We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts, beautiful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Our little family of 3 had a wonderful time staying at Mundo Milo. So much so that we extended our stay there for 2 nights more on a whim. Our cabina was clean, spacious, and cozy, with a generous, light-filled bathroom. The two beds were perfect for us. Lieke and Michiel are gracious hosts. They both spoiled us with great food, great drinks, and great conversation. Lieke went out of her way to make me my gluten-free meals, and all the food was delicious. We brought back a large watermelon from one of our day trips, which they juiced, cut up, and served to us in every which way. I can go on and on... If you want to spend time in a quiet corner of Costa Rica just steps from a large beach, away from the hustle and bustle of large cities and lots of people - this is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We spent just one night in a Mexican cabina at Mundo Milo but it was enough to feel the great atmosphere the hosts provide.
The room was big and clean, the bathroom was spacious, the hot water ran out after 5-6 minutes but anyway the water in Costa Rica is warm enough :). The dinner at the restaurant was very tasty and served in a gourmet style. The breakfast was nourishing and tasty; coffee was almost excellent. WiFi was good enough to be used in the cabina but it is more pleasant to stay around the pool and browse :)

Lieke and Michel are wonderful people that share with the guest their hospitality and warmness. Thanks again for the time we spent talking and I hope we come again to Mundo Milo.

Pura vida :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My daughter and I had the pleasure of staying at Mundo Milo in early July. We stayed in the Mexican cabina. It was very clean and comfortable with everything we needed. There was a coffee maker for the early risers and a small refrigerator. The air-conditioner was quiet and worked well.
The owners, Lieke and Michiel, were wonderful hosts. They were so helpful. Lieke helped us book a tour where we had the opportunity to release newly hatched Olive Ridley turtles on the beach nearby. That is an experience I will never forget! She also helped me book a scuba dive in Tamarindo and a boat tour where we swam with a turtle.
The food was delicious. Chicken with peanut sauce was my favorite dish. We enjoyed hanging out in the main dining area talking to Lieke and Michiel in the evening and taking a dip in the pool after the day's activities. I hope to return to Milo Mundo someday.
One piece of advice when heading to Junquillal is stop at an ATM before you pass through Santa Cruz. There are no ATMs in Junquillal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anason75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

The cabina we were in had spacious room and bathroom, comfortable beds, mini fridge and coffee with coffee maker.

The only issue we encountered was that in our cabina, the wi-fi had very low signal so we had to go to the main dining area to use the Internet, which was very open and a great place to hang out!

The pool was warm and wonderful to swim in! Lieke made our daughter really welcome by making sure to take out the pool toys for her.

Our lodging included yummy breakfast and we were spoiled rotten by how delicious it was! Lieke made special little pancakes and eggs for our little girl. Plus, Lieke made sure that a bowl of fruits was given to her as well, not just the adults. Our dinner was also a real treat. We were served fresh fish fabulously cooked in creative ways!

Rincon de la Vieja Park was about a 2 and 1/2 drive away and could easily be made into a day-trip.

The beach was about a 5-minute walk and a sight to behold! Our 19-month-old daughter had a fantastic time playing on the sand! Hubby also did his morning runs there as well as his exercise routines!

Our hosts were simply marvelous and happily shared their knowledge of the area. They made our time there a real treasure!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globewalker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at Mundo Milo for the first week of our honeymoon at the end of April 2013. I can't say enough good things about it! Such an incredible place and the best stay we've ever experienced. The owners, Lieke and Michiel, took care of us in every possible way and were incredibly attentive and helpful. We stayed in an air conditioned room, which was a great getaway from the heat and humidity. The pool is kept clean and is very refreshing. The food is AMAZING, and we ate there all but a couple nights. On those nights we ventured out, and Lieke gave us awesome suggestions for places nearby to try. The gallo pinto for breakfast was plentiful and I still crave it now that we're home!! It's a 3 minute walk to the beach, which is basically your own private beach, as there's no one else for as far as you can see. We even got to watch a turtle lay her eggs on the beach one night. We got to see lots of howler monkeys and just listen to the sounds of nature. Being there during the low-tourist season was awesome because we basically had the whole place to ourselves, including the ocean!

My only suggestion in staying here would be this: if you're staying at more than one place in Costa Rica during your trip, stay at Mundo Milo last! Otherwise, you will be sorely disappointed by everywhere else you go because NOTHING will be as amazing as this place. We felt like we were leaving family when it was time for us to move on to another location! My husband has already decided that we WILL be returning to Costa Rica, and we will ONLY stay at Mundo Milo.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were beautiful, but the ones with air conditioning were SO nice to escape the heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed at mundo Milo for 5 nights in July. It was absolutely wonderful! The drive to junquillal and the surrounding areas were an adventure! 4 wheeldrive and GPS worked like a charm. The cabin I stayed in was perfect with 2 beds, fridge, great bathroom and a porch. The pool was picturesque! I enjoyed breakfast with multiple cappuccinos (thanks) and WiFi on the covered restaurant patio! The restaurant had amazing fresh and perfectly prepared food and wine. A few people would usually stop by the bar or restaurant making it a lively and fun place to be in the evening if you didn't want to go out. Close by there was great zip lining a super beach, turtle nesting conservation area, the great beach bar "Lola's" and much more. The value was exceptional! I am looking forward to returning soon. Its off the beaten track but accessible and worth the trip!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurasontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

i never stay at a place because of the reviews..each person has there own idea about what is good and what went wrong.. such as the 1 bad review from a disgruntled person who over stayed her time and still take advantage of the situation... there will always be that 1 token person who needs to be a sour apple and try to spoil it for everyone..
me and my daughter and friend mark stayed there for 8 days and 7 nites and had the time of our live.. we got spoiled rotten.. mikail and lika were fabulous they chatted it up with us. told us places to go and see. they recommended some other businesses in the area.. This place is remote but thats what we wanted to just rest and relax and i came home so rested up.. our room was great had all the conviences we would need, very clean, the food was awesome and a nice variety. i even got a banana crepe with chocolate sauce....AWESOME!!!. the locals told us this was the hottest week of the year we stayed here thank goodness for the airco and the infinity pool that became our best friend. It was so relaxing and peaceful..micheal and lieke we cannot thank you enough for making us feel comfortable and welcomed to your world. i would 100 % reccommend your place for anyone wanting a costa rican retreat. You made us feel welcome, you kept us informed, you had attention to every detail and a special thanks for marks bd surprise and the turtle festival party :) we felt like we were leaving friends behind.. we thank you for all your hard work and effort to make our stay so very special...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cher98115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Junquillal
0.2 mi away
Guacamaya Lodge
Guacamaya Lodge
#2 of 3 in Playa Junquillal
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tatanka
Hotel Tatanka
#1 of 1 in Paraiso
18 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Negra
Hotel Playa Negra
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Azul
273 reviews
19.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
9.7 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mundo Milo Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mundo Milo Eco Lodge

Address: Calle Mundo Milo, Playa Junquillal 1234 AA, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Junquillal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Junquillal
Price Range: £37 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mundo Milo Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mundo Milo is a small scale ecologically based lodge in Junquillal in the NW of Costa Rica only 300 meters from the Pacific coast with beautiful beaches where turtles come ashore to lay their eggs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mundo Milo Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Playa Junquillal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing