We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow what a shocker! Ginormous plate lunch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minnie's

Minnie's
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Kapaau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wow what a shocker! Ginormous plate lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We stopped here at our guide's recommendation from Kohala Zipline for lunch. Daughter and I each got a plate lunch with Ahi tuna. Perhaps a seven ounce cut, very generous, and the homemade papaya dressing was tips. Minnie should bottle it! She introduced herself. We got there late, after we ordered and sat, the closed sign went up - but a group of six came in (not locals) and were happily served. If you're in that area Minnie's is a must!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    24
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh food, hearty portions, great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Great prices for _fresh_ and simple, Hawaiian staples (fish, pork, and chicken). Go for the 'slaw, not the chips!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AfromVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Average Burger at a Fair Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Very friendly local restaurant with a nice atmosphere. Menu options are pretty much local fare. Service was excellent. Quick, in and out visit.A cut above fast food type restaurants.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank slungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Get the special!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We came here to eat after our ditch tour. The food was amazing. If you can't decide what to eat, get the special. It was fabulous. You can eat outside, but inside there was a nice, cool breeze. The staff was warm and friendly. We got there at 11 and had the place to ourselves, but by 12:30 it was hopping.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Onolicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Following a morning activity our guide recommended Minnies. Glad we took her advice. Perfect meal. I had a simple burger, but was "onolicious". My wife had the mahi mahi. also done to perfection. Love the laid back atmosphere, very relaxing,, great meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lawdawg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Minnie's also viewed

Kapaau, Island of Hawaii
Kapaau, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawi, Island of Hawaii
Hawi, Island of Hawaii
 
Kapaau, Island of Hawaii
Hawi, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Minnie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing