We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to relax!”
One of the Many Beautiful Views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One of the Many Beautiful Views
You will have plenty of opportunities to see this Sunsets at Plumita Pacifica!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
One of the Many Beautiful Views
You will have plenty of opportunities to see this
Sunsets at Plumita Pacifica!
Fully Kitchen
Patio with Comfortable Lounge Chairs
Lounge Chairs to the Beach
Dining Area
Comfortable Living Room
Looking into the Bedroom
Queen Size Bed
Modern Bathroom with Marble Counter Top
Looking out your Door and Outdoor Shower
looking west from inside your apartment
Looking South
Looking West
She lives up the Beach Aways
Where Your Apartment is at sunset
Many Beautiful Sunsets
My caretaker Mario might catch you a fish
Looking North
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Playa Junquillal, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
sarah p
stoneycreek
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax!”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My husband and I stayed at Gary's place for 2 nights while travelling through the area but after leaving wish it was for longer. If you are looking for a place that seems to be "off the map" then this is it! The apartment is ideal, clean, has all the comforts needed, great AC (if desired) and still space to spread out. The area is a little remote but that is the attraction. Do not come here expecting a bar scene, this is a place to have a drink on the patio, watch the amazing sunsets, or sit in a hammock and listen to the surf/ read a book. As mentioned in other reviews, strongly recommend getting your groceries before arriving, i.e. in Santa Cruz, as the local stores are limited in their variety (particularly meat) and of course a little more expensive. We only tried one place for dinner, Tatonka (?) Hotel and Restaurant, GREAT pizza! It was a short walk down the road and yes it is dark so we found our flashlights extremely useful.
The beach! Absolutely beautiful, walk for miles, clean, swim friendly. There is a very active volunteer group located in the area that attempts to protect the turtle eggs/ release of young as well as assists with the cleaning the beach. We were lucky enough to witness the release of Olive Ridley turtles so if in the area ask the volunteers if any are due and they allow you to watch- no flash photography please! We did admire their efforts and the advances they have made in area, i.e. reduced lighting on the beach, not using white lights etc- great job!
Gary is a very accomodating and more than happy to provide suggestions for restaurants etc. when requested. He has a great spot and can see why he never wanted to leave after finding it!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2016
Hi Sarah & Dave... thanks for the great review! I look forward to seeing you again. :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quivira13...
Lake Quivira, KS
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 8 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

If you would like a beautiful stretch of beach almost all to yourselves, nearby great restaurants and a cozy apartment - this is the place for you. We loved the view from the apartment which was about 50 meters from the ocean. The hammock was even closer to the beach. Gary is an enthusiastic host. His dinner recommendations were excellent. We ate twice at the restaurant owned by the Dutch couple and twice at the local "tico" place. Both could be walking distance but the road is very dark at night so I would suggest driving. You probably need a car here anyway as you are about 1 1/2 hours from the Iberia airport. Last stretch of road is dirt - do yourselves a favor and rent an SUV or Jeep (we did not but will next time). This was our first trip to Costa Rica but we plan to return.
Also, we did some cooking in the apartment that was well equipped. I would suggest stopping at one of the larger grocery stores on the way in - since there is only a small grocery store nearby.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2016
Hi Mary... Thank you for the nice review! (But 4x4 is not necessary, except maybe during September and October, if you're planning on doing a lot of touring around.)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andie591
Neillsville, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Beautiful Ocean, Friendly and accomodating”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Location is a little far from nightlife- but there are a few restaurants and bars within walking distance - just not an active nightlife. Location is perfect for a couple looking to just spend time with each other. Owner is very nice, and will help in any way he can. Beach is perfect. Lovely sunsets every night. Coconuts and even monkeys in the trees.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The beach
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howdoyout...
1 review
“Sand, sun & surf”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing vacation with very little to worry about then you found it! We enjoyed 8 nights at Plumita Pacifica and were able to both cook for ourselves and find places to eat. It is also relatively close to other popular beaches. We highly recommend this property for your next holiday :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2015
Hi Debbie & Andre... thanks for the nice review! I'm looking forward to seeing you guys again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janies201...
Spokane, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“What a great location!”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This was one of the most perfect locations you can imagine. Literally no one in this area is a close to this incredible beach! The area is perfect with plenty to do close by, or absolutely nothing at all if you want. Our stay was relaxing and very enjoyable and our host Gary Davis was friendly, helpful and always ready to chat without being intrusive in the least. The only thing we would do differently next time is stay somewhere with a pool. We did miss that option of cooling down in fresh water. We also felt that a little money needed to be spent on some of the basic amenities in the unit such as dishes and towels. Other than that it's a great place for the money and we would recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2015
Hi Jane & Rick... Thanks for the nice review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJZR
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little corner in Paradise”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

No kidding, this apartment is located on Playa Junquillal in the town of Paradise, Santa Cruz.

It is just as described. Right on the beach, a few steps and you wet your feet in the sea. The apartment is comfortable, not fancy, but well equipped. There are good restaurants and a grocery store nearby. We did both, cooked at the apartment and visited nearby restaurants. If you are looking for a five star hotel this is not it. But if you are looking at peace, relaxation and solitud, go for it.

Junquillal is a large beach with clean waters and soft black sand. Most of the times we were the only people on the beach, what a treat, a private beach for ourselves. It is not really a swinming beach, but is beautifull to seat by and contemplate the sunsets while feeling the breeze on your face. Although the climate was hot, I never sweat because the breeze kept me fresh.

From the apartment you can visit several sorrounding beaches within 20 min to 1 hour drive. Gary, the owner, is a very friendly and caring person He made us feel at home and attended every one of our requests promptly. We will certainly go back to his little piece of paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmorab61
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
“Great location and pet friendly”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

I just spend a great weekend with my daughter and my husband in Plumita Pacifica. The location is perfect just in front of this amazing multicolor ocean. The cabin is very nice, spotless and very well equipped. We enjoy Gary's hospitality and the opportunity to bring our dog. We are coming back on January.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing