We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, quiet setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at mundo milo. The owners are very friendly and knowledgable. The food was excellent and my room was unique and comfortable. The beach is close and the sand is warm and beautiful. I would recommend having a car as it would be easier to explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayaloveshawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

The owners have done a wonderful job with their dream of a lil resort. Michel designed the cabinas & the lodge. Reminded me of our Tanzania tent safari where the lodge is centrally located with sleeping areas feeling privately designed yet within walking distance. Lieke was a wonderful hostess & eager to help. We were there christmas day & hadn't really made any advanced plans. We neglected to realize how difficult it would be to find transportation due to the busyness of the season, but she was able to secure us transport and suggested our best tour at Rincon de la Vieja.
We walked the beach to Playa Negra during low tide (!~ 1 hr 20 min walk). Met some friends for lunch. Playa Junquillal is a quiet little beach town that's a great retreat. The lodge is set up on a hill about 300 meter walk to the beach. You could hear the waves crashing in the background & the howler monkeys occasionally too. Remember we're guests of the forest, so there were plenty of critters & fauna to observe.
Breakfast offered traditional casada, pancakes, yogurt, fresh fruit, & eggs - very good. We didn't have the opportunity to eat dinner but I tried some homemade apple pie that was delicious.
We had some laundry that Lieke did for us as part of our stay.
We stayed in the newer Persian themed cabina that was brand new. The bathroom was very cool. Water is drinkable & hot water with A/C too. That helped keep the bugs less active.
Rates were very reasonable for all that's included. If you want a quiet place to escape too, then this is it!

Room Tip: Would chose the newer Persian themed cabina. there was a smell in the Mexican but unsure if it was...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kewpie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Beautiful property and wonderful owners who you can see have worked hard to get the details right, including a nice open air breezy dining area and plunge pool

We had a tasty breakfast with nice coffee and I hear the dinners are excellent too

Get the rooms with AC as there are lots of bugs around here

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EasyLiving61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Just perfect. A small, familiar lodge, very helpful owners, just the perfect place to stay near the perfect beach (Junquillal and the neighbor beach Venado are the best beaches in the area).
The spot is great, you can walk to the beach, 5 minutes will take you there. It is very peaceful, and sometimes the lodge is invaded by monkeys, it’s a wonderful experience.
Lieke (owner) is just the BEST cooker, wonderful breakfast and dinner, and I usually don’t like to dine where I am sleeping, I like to try other places for change. But at Mundo Milo it was very tempting, we ended up dining there most of the days!
I absolutely recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rita_vilela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We travelled in Costa Rica for 3 weeks and spent 5 nights in Mundo Milo. The owners Lieke and Michael are very helpful, friendly and generous. The hotel has a very nice shared area where the restaurant and the pool are located. The breakfast is phenomenal and Lieke`s cooking is just great. I loved the tuna steak and the sea brass!
The beach, Playa Junquillal, is about 5 minutes walk away and was one of my very favourites in Costa Rica. The sunsets are almost unreal, so intense the colours.

Value for money is very very good.

We just felt very relaxed and comfortable at Mundo Milo and would definitively go there again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank juliamuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights here as part of a vacation package through TPV- Costa Rica. We enjoyed our stay and had such a relaxing time. Quiet jungle setting a short walk to the beach. Great on-site dining. The owners were so kind and welcoming!

Room Tip: Mexican Cabina - 2 double beds and a/c.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Had a great time. We stayed over New Years 2012. All the food was great, but the breakfasts are superb. We stayed in a Mexican styled cabina. The hosts were very helpful in setting up activities and transportation in the area.

Room Tip: Mexican cabina was very nice.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bschmieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Junquillal
0.2 mi away
Guacamaya Lodge
Guacamaya Lodge
#2 of 4 in Playa Junquillal
126 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Negra
Hotel Playa Negra
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
19.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
9.7 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mundo Milo Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mundo Milo Eco Lodge

Address: Calle Mundo Milo, Playa Junquillal 1234 AA, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Junquillal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Playa Junquillal
Price Range: £40 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mundo Milo Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mundo Milo is a small scale ecologically based lodge in Junquillal in the NW of Costa Rica only 300 meters from the Pacific coast with beautiful beaches where turtles come ashore to lay their eggs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Mundo Milo Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Playa Junquillal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing