHING that could make us believe we were in the place we had booked. My boyfriend left me with our bags and went back out to the man we had seen earlier. He admitted there had been a problem with the room we had booked and we could strike a deal in the morning as her other room was better?! My boyfriend came back and got me and we left immediately, the old lady running after us protesting that she was the owner of the Rondena. There wasn't even a blue sign outside her door! It's disgusting that because we arrived late and it was dark the man I presume was the owner thought it was ok to take advantage of us. I cannot discourage anyone to stay here any stronger. It's tainted the last few days of our trip and our first impression of what I'm sure is another lovely island.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MissSmallbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed in the apartment, which has a king size bed and a queen sofa bed. There were 2 balconies with great views of the Adriatic, and close to all the waterfront dining. The apartment was clean, had AC, kitchenette, etc. We only stayed 2 nights but it was a great price, fabulous location, and perfect views.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed here 2 nights.

Brilliant location - above one of the many restaurants that line the promenade / old town wall in Korcula. Not more than 5 minutes walk from where the ferry from Dubrovnik drops you, and again no more than 5 minutes if you are getting the catamaran to Hvar early in the morning (i.e. 6am!)

NIce apartment - This is a real apartment, unlike the glorified rooms many others seem to advertise as apartments. Large bedroom, separate living room (with sofa bed) and kitchen off the living room. Two balconies. The place was very clean so whatever issue a previous reviewer had a year ago has now been resolved (or at least it was when we arrived).

Good value - I thought it was good value for what it was, and compared to the rates in Dubrovnik.

Good air conditioning - Very important in July.

Took a couple of attempts to find it. The doorway in is beside the Marco Polo shop (and large seat) that is on the promenade (there are a lot of Marco Polo shops around the town, but this is the only one on the main promenade).

And if you're a night-owl and fancy a lie-in the following morning, be aware that you are overhead a pizzeria and they make their own dough. So from early on, you will hear a bit of dull thumping - it's the sound of them beating the dough into shape! (Took me a while to figure it out but I'm glad I didn't have a hangover.)

Room Tip: The apartment we were in was great. I think there are also 2 double rooms for rent and they seem to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weekender32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed here for one night in one of the private doubles. The room was one of the more expensive we had booked, however we found Korcula to be cheaper than elsewhere on the Dalmation coast in general.

The room didn't contain a kitchenette, but did have a kettle. The bathroom was small, and while it contained a bath, it was a little too claustrophobic to use . The shower had a good sized tank of water, but it didn't have a hook to hook the shower head up, so you had to hold it, which was a little annoying.

The bed was slightly hard, but large, and was a proper double bed. Also the location was very good, right on the side of the old town, facing out to the sea, with very pretty views. As the town was so small, it was a very good place to explore from and come back to at various intervals during the day. Our transport to Dubrovnik was at 3 the next day, but we were allowed to leave our bags in a locked room downstairs which was useful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiki2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed at Rondina House in Korcula for two nights. The apartment we stayed in has one bedroom with a king-size bed, a living room with a queen-size sofa-bed and a dining area, kitchen and one bathroom. Both the living room and the bedroom have small balconies overlooking the water. At first glance the place seemed pretty nice. The bed and sofa bed were set up and 2 towels per person were made available. Once we settled in we began to see under the surface. The kitchen was functional but worn, the microwave was full of crumbs and we had to rewash the dishes and the dish drainer as they were obviously dirty. Every surface in the living room and bedroom was coated with a layer of dust. This was not a few days’ worth as I could run my hands over any surface and it came up. Walking barefoot after a shower turned up the same layer of dust on my feet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank loving_midlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Trine-Lise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Korcula Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Vila Tea
Vila Tea
#1 of 6 in Zrnovo
4 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marko Polo Hotel
Marko Polo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Korcula Town
501 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apartments Segedin
Apartments Segedin
#2 of 6 in Zrnovo
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Guest House Jungher
Guest House Jungher
#9 of 59 in Korcula Town
5 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drasko Accommodation
Drasko Accommodation
#3 of 21 in Korcula Town
87 reviews
2 mi away
Apartments Cebalo-Vrbovica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rondina House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rondina House

Address: Shetalishte Petra Kanavelica 3, Korcula Town, Korcula Island 20260, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Korcula Island > Korcula Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Korcula Town
Price Range: £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment Rondina is located in the center of the town of Korcula (Old town). All rooms and apartment are new and very comfortable. The supermarket is just 100 meters away from the apartment, restaurants are 30 meters away, the beach is just 100 meters away and the rock beach 20 meters away. The harbor is just 100 meters away and the bus stop 150 meters away. Disco and cocktail bars are 40 meters away.EACH ROOM AND APARTMENT IS AVAILABLE TO RENT SEPARATELY.THE FEES ARE PER PERSON/PER NIGHT. All double rooms have their own bathroom, internet connection, refrigerator, tea/coffee facilities and air-conditioning. The apartment is the same as the rooms, only with a kitchen, internet, internet TV, balcony, terrace and more space. Apartment is for four people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Rondina House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rondina House Korcula Island, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing