We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”
Review of Cinnamon Lounge - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cinnamon Lounge
Price range: US$17 - US$26
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Cinnamon Lounge in Oxted's Hoskin's Walk has a villagey curry house feel to it despite the crisp white linens and plush carpets, and this is the kind of place you could bring anyone from your solicitor to your son to for an enjoyable night out. Unpretentious and friendly, this restaurant is ideal for parties and after-work cocktails and curries, and the walls here are adorned with tiles, ochre-coloured paint and bright and breezy canvases. Fun for all the family, Cinnamon Lounge features unusual dishes alongside all of the classics, and we loved the chicken peshwari made with mango pulp, cream, almonds and sultanas, and the dahi Dover sole served in a tangy yoghurt sauce.
Oxted, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We had seen some less than favourable historic reviews and have relied on takeaway Indian meals from a restaurant I a mother town as we find the other Indian restaurant in Oxted underwhelming. We thought we'd give The Cinnamon Lounge a try and are very pleased we did. Very flavoursome chicken byriani and phall, wonderfully cooked brinjhal and bindhi and great poppadoms, all nicely flavoured with none of the saltiness associated with other locals. A definite find and our Indian takeaway of choice from now on.

The brinjhal and bindi were very tasty, lovely sauces (different in each case) with perfectly judged veg. Tender chicken in good size chunks, well cooked, good flavour sauces, nice soft rice. The dhal was also good, neither too firm nor too watery, all good, a terrific takeaway.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kent england
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Improved - much better again.”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We had not visited the Cinnamon lounge for quite some time after a couple of disappointing visits However, we tried the Sunday buffet again and everything was so much better. Whereas previously we felt the dishes had been watered down to go further this time the quality was very good and as it used to be. Everything appears to have been cleaned and tidied up and we would now come back. Sadly, there were only the seven of us for the whole lunch time but staff were attentive and even refilled dishes we finished. Much better, worth a second chance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank discerning3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey,GB
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better than average Indian”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Arrived at this well presented Indian restaurant in mid june 2013 for an unbooked pre cinema meal, just the two of us ordering a starter & main which was served within reasonable time, food was very tasty however portions were on the small side, the bill was average and the tip had been added on, the only disappointing thing was the hygiene rating when looked up later was 2 which had I known before wouldn't have gone there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Will try it again”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We bought one of those restaurant vouchers giving reductions so we finally got round to going there. The staff are very helpful and try hard to please, I had the Chicken Tikka as a starter, excellent, tasty and tender, my husband had a dish with lamb chops (2) in it, generous proportions but a bit tough, this comment was passed on the the waiter when he came to collect our plates. Much to our surprise he bought a replacement starter along with our main meal, he was anxious to please, but the lamb was still a bit too tough to enjoy. My main course had lamb in it, again a bit tough but no where near as bad as the starter, the chicken dish my husband ordered was excellent. My conclusion, good tasty food, perhaps avoid lamb dishes, nice staff, but service was a bit slow, however we will try it again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UkChas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Need to improve”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Sorry guys not impressed.......
Friendly staff and tasty food but....... be prepared to wait a long time for the food to arrive. I am not totally keen on the decor and ambience, can be a little chilly, looks slightly worn and tired. Also, not sure why the restaurant has a strange odour, my friend thinks it is the wood they burn in the Tandoori oven. I have visited 3 times in the hope that things would improve as the food is nice, but no, so it has to be a permanent miss for me.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OxtedWildeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cinnamon Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing