We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay by the beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect stay by the beach.”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a wonderful 8 night stay with Michiel and Lieke in the Persian cabina. Mundo Milo is in a perfect location if you like a gentle breeze through the shaded forest while sipping a cold drink by the refreshing pool, or if you want to stroll down the beach for miles with the pacific rolling up on the sandy shore. There is plenty to do in the area from kayaking the estuary, to surfing, to snorkelling, to deep sea fishing to guided tours throughout the area.
Our cabina was nestled in the wooded property with a lighted trail to their gorgeous restaurant. It was extremely clean and well equipped for our stay. There was a beautiful covered deck with a lounge to enjoy our morning coffee listening to the surf pound the shore amidst the monkeys howling.
The food was wonderful from the fresh caught fish to the locally inspired breakfasts. Fresh baked breads were on our plates every morning with fruit and yogurt to start our day along with a choice of three hearty breakfasts to get you on your way for whatever adventure you had planned.
We will stay at Mudo Milo Eco lodge again! It was the anchor of our most recent perfect Costa Rican adventure!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Howeislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
110
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We booked flights to CR very last minute, over Xmas week. We let whatever place we could find to stay dictate our itinerary. Wow. I'm really happy we were able to score 4 nights here. The Cabinias are lovely and perfectly decorated and quite comfortable, especially since we had been roughing it until this point in our trip. The bar and restaurant was a nice place to chill, and the food was fresh and creative, especially the seafood. While you would benefit from having a car in this area as it is quite remote, it is worth the effort to get to as the beach is stunning and fairly devoid of people. If you are looking to relax and surf and be lazy, this is your beach.

Plus, Lieke and Michiel were fantastic hosts and really genuinely nice people. We enjoyed our time here more than anyplace else on our trip. It's one of those rare places that we would return to just because we loved the stay so much.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Clean and spacious room with two queen beds and a large bathroom & shower.
Dinner was great and the included breakfast the next morning was substantial.
A nice dining/bar area and pool.
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Mexican casita as it is air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casamadara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at mundo milo. The owners are very friendly and knowledgable. The food was excellent and my room was unique and comfortable. The beach is close and the sand is warm and beautiful. I would recommend having a car as it would be easier to explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayaloveshawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, NH
Level Contributor
154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The owners have done a wonderful job with their dream of a lil resort. Michel designed the cabinas & the lodge. Reminded me of our Tanzania tent safari where the lodge is centrally located with sleeping areas feeling privately designed yet within walking distance. Lieke was a wonderful hostess & eager to help. We were there christmas day & hadn't really made any advanced plans. We neglected to realize how difficult it would be to find transportation due to the busyness of the season, but she was able to secure us transport and suggested our best tour at Rincon de la Vieja.
We walked the beach to Playa Negra during low tide (!~ 1 hr 20 min walk). Met some friends for lunch. Playa Junquillal is a quiet little beach town that's a great retreat. The lodge is set up on a hill about 300 meter walk to the beach. You could hear the waves crashing in the background & the howler monkeys occasionally too. Remember we're guests of the forest, so there were plenty of critters & fauna to observe.
Breakfast offered traditional casada, pancakes, yogurt, fresh fruit, & eggs - very good. We didn't have the opportunity to eat dinner but I tried some homemade apple pie that was delicious.
We had some laundry that Lieke did for us as part of our stay.
We stayed in the newer Persian themed cabina that was brand new. The bathroom was very cool. Water is drinkable & hot water with A/C too. That helped keep the bugs less active.
Rates were very reasonable for all that's included. If you want a quiet place to escape too, then this is it!

Room Tip: Would chose the newer Persian themed cabina. there was a smell in the Mexican but unsure if it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kewpie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Beautiful property and wonderful owners who you can see have worked hard to get the details right, including a nice open air breezy dining area and plunge pool

We had a tasty breakfast with nice coffee and I hear the dinners are excellent too

Get the rooms with AC as there are lots of bugs around here

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EasyLiving61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Just perfect. A small, familiar lodge, very helpful owners, just the perfect place to stay near the perfect beach (Junquillal and the neighbor beach Venado are the best beaches in the area).
The spot is great, you can walk to the beach, 5 minutes will take you there. It is very peaceful, and sometimes the lodge is invaded by monkeys, it’s a wonderful experience.
Lieke (owner) is just the BEST cooker, wonderful breakfast and dinner, and I usually don’t like to dine where I am sleeping, I like to try other places for change. But at Mundo Milo it was very tempting, we ended up dining there most of the days!
I absolutely recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rita_vilela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Junquillal
0.2 mi away
Guacamaya Lodge
Guacamaya Lodge
#2 of 4 in Playa Junquillal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
19.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
9.1 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 22 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mundo Milo Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mundo Milo Eco Lodge

Property: Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
Address: Calle Mundo Milo, Playa Junquillal 1234 AA, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Junquillal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Playa Junquillal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mundo Milo Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mundo Milo is a small scale ecologically based lodge in Junquillal in the NW of Costa Rica only 300 meters from the Pacific coast with beautiful beaches where turtles come ashore to lay their eggs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Mundo Milo Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Playa Junquillal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing