We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no good no bad..”
Review of Galatea Sea Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Galatea Sea Palace
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Acitrezza
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“no good no bad..”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Our accommodation and parking was safe.Nice and big enough room but without view.
When we booked the room it was mentioned one double bed or two single beds so we asked for a double bed.We did not imagine that the double bed would be two single beds pushed together.We do not know if Italian are used to call a double bed in this way(because we had a same experience in the near past).When we asked for a double bed the answer was that it was not their mistake and that everyone who wants a double bed takes two single beds pushed together.Regarding the cleanliness of the room was sufficient with exception that we found out a dirty roll of toilet paper.Breakfast did not have a big variety and was the same everyday and for coffee there was a coffee machine, but the coffee was terrible( every kind of coffee you chose).
The swimming pool was not as large as shown in the photo and was always full (when was open).There was no beach,only a wooden structure.
Although it was not a problem for us you need always a car.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    57
    26
    19
    7
See reviews for
28
48
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Was a wonderful relaxing stay , Just before the season started .
Get a room with ocean view. Many wonderful fish restaurants in the area.
Suggest renting a car or scooter day trip to Syracuse.
Rooms are large and clean with modern bathrooms /
only breakfast could improve however normal for Italy.
Add some fresh juice / fruit

Room Tip: Get sea view !! Other rooms are depressing and 2/3 floor is better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The rooms were very comfortable but the corridors had this thick carpet that was very old and smelly, we could hear everything form the other rooms, satisfactory breakfast, and very nice view.
We went in octomber so we couldnt really enjoy the swimming pool.Cleaning was inadequate in the bathroom, however they were fast in fixing the problem.A little bit far from Catania,good security measures.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qormi, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We have spent a weekend in this beautiful and relaxing hotel. Very clean ,big rooms with beautiful landscaped gardens and facing the sea
One disadvantage is that we were on ground floor and couldnt see much.Wi-fi access had to be paid . The Hotel's restaurant serves excellent food and excellent service for a good reasonable price. You can easily reach acitrezza lungomare by car in 5 mins, but it's diffiuclt to reach on foot as there are no sidewalks , as it;s very dangerous to walk especially at night. We chose this hotel for its' location and also for having a private parking which is free ,locked and inside.
Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are very quite, but cant see if you are on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marika v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week in September 2012 and stayed on the second floor with a lovely sea view, well worth the extra cost. Reception staff was very helpful and towels were provided to use around the pool. Wi-Fi access has to be paid for but there is a room with a computer to use for free. There is access to the sea by a private area. The breakfast room is slightly bizarre and the range of food is not of a very high quality. The hotel is on a busy road with access to restaurants and bars however the road has no pavement and is badly lit at night. Despite the size of the room there was no drawer space which was inconvenient. The rooms in general are good but each one has an air conditioning unit on the balcony so it can be noisy during the night listening to the neighbours unit whirring. Despite all this, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms without a sea view are at the back of the hotel with a view of the car park. Take a plug in mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keuruu
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at Galatea Sea Palace for 6 nights. We had a sea-view room but only used the deck to dry our towels due to the lack of privacy. Also, the view from the ground-floor wasn't all that great. The rooms were very big and clean. There is no beach but there is a large private deck and two separate stairs that lead into the water. The pool was nice but closed during mid-afternoon as custom in Sicily. My main problem with this hotel is it's location. Going out to a restaurant was a hassle. There are no sidewalks that lead into town and the distance is quite far, especially with small children. Despite this, I would advise against going to the hotel restaurant., which I found to be overpriced, unprofessional, and pretentious. Food was average so venture into town for some good authentic cuisine. The reception staff were not the most hospitable. We'd booked 2 rooms and were only given 1 card-key and 1 metal key due to the doors different locks. To leave/enter the hotel, we needed the card-key, which meant my family in the one room couldn't leave the hotel without the other rooms card-key. The man at reception provided us an "extra" card-key only to be reprimanded by his colleague right in front of us. We understood her to be singling us out as difficult foreigners. Internet is an extra 5 euros a day. The hotel maids were friendly and one spoke perfect English, contrasting greatly with the rest of staff. All in all, I would recommend this hotel for a short break from visiting the sites. Leisurely days at the pool were well spent and the grounds sea-view was much appreciated.

Room Tip: If you want a sea-view, request to be on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfreking11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, ROMANIA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We were in Galatea Sea Palace for 16 nights and used the hotel as a base to visit most of Sicily's main tourists attractions (plus a one day trip to Malta). But we also spend some pleasurable days in the hotel.
The property is well maintained, safe and clean.
This is a well designed and well built hotel, with ample room space in it's recently refurbished rooms. The view from the sea view rooms is SPLENDID.
Also with the hotel being located in a natural reservation, the sea life is simply amazing. If you're into snorkeling the first 10 meters of the sea are a true enchantement. Of course, for the very same reason (natural reservation, only minimum intervention to the shore allowed), this isn't going to work so well for the elderly folks who might have a hard time even getting into the water.
The underground parking space is ample, safe and well arranged, which is a big plus considering you really need a car if you're going to stay in this hotel for a longer period. (you cannot really walk to the nearby town and the public transport is a joke, with a bus every two hours. Keep this in mind or you're going to end up disappointed.)
The restaurants on top of the hotel offer amazing views and the prices are quite fair.
The pool, while on the small side, is nice and well maintained.
At about 4 kms towards Acireale there's a shopping centre (Cyclope) , while right across the hotel there's a traditional pizza shop. Generally the whole Acitrezza -Acireale area feels safe and pleasant. The Norman castle from Aci Castello is also within a short driving distance from the hotel.

Now for the small negative bits:
The breakfast is the same every day and could use an improvement on the sortimets as well. I realise that most italians eat light at breakfast, but for the rest of the world some scrambled eggs, small sausages and a few cheese and ham slices won't cut it as "serious" food. The various croissant sortiments were a nice adition tho, and you have fruits, both fresh and prepared.
Also creating some sort of floating platform so older people can easily get into the water would be a great adition to the beach area.

Overall this was a great experience and I feel like I'm going to get back to Galatea Sea Palace pretty soon.

Room Tip: Definitelly get a sea view room. The view is simply stunnig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Optimvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acitrezza
1.0 mi away
Hotel Malavoglia Inn
Hotel Malavoglia Inn
#1 of 5 in Acitrezza
33 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Baia Verde
Grand Hotel Baia Verde
#1 of 11 in Aci Castello
1,057 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lachea
Hotel Lachea
#5 of 11 in Aci Castello
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel Capomulini
Art Hotel Capomulini
#7 of 8 in Acireale
139 reviews
0.8 mi away
President Park Hotel
President Park Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aci Castello
182 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marina Palace Hotel & Congress Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galatea Sea Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galatea Sea Palace

Property: Galatea Sea Palace
Address: Via Livorno 146, 95021 Acitrezza, Aci Castello, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Aci Castello > Acitrezza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Acitrezza
Hotel Class:4 star — Galatea Sea Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Galatea Sea Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galatea Sea Palace Acitrezza
Galatea Sea Palace Sicily/Acitrezza, Province Of Catania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing