We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of time and money”

Accommodation Vitaic
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Accommodation Vitaic
Ranked #11 of 21 Korcula Town B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

There are only two positive points about Vitaic Guest House; very friendly owners (made a lot of effort when we arrived)
and the location which is right in the heart of Korcula's old town.

Sadly neither of the above makes this place worth the time and/or money spent.

The guest house ia very dated. Decor is terrible - though I admit that's a matter of taste (or the lack of it).
The paper-thin walls let in any noise; be it church bells, dogs barking on the street or somebody sneezing in the floor above you.

Our room was (literally!) a kitchen with a double bed. The kitchen units were everywhere (even ABOVE the bed). There were 3 sets of doors in this bedroom/kitchen, two of which were blocked with mdf boards.
Most of the space was taken up by the massive bed; there was no real room to store suitcases or hang your clothes (3 coathangers on the door don't count).

And don't even get me started on the so-called "private" bathroom which not only was on the corridor, but also had a wall that didn't even go all the way to the top. What separates you from the staircase is a curtain ... The last time it was refurbished must had been in the 70s; I would not be surprised if that was also the last time somebody bothered to clean it.


A bin in the room would had been nice.

Overall the Vitaic guest house was a major disappointment not worth the time or money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martaptrwsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend in August 2013. We booked it last minute after changing our plans and it was one of the only apartments available in the Korcula Old Town.

It's very expensive for the quality of the place. Great location, but the interior desperately needs an overhaul. We made a reservation on Booking.com, but the room didn't really match the photos. For one thing, the bathroom was down the hallway, not in the room. We had one night in this room, which was pretty shabby. The second night they moved us to an adjacent room with an ensuite, which was much nicer, but still overpriced for the standard.

The brothers who run the place are very nice and very helpful. But it's not a great place to stay. If you book early and shop around, there are better apartment options in what is a lovely old town.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an apartment that has a bathroom included. Nothing worse than having to walk down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonMcSchnitzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We spent only one night at Vitaic (moving to airbnb rental), but would have happily stayed longer. I echo the last two reviews -- the rooms are really lovely, spotlessly clean, the building is beautiful and is perfectly located in Korcula Old Town. I would add, however, that the best thing about the place is the hosts (a family). They were incredibly helpful, charming and endlessly accommodating, picked us up from in front of the tourist office and carried my heavy suitcase all the way to our room, refusing a tip when we offered. We got great tips on places to eat and visit while in Korcula and the son of the family even called the host at our next place and organised for us to be collected by car. Cannot recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I cannot believe the bad reviews this place is getting. We ended up there by luck and couldn't have been happier. It was quiet, clean and very comfortable. The guys that run the place couldn't be nicer. The room we were in had a private bathroom and free wifi. We added an extra day to our stay in Korcula due in large part to how happy we were with this place. Also, the location cannot be beat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offmylawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I'm really honestly baffled by the other reviews of Accommodation Vitaic. We really enjoyed our stay and had ZERO complaints. Perhaps something changed in 2012? The room was beautiful, very well appointed. There were beautiful antique (and in great shape) wooden wardrobes, a very comfortable bed, a good refrigerator, strong working A/C. Our bathroom was in great shape, had all of the amenities, was extremely clean, had very good hot water and certainly no bad smells.

We would return again in a heartbeat. This is a special place. I only wish I had taken pictures to prove my point. :-(

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This was one of the most expensive hotels we stayed in whilst on holiday in Croatia, it was also the worst. The private bathroom was across the hall. There was a curtain above the bathroom door open to the hallway. The shower was like a tiled cupboard, it had a blocked drain smell.
There was a list on the back of the door of things to avoid like making noise after 10 o'clock, despite the fact there was a nightclub and karaoke bar outside our window!!
The whole place could do with a lick of paint, it has a very neglected air.
We paid 190 euros per night for two rooms. In comparison we paid 225 euros for a large two bedroomed apartment with sitting room and kitchen in Baska Voda. This hotel also had daily maid service, a restaurant and a pool and was spotless, unlike the accommodation Vitaic. I would definitely recommend the Aparthotel Milenij in Baska Voda.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leedslassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Korcula Town hotels

Reading UK
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Rooms were tatty and in need of decoration. There was a fridge in the room but no glasses provided to drink from. Private bathroom was across hallway, there was a curtain above door open to the hallway, so not very private! The shower was the smallest I have ever seen and was like washing in a wardrobe. I could hold a conversation whilst I was in the shower with my children who had the room next door, they had an ensuite in their triple room. Towels were the oldest, tattiest, smallest I have ever been given in a hotel.
Location is excellent. Rooms have air conditioning and there is free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanReadingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Korcula Town
0.0 mi away
Hotel Korcula
Hotel Korcula
#6 of 30 in Korcula Island
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marko Polo Hotel
Marko Polo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Korcula Town
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Korsal
Hotel Korsal
#1 of 30 in Korcula Island
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Liburna
Hotel Liburna
#2 of 30 in Korcula Island
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
M & J Central Suites
M & J Central Suites
#5 of 21 in Korcula Town
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
House Dijana
House Dijana
#14 of 21 in Korcula Town
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accommodation Vitaic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accommodation Vitaic

Property: Accommodation Vitaic
Address: Ulica Dr. Dinka Miroshevica 8, Korcula Town, Korcula Island 20260, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Korcula Island > Korcula Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Korcula Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Accommodation Vitaic 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Accommodation Vitaic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accommodation Vitaic Korcula Island, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing