We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ATV'ing at "end of the road"”

ATV Outfitters Hawaii
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Kapaau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you want to see - hear - taste - smell - touch and experience the real Hawaii then this is for you! ATV Outfitters is dedicated to your Hawaii ATV experience. When you ride into the heart of Kohala on our comfortable All Terrain Vehicles (ATV’s), you begin to sense what makes this place –- the oldest volcano on the island - the “piko” or center of the planet. "It's magical."
Denver
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“ATV'ing at "end of the road"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Outstanding adventure. We took the early (0730 in the morning) Delux 22 mile trip. Sounds like a long road trip, however, just the opposite. Our guides (CJ and Tricia?) were excellent and made sure we were safe and comfortable at all times. The first stop: a breath taking view of the North shore with big waves crashing on the shore. Very cool, especially, as our small group were the only ones there. Next we visited two waterfalls. Again, we enjoyed being the only ones there. At the last fall, there's swimming, however, we the view was enough for us. One nice touch: providing trash bags to protect our backpacks! Overall a great experience from the Aloha greeting in the parking lot, gearing up, and of course the ride. Highly recommned venturing North to the end of the road and ATV'ing

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BaldEagle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    39
    5
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Konstanz, Germany
1 review
“we had a lot of fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

It was a great trip! The guides Keli`i and Cameron were really good. Thank you!!! Mahalo from Larissa and Karl.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Palma, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ditch & ATV Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Kohala Ditch tour is a must. We learned so much history and had such a great time! Group of 7 which ranged from my 7 year old son to his grandparents. We all loved it. Free all you can eat Guavas and Lilikoli while you walk to the ditch tour was one of the highlights. Our tour guide was amazing unfortanetly I can't remember her name but her knowledge and welcoming attitude made the experience more enjoyable. My husband did get bit by a crawdaddy but no big deal, the trees, tunnels and the ditch itself were truly amazing.

We have gone on an ATV tour on Maui and it was quite comparable to the Kohala ATV. Everyone in Hawaii is very nice and friendly we haven't had one bad experience. A few of us dared to get into the very cold waterfall, if my 7 year old can do it so can you. If you book the ATV and ditch tour you get a 20% discount.

We will be back!!!!!!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“Great experience with ATV Outfitters !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We have been to the big island a couple of times and wish that we had gone on a tour with ATV Outfitters before. As guides they were safety minded, professional, knowledgeable and FUN ! The trip is awesome from the ocean to the mountain sides and being able to actually swim in the pool at the base of the 80 foot spring water fall was chilling but great. 3 hours plus of great fun and you'll be proud of your well worn dusty look by the end of the ride.
This opinion is from a couple that love to travel and experience new things in life

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great flume ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is a must on the big island. Tour guide Gabe and driver "Uncle" Andrew were awesome. Gabe was knowledgeable about the island and made sure everyone felt comfortable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank maplover21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ATV Outfitters Hawaii also viewed

Kukuihaele, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hakalau, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to ATV Outfitters Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing