We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feel like coming to visit friends in a wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We loved our stay at Mundo Milo and definitively felt like coming to visit friends.

First, we were offered some homemade limonade and he had some nice chat. No emergency to go directly to our bedroom, we 1st enjoyed the bar atmosphere and our hosts. My boyfriend had been sick during all our way from Tortuguero and Lieke gave him advices to feel better (especially to drink some agua di pipa!).
Our room was very large and nice (we were in the Persian cabin) with some air conditioning. Bathroom and shower were great but really much like a a sauna!

Thanks to our host, we have been with the Turtle protection association of Playa Junquilal to release turtles at sunset: what a magic moment!!!! To hold a baby turtle and see it going to the sea was something unique :-)
They also advised us to do a tour where you can swim with Turtles, see mantas flying, and Dolphins playing with the boat. As well, a fantastic recommendation!!!
We had also some diner at their place which was good, probably a bit expensive, but I could get some gluten free pasta :-) After all the rice, it was so good!

As a summary we loved the place and the hosts, and if there is one place we would go back in Costa Rica, it would be Mundo Milo!

Room Tip: the Persian cabin was good, we did not see the other cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cess_venise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Mundo Milo Eco Lodge and it was the best vacation! We too booked here after reading soooo many great reviews...and we were NOT disappointed.
On arrival, we were greeted by Michiel, our host...he had water and cold cerveza...perfect!
We stayed in the Persian Cabina. It was beautiful. There is a little sitting area outside, perfect for reading, relaxing... The room itself was cool and peaceful, and beautifully decorated. LOVE the bathroom...Nice work Michiel. Nice to have a little fridge AND coffee maker too, used them both.
The main Dining-Lounging-Pool area is lovely too. We enjoyed sending time in and by the pool.
The food was amazing. Fresh, local and beautifully presented. Lieke, our lovely hostess, is an incredible cook. Breakfast consists of fresh fruit, fresh yogurt, local honey, amazing coffee,juice, AND a choice of three different breakfast plates including fresh warm bread! Great way to start the day!
I had several items from the lunch menu,all were great, but loved the Chicken Salad best!
Dinner always included a couple of "specials" and they were special...Fresh fish with tasty sauces, Pasta dishes...the Lasagna, a must try! The Fresh Tuna Steak with Mango Salsa, beautifully presented, perfectly cooked...It was an amazing meal! The atmosphere, music, warm breezes, lovely waitresses, attentive host...causal elegance. Perfect! The fact that the dining room is often full of locals is testament to the quality of the food,the company and atmosphere.
We also loved the little Gazpacho appetizers included with your dinner. And don't forget dessert...Lieke will not disappoint...I wasn't!
I can't say enough about this spot...we booked 4 nights, but fortunately were able to stay 6...
Lieke and Michiel have created the perfect little getaway...just a shot walk to the beach...can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here with friends and found it to be wonderful. The owners Michael and Lieke were very friendly. The rooms were very nice and were air conditioned - which is more than nice on the coast. The dining area is very pleasant, the breakfasts were great and restaurant excellent.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rossland58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Ok, we are hooked on small, privately owned resorts, so no surprise we really liked the place. You will find yourself in a bungalow in a jungle like environment. The hosts are really nice and discrete, the food is just great and for the price, this is definitly the best place we stayed in Costa Rica.
It's about a 10 Min walk from a long, wide, almost deserted beach. It is a very quite area, but we felt very safe even when doing some long, night walks looking for turtles.

Room Tip: We loved the african hut, did not miss the aircon at all
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Remnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I can't emphasize this enough - Mundo Milo is amazing! We booked a last minute vacation to Costa Rica and we chose Mundo Milo based on good reviews and good pricing. But our expectations were exceeded at every turn. Firstly, our accommodations were very nice - a large room for our family of 4, nice bathroom, air conditioning (which you control yourself), and a small fridge. The grounds were very natural and we saw geckos, frogs, birds and even howler monkeys about 10 feet from the pool. It was about 300m to the beach and the beach itself is beautiful and you'll hardly see anyone else there.

The food was excellent! Breakfast was part of the package but I hadn't expected the rest of the food to be so incredible - it's not a huge menu but everything we tried was so good and reasonably priced. You could eat every meal there and not get bored. In the week we stayed, we ate most of our dinners there. The dining area was a really nice open (covered) space where you could eat, have a few drinks, and chat with other guests. Their restaurant is open to the public and the fact that it can be quite busy is a testament to the quality of the food.

But the best part of Mundo Milo is the service. Lieke and Michiel are excellent hosts and we can't say enough good things about them. Always willing to make calls, look up information, listen to our kids tell them about the things they saw or did, have a chat with guests, give directions - they truly made our trip amazing. We miss them already and would definitely go back. You will not be disappointed at Mundo Milo.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We originally booked 1 night here, but ended up staying 2 just because this facility and the area are so nice. We were in the Persian cabina, but toured the African and Mexican cabinas and they are all very unique and nicely appointed. Michiel and Lieke are wonderful hosts. Lieke is an amazing cook - the breakfast is the best we had over a 3 week time frame. Dinner ordered off the menu was also excellent and fairly priced. It is walking distance to a beautiful, uncrowded beach and a short drive to other spectacular beaches. If we return to Costa Rica, this is definitely on the list.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 147anng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful 8 night stay with Michiel and Lieke in the Persian cabina. Mundo Milo is in a perfect location if you like a gentle breeze through the shaded forest while sipping a cold drink by the refreshing pool, or if you want to stroll down the beach for miles with the pacific rolling up on the sandy shore. There is plenty to do in the area from kayaking the estuary, to surfing, to snorkelling, to deep sea fishing to guided tours throughout the area.
Our cabina was nestled in the wooded property with a lighted trail to their gorgeous restaurant. It was extremely clean and well equipped for our stay. There was a beautiful covered deck with a lounge to enjoy our morning coffee listening to the surf pound the shore amidst the monkeys howling.
The food was wonderful from the fresh caught fish to the locally inspired breakfasts. Fresh baked breads were on our plates every morning with fruit and yogurt to start our day along with a choice of three hearty breakfasts to get you on your way for whatever adventure you had planned.
We will stay at Mudo Milo Eco lodge again! It was the anchor of our most recent perfect Costa Rican adventure!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Howeislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Junquillal
0.2 mi away
Guacamaya Lodge
Guacamaya Lodge
#2 of 3 in Playa Junquillal
126 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Negra
Hotel Playa Negra
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
140 reviews
8.6 mi away
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Azul
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
9.1 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tatanka
Hotel Tatanka
#1 of 1 in Paraiso
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mundo Milo Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mundo Milo Eco Lodge

Address: Calle Mundo Milo, Playa Junquillal 1234 AA, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Junquillal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Junquillal
Price Range: £44 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mundo Milo Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mundo Milo is a small scale ecologically based lodge in Junquillal in the NW of Costa Rica only 300 meters from the Pacific coast with beautiful beaches where turtles come ashore to lay their eggs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mundo Milo Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Playa Junquillal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing