We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mundo Milo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mundo Milo Eco Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mundo Milo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Had a great time. We stayed over New Years 2012. All the food was great, but the breakfasts are superb. We stayed in a Mexican styled cabina. The hosts were very helpful in setting up activities and transportation in the area.

Room Tip: Mexican cabina was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bschmieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
109
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We (couple with a teenage kid) started our trip along the pacific coast in Junquillal and stayed 4 days in one of the wonderful bungalows. Lieke and Michiel are lovely hosts and spoiled us in their excellent cooking in their restaurant, which is also very recommendable place to go, should you stay somewhere else. Lieke and Michiel provide you also with valuable information on activities in the region and make you feel welcome from the first minute. Very good value combined with great hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed three nights in Mundo Milo. The hosts Lieke and Michiel are very friendly and create a nice atmosphere. The rooms are big, the bathrooms especially, and nicely decorated. The beds are comfortable and the surrounding area is quiet and beautiful.
The rate for the rooms is such that it makes super good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zwol68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Our little family of 3 had a wonderful time staying at Mundo Milo. So much so that we extended our stay there for 2 nights more on a whim. Our cabina was clean, spacious, and cozy, with a generous, light-filled bathroom. The two beds were perfect for us. Lieke and Michiel are gracious hosts. They both spoiled us with great food, great drinks, and great conversation. Lieke went out of her way to make me my gluten-free meals, and all the food was delicious. We brought back a large watermelon from one of our day trips, which they juiced, cut up, and served to us in every which way. I can go on and on... If you want to spend time in a quiet corner of Costa Rica just steps from a large beach, away from the hustle and bustle of large cities and lots of people - this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We spent just one night in a Mexican cabina at Mundo Milo but it was enough to feel the great atmosphere the hosts provide.
The room was big and clean, the bathroom was spacious, the hot water ran out after 5-6 minutes but anyway the water in Costa Rica is warm enough :). The dinner at the restaurant was very tasty and served in a gourmet style. The breakfast was nourishing and tasty; coffee was almost excellent. WiFi was good enough to be used in the cabina but it is more pleasant to stay around the pool and browse :)

Lieke and Michel are wonderful people that share with the guest their hospitality and warmness. Thanks again for the time we spent talking and I hope we come again to Mundo Milo.

Pura vida :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

My daughter and I had the pleasure of staying at Mundo Milo in early July. We stayed in the Mexican cabina. It was very clean and comfortable with everything we needed. There was a coffee maker for the early risers and a small refrigerator. The air-conditioner was quiet and worked well.
The owners, Lieke and Michiel, were wonderful hosts. They were so helpful. Lieke helped us book a tour where we had the opportunity to release newly hatched Olive Ridley turtles on the beach nearby. That is an experience I will never forget! She also helped me book a scuba dive in Tamarindo and a boat tour where we swam with a turtle.
The food was delicious. Chicken with peanut sauce was my favorite dish. We enjoyed hanging out in the main dining area talking to Lieke and Michiel in the evening and taking a dip in the pool after the day's activities. I hope to return to Milo Mundo someday.
One piece of advice when heading to Junquillal is stop at an ATM before you pass through Santa Cruz. There are no ATMs in Junquillal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anason75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globewalker4
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

The cabina we were in had spacious room and bathroom, comfortable beds, mini fridge and coffee with coffee maker.

The only issue we encountered was that in our cabina, the wi-fi had very low signal so we had to go to the main dining area to use the Internet, which was very open and a great place to hang out!

The pool was warm and wonderful to swim in! Lieke made our daughter really welcome by making sure to take out the pool toys for her.

Our lodging included yummy breakfast and we were spoiled rotten by how delicious it was! Lieke made special little pancakes and eggs for our little girl. Plus, Lieke made sure that a bowl of fruits was given to her as well, not just the adults. Our dinner was also a real treat. We were served fresh fish fabulously cooked in creative ways!

Rincon de la Vieja Park was about a 2 and 1/2 drive away and could easily be made into a day-trip.

The beach was about a 5-minute walk and a sight to behold! Our 19-month-old daughter had a fantastic time playing on the sand! Hubby also did his morning runs there as well as his exercise routines!

Our hosts were simply marvelous and happily shared their knowledge of the area. They made our time there a real treasure!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globewalker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Junquillal
0.2 mi away
Guacamaya Lodge
Guacamaya Lodge
#2 of 4 in Playa Junquillal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
9.1 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
19.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
6.3 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Negra
Hotel Playa Negra
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mundo Milo Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mundo Milo Eco Lodge

Property: Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
Address: Calle Mundo Milo, Playa Junquillal 1234 AA, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Junquillal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Playa Junquillal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mundo Milo Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mundo Milo is a small scale ecologically based lodge in Junquillal in the NW of Costa Rica only 300 meters from the Pacific coast with beautiful beaches where turtles come ashore to lay their eggs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mundo Milo Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Playa Junquillal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing