We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Arawa B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxted
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arawa B&B
Ranked #3 of 3 Oxted B&B and Inns
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We were very disappointed we found the room too small, the shower did not work properly and we feel the room was overpriced for what it was, but options in this area are limited. The breakfast was fine except for being a little greasy.

Room Tip: Try and find a different one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baggy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    10
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2012

David, the proprietor, was welcoming and breakfast was very good. Enjoyed a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeVee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This house is not a B&B - too small. We booked this place as we were attending a wedding nearby. However, we left pretty swiftly after arriving. The house was dusty and old fashioned. The room was pokey, dusty and was just generally dingy. The towels in the bathroom look like the one that one keeps in the garage in case of any flooding! The bed looked old and lumpy and in light of what els we had seen; could well have been not washed since the previous guest. Who knows. Just terrible.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businessroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxted hotels

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

The b&b was perfectly adequate, clean, though our room was not ensuite. The host was reasonably friendly. However, £40 per person was at least £20 too much for the standard of accommodation - for £80 I would expect somewhere larger (and with ensuite facilities). The cooked breakfast was fair, but not remarkable. Having seen various hotels and b&bs on 'The Hotel Inspector' recently, I do not think this place would get its tariff approved as value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grevenbroich, Deutschland
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2010

To find an accommodation spontaneously is hard to do. We were lucky to find such a B&B. David is friendly, served us really well (the breakfast - really tasty, and very british), and we never felt annoyed. He gave us tips for visiting London (Visit the science museum!! There is a 3D cinema, very cool)
The location is calm, there is a train station close to the B&B. The bedrooms are not soo small, and there is a television and internet you can use.
We came by car, so we were flexible. But you should never drive into the city, you have to pay for it and to find a parking lot is impossible to do.
London is great, there are a lot of places to visit, we didn't do one of the sightseeing tours (expensive for students).
All in all, we enjoyed our stay here in London.
Greetings from Germany

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hihi054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

My collegue and I stayed with David at Arawa for four consequetive weeks, from beginning to end we felt very welcome and comfortable. David always made sure we were comfortable and went out of his way to ensure this. Which was very much appreciated.

David also manages to get the balance of host perfect, not around too much to bother you but around enough if you need him. Hosts that can be around too much can annoy me.

The breakfast is one of the best I have had, very filling and very tasty!

All in all a nice play to stay, thanks David.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_A_doos_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I had walked 31km from London and arrived tired. I was greeted by the offer of a proper percolator brewed coffee, It was bliss. The size of the room was adequate , but comfortable with a TV and like the bathroom very clean. I had eaten earlier in the day and just wanted to sleep, but was told there was a Weatherspoon nearby if I wanted an evening meal. The location in a quiet neat street was easy to find. The generous breakfast set me up for a further 35 km walk the next day.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fartacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxted
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Caterham Whyteleafe
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
6.7 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Grasshopper Inn
Grasshopper Inn
#3 of 7 in Westerham
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arawa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arawa B&B

Property: Arawa B&B
Address: 58 Graville Road, Oxted RH8 OBZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Oxted
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oxted
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Arawa B&B Oxted, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing