We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced for what it is”
Review of Arawa B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxted
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arawa B&B
Ranked #3 of 3 Oxted B&B and Inns
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what it is”
Reviewed 15 February 2011

The b&b was perfectly adequate, clean, though our room was not ensuite. The host was reasonably friendly. However, £40 per person was at least £20 too much for the standard of accommodation - for £80 I would expect somewhere larger (and with ensuite facilities). The cooked breakfast was fair, but not remarkable. Having seen various hotels and b&bs on 'The Hotel Inspector' recently, I do not think this place would get its tariff approved as value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    10
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grevenbroich, Deutschland
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2010

To find an accommodation spontaneously is hard to do. We were lucky to find such a B&B. David is friendly, served us really well (the breakfast - really tasty, and very british), and we never felt annoyed. He gave us tips for visiting London (Visit the science museum!! There is a 3D cinema, very cool)
The location is calm, there is a train station close to the B&B. The bedrooms are not soo small, and there is a television and internet you can use.
We came by car, so we were flexible. But you should never drive into the city, you have to pay for it and to find a parking lot is impossible to do.
London is great, there are a lot of places to visit, we didn't do one of the sightseeing tours (expensive for students).
All in all, we enjoyed our stay here in London.
Greetings from Germany

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hihi054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

My collegue and I stayed with David at Arawa for four consequetive weeks, from beginning to end we felt very welcome and comfortable. David always made sure we were comfortable and went out of his way to ensure this. Which was very much appreciated.

David also manages to get the balance of host perfect, not around too much to bother you but around enough if you need him. Hosts that can be around too much can annoy me.

The breakfast is one of the best I have had, very filling and very tasty!

All in all a nice play to stay, thanks David.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_A_doos_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I had walked 31km from London and arrived tired. I was greeted by the offer of a proper percolator brewed coffee, It was bliss. The size of the room was adequate , but comfortable with a TV and like the bathroom very clean. I had eaten earlier in the day and just wanted to sleep, but was told there was a Weatherspoon nearby if I wanted an evening meal. The location in a quiet neat street was easy to find. The generous breakfast set me up for a further 35 km walk the next day.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fartacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

We stayed here during a walk on the North Downs Way. This is a very small B&B with 1 family room (1 double + 1 bunk) and 1 twin room. The 6 adults in our group booked the place out.

The rooms are quite small and basic but perfectly suitable for a short stay. The B&B is less than 10 minutes walk to central Oxted. The breakfast was good, filling and fresh, although instead of serving 6 breakfasts to 6 people they put the individual items in the centre of the table so we could serve ourselves. Although some people might prefer this, I personally just found it annoying.

In summary, this is a good place to stay at a reasonable cost if you want basic B&B accommodation in the Oxted area.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank infolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxted
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
6.7 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Bakery
The Bakery
#1 of 7 in Westerham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grasshopper Inn
Grasshopper Inn
#3 of 7 in Westerham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arawa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arawa B&B

Property: Arawa B&B
Address: 58 Graville Road, Oxted RH8 OBZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Oxted
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oxted
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Arawa B&B Oxted, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing