We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marginal Accomodations with Minimal Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marco Polo Apartments
Ranked #15 of 21 Korcula Town B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Marginal Accomodations with Minimal Service”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

The Marco Polo Apartments were, for us, a disappointment. The rooms were small and the "apartments" were a collection of mismatched and inadequate furniture. Our first floor room had no air conditioning, a miniscule shower, and a noisy street window. It was very poorly furnished with minimal towels, thin sheets, . . . well, you certainly wouldn't treat a quest this way! We were promised a receipt which we never got! Saw our "hostess" once but a hurried and minimal intro to the digs and locale. Would I recommend? No. Dio yourself a favor and find a locale that values you and provides a real service.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and find a different location!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belligham WA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

I'm an older traveler with arthritic knees. Edita met us at the ferry, but we had to haul our bags up a stepped street to the apartment in the old town. I would have liked more help with the luggage. She did carry our bags up and down the stairs and moved them downstairs the evening before we left. She was helpful in directing us to a travel agent and making restaurant suggestion.The apartment was simply furnished, the kitchen barely adequate, the shower doors broken, though there were useful drying lines outside the window. Location was right in the middle of the old town. Next time we will be looking for a place which is more accessible with better services. The apartment would be fine for younger travelers.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marjpanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The only poor experience in Croatia on our trip were the Marco Polo Apartments. The location is superb and the rooms are nice. However, we work while we travel and we specifically requested a room with internet access. Upon our arrival we were informed that the room we were supposed to stay in was not available and we were switched to another house. We asked if it had internet service and were told that there should be free city wi-fi access. After getting our luggage up 2 stories we checked and there was no internet connection available. We were told that we could get a refund or wait until the next day to switch to the room in the house that we actually booked. We chose to do that as it was late in the day and really didn't have another option. Next day we went to check if wi-fi was available in the other room and it was. However, while we were checking we were told: Don't sit on the bed if you're not sure that you will take the room. We thought that was kind or rude and the Edita had a take it or leave it attitude towards us. Didn't offer anything to help our the situation, in contrast with all the other great service we have received while traveling in Croatia...I guess sometimes when you're in a touristy place you can start taking business for granted because you have a great location. However, to us location location is not as important as service. We wanted to work at night so we could enjoy Korcula during the day but couldn't do it and our 2 night stay ended up being a disappointment...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhiteCollarVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami beach
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Marco Polo Apartments are centrally located in the old centre of Korcula, steps away from the main square. The apartments are located in a 600 year old house and all have baths & kitchenette (though they're on the small side), and for the low price it's one of the best options in Korcula. Also, Edita was so nice as to pick us up from the Ferry port. Overall a great value!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank markusinmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edita M, Owner at Marco Polo Apartments, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Thank you Marcus for such a nice review of our house..I hope you will come to stay with us sometimes again :)
best wishes
edita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Korcula Town
0.4 mi away
Marko Polo Hotel
Marko Polo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Korcula Town
469 reviews
0.8 mi away
Port 9 Hotel
Port 9 Hotel
#3 of 3 in Korcula Town
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Liburna
Hotel Liburna
#2 of 30 in Korcula Island
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Korsal
Hotel Korsal
#1 of 30 in Korcula Island
282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aminess Grand Azur Hotel
0.0 mi away
M & J Central Suites
M & J Central Suites
#5 of 21 in Korcula Town
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Apartments

Property: Marco Polo Apartments
Address: Ulica Marka Andrijica 10, Korcula Town, Korcula Island 20260, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Korcula Island > Korcula Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Korcula Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marco Polo Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Apartments are fully air-conditioned studio apartments located in the very heart of Korcula Old Town, at the Korcula Island in Croatia. Each apartment consist of double/twin bedroom, wc/shower room and kitchenette with fridge and basic cooking equipment and is suitable for 1 or 2 persons. Each apartment has unlimited WiFi Internet connection that is provided FREE for all our guests. The apartments are self-contained with their own keys that provide unlimited access to guests. Each apartment occupies an entire floor (floor dimensions: 6mx4m = 24m2) of 600 yrs old Korcula town house. Apartments are cosy, clean and tidy, newly decorated and refurbished.Our location is just opposite of Bishop's Treasury, stone's throw from Korcula's main square 'Pijaceta' and Zakrjan - lively promenade with various cafes and restaurants. Important note: If you phone or email to tell us by which ferry or bus you are arriving, we will be happy to come to pick you up from terminal or station and escort you to our house. Also, if you wish, I will give you a short tour of the town - for free :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Marco Polo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Apartments Korcula Island, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing