We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Magical Place”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

So many great reviews and they're all true so I'll keep this mainly informative. Group of five stayed for one week, picked up at airport and shuttled to Mundo Milo. A few days later Budget rental in Tamarindo dropped off our rental at the lodge. We were able to drop the same rental at airport at end of our trip. This worked out great. Junquillal beach was quiet and peaceful. Several nearby beaches are livelier. We'll be back next year and cpl things will be done differently: April was very dry and hot; will go earlier in the year. Will prepare the whole group for bugs, scorpions etc as my mother wasn't expecting this and freaked right out! Will consider not renting a car and just having Doug shuttle us to other locations we want to spend time at. If you're planning a trip have fun Lieke and Michiel will take good care of you! It's a special place they've built in the jungle.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilmontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
111
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We recommend flying into the Liberia Airport instead of San Jose for its ease of travel. Mundo Milo is (nearly) a straight 1-1/2 hour drive down the coast after picking up your SUV at the airport. You'll find a small, quiet lodge with hands-on hosts willing to take the time with you. Any questions about your itinerary or problems can be solved by this caring couple. The food is delicious so you don't even have to travel elsewhere for a meal. Beautiful flora and fauna are available right on the grounds. After exploring Quepos and La Fortuna, we returned to Mundo Milo for a little relaxation before the flight home. It was a perfect place to start and end our trip.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Persian cabina because it has A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyer303_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

There is nothing I could write about Mundo Milo that could do it justice. But I'll try...
My husband and I just returned from an 8 day honeymoon at Mundo Milo in Junquillal and it's a trip we will never forget. We stayed in the more rustic African Cabina. It was spacious and clean and was equipped with a small fridge and burner for cooking. The private patio is surrounded by amazing foliage and wildlife and is the perfect spot for an afternoon siesta or cocktail after a long day at the beach.
Oh, and the beach...beautiful, somewhat secluded and only minutes from the lodge by foot.
But the best part of our trip by far was meeting the lodge owners, Lieke and Michiel. Our flight in to Liberia was delayed several hours causing us to arrive at the lodge quite late at night. They were both up waiting for us and greeted us with cold lemonade and offered to make us food. It was more like staying with family or friends than a hotel. Their top priority was making sure we were comfortable. And Lieke is an amazing chef! We were truly sad to leave yesterday but were comforted by the tasty sandwiches Lieke had prepared for us for our very early flight!
Mundo Milo is budget friendly and great value for money. There are so many more things I could say but you must experience it for yourself. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kierstenann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

It's not a super fancy place but the simply appointed rooms are comfortable and clean with little porches and nice bathrooms. The open-aired dining "room" and awesome little pool area were both great places to chill out and socialize (I went with 4 friends). Michael and Lieke have created an extremely welcoming and low-key relaxing environment. We felt so at home!

The food is good at MM - everyday we were offered a hardy and healthy breakfast, and if we chose to stay for dinner we found dishes like the steak, fish, and LASAGNA to be tasty and satisfying. Michael makes a mean margarita... But can also whip out a specialty like a White Russian in a pinch.

All in all we ate well, lounged well and slept well at Mundo Milo for a very reasonable price. We also enjoyed Michael and Lieke's company and got to know and like them very much.

Other perks: both black and white sand beautiful beaches nearby. The closest beach (black sand) is a 5 minute walk from the lodge. If you are active and fairly fit, you can also take a short hike to incredible white sand beaches and little coves that are practically your own to enjoy. The area around Playa Junquillal is relatively unspoiled and lush - we learned that locals fight hard to keep it that way. We went to Lola's a couple of times while in the region and enjoyed everything about it - great beach and water, good food and really pleasant atmosphere.

-Protected Mangroves. We took a kayak tour that was very cool and great for birding, but also very buggy.

-Tidal pools to explore

-A nearby horse stable called Costa Rica Equestrian Vacations where you can take guided trail rides on the beach or take a lesson. Their horses are well-cared for and very sweet.

-Playa Junquillal's one market is very well-stocked if you should need something. There's also a pretty great little restaurant in the same building called Amigos.

-Awesome surfing and paddle-boarding nearby. We had a particularly nice time traveling down to Nosara and Playa Garza.

-Turtles! There's a local rescue organization that you can make a donation to and go on a short trip to release just-hatched baby turtles back into the sea. You might also get lucky like we did and happen upon a nest hatching in the wild.

Advice- rent a car or better yet a truck (SUV). Expect to be active, hot and on the move. The roads aren't great, directions are spotty. We had an internationally functional iPhone which was pretty essential for directions especially at night when it gets dark (darker
Than anywhere I've been lately). You'll want to be out and about during the day and come back to Mundo Milo's comforts in the afternoon. It gets dark by 6:30 in March so it was nice to have a home base for early fun before collapsing in total fatigue.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Mundo Milo Ecolodge is owned and managed by a wonderful Dutch couple: gracious, friendly, and concerned for the enjoyment of guests. There are numerous activities in the region, as indicated on their website, though it helps to have a car (especially a high-clearance vehicle like a small SUV). The food is outstanding--wonderfully flavorful, well-plated and well-served. We stayed in the Persian unit, which was charming and very comfortable. Several beaches are close by. These beaches can have strong undertows, so be careful. However, the "plus" of such beaches is that they are not heavily visited, so these are stunningly beautiful beaches to walk on and explore. They are definitely "the road less traveled."

Room Tip: Several cabins have air conditioning, although one does not, so consider whether this is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancingPlantDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

No doubts about it, this is a great place to spend a couple of nights/days if you're looking for a relaxing vacation.
Lieke and Michiel (and the rest of the staff) made sure we had a pleasant stay with courteous and friendly service.
Beware this is an Eco Lodge, so it's surrounded by nature, and most likely you'll get to see insects here and there every now and then. We got the visit of 3 scorpions in our room during our stay, as well as 1 or 2 spiders and some ants. Just a matter of kicking them out with harmless consequences.
Now, to get there we had to take a 1.5 mile non-paved road that wasn't that bad. Before that is all paved road.
Lodge's location is about 1/4 mile from the beach, in a small hill... so you can get to the beach within a 5-minutes walk... Just 2 short trails away (one of them is a hill).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CR_Traveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After arriving at my reserved cabin in Playa Callejones and finding that my cabin was rented out with no additional availability, I was forced to seek accommodations elsewhere. What could have been a bad situation was quickly reversed when we stumbled upon Mundos Milos just south of where we originally planned to stay. Lieke & Michael were sitting on the steps around 9:30 pm (during the slow season) & we asked if they had any rooms available. It was our fortune that they did have a cabin and though it was more than I was looking to spend (because I tend to travel on the extreme cheap), it was worth every penny. The Moroccan themed cabin was equipped with AC, and the room was spacious & uniquely decorated, with much attention paid to details. Our morning included a fabulous breakfast with coffee, juice, and homemade yogurt with local honey over fruit, accompanied by eggs and homemade bread. Pure Heaven! All this coupled with Lieke & Michael's friendliness & willingness to share their story on how they came to build in this area made us feel very at home. Though we only had one night to stay, a longer visit would have been worth it. Definitely worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Themes are African, Moroccan, and Mexican. The whole location is quiet, so sleeping should be peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Junquillal
0.2 mi away
Guacamaya Lodge
Guacamaya Lodge
#2 of 4 in Playa Junquillal
125 reviews
19.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
9.1 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,219 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
6.3 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 22 in Tamarindo
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mundo Milo Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mundo Milo Eco Lodge

Property: Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
Address: Calle Mundo Milo, Playa Junquillal 1234 AA, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Junquillal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Playa Junquillal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mundo Milo Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mundo Milo is a small scale ecologically based lodge in Junquillal in the NW of Costa Rica only 300 meters from the Pacific coast with beautiful beaches where turtles come ashore to lay their eggs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Mundo Milo Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Playa Junquillal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing