We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special in this restaurant”
Review of Aterina

Aterina
Ranked #1 of 77 Restaurants in Korcula Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Croatian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Delicious food made from fresh, local ingredients. Vegetarian-friendly; vegetables and fish are the base of the menu, along with traditional pasta - makaruni and homemade bread. Excellent local wines are also important part of our story. Don't forget to taste some of our famous desserts for complete experience.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing special in this restaurant”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Food nothing special and waiters are too slow in their jobs.Also I am not satisfied with the way in which welcomes guests.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VladanBogdanovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    107
    30
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious, freshly made food”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We read the various restaurant reviews for Korcula Town and based on the existing reviews, this restaurant looked like one of the best ones to try. What a special treat! The sky was threatening rain, so we sat at a table under an ample umbrella in the courtyard used by the restaurant. An amiable young waiter appeared shortly and was very happy to answer our questions, tell us about the different wines, and make suggestions. We started with bruschetta and olives (very tasty!), along with some Grk, one of the local white wines. Two of us had basil pesto with homemade pasta, and our friend had marinara sauce with shrimp on homemade pasta. Simple but very flavorful. So far, the best meal we've had in Korcula so far, and we will definitely go back while we are here. Thank you, Aterina, for a lovely meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank dancesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level Contributor
270 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Maja - a true connoseur chef”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Maja the chef really puts all her effort into making your meal a fantastic experience for all senses. All they serve is made from scratch- no ready made hummus or marinated onions in this restaurant! Absolutely everything made from scratch with first class local produce. Tried the starter plates with home made hummus, fish pate, marinated onions, fried and marinated egg plant and aubergine etc- everything so fresh and nice that we can easily say that this place plays in a different league than most other restaurants here do. If you truly appreciate real cooking have a go at Maja's food, if you want the french fries and chicken fillet- it doesnot matter where you go.
I will definitely be back!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jojimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm, top notch service and wonderful food crafted with love”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I rarely consider meals to be memorable but the lunch our foursome just had was very memorable. Each of the seven dishes we tasted were delicious, interesting, and made with care. And the service and conversation our waitress, Natasha, provided really made us feel welcome and cared for. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumbarda, Croatia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“My favourite in Korcula town”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

First you should know it was called U Maje i Tonke last year and that is the only thing that has changed, so if you want to see a 100 reviews, look for it on Tripadvisor.
There is nothing bad I can say about this restaurant... the atmosphere is lovely; the wait staff are super friendly and their English is great; the food is wonderful. I have tried several things on the menu and now usually go with the special. They are creative and tasty.
I have pictures below of the desserts we had, as many photos I have seen, show the appetizer platter (delicious!), so wanted to show something different.
They have a FB page (https://www.facebook.com/aterinakorcula) which is how I made my reservations.
Enjoy, you will not regret it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Slikamilina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aterina also viewed

Zrnovo, Korcula Town
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
 
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
 

Been to Aterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing