We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but”
Review of The Barley Mow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Barley Mow
Ranked #2 of 3 Oxted B&B and Inns
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food but”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This was bought as a wedding gift and emails from the manager confirmed a double en suite bedroom had been booked. On arrival we were taken to our room which was freezing cold, first week of January the young woman was very apologetic and said she would deal with it, which she did. On further inspection we found we had a Jack and Jill bathroom to share with guests next door this was unacceptable and we were not told this was to be the case, we would certainly not have booked to have this facility. There were no toilet rolls in bathroom, we went to unpack and the drawers were all sticky inside and out, but have to say the young woman behind the bar and the chef was great doing all they could to put things right, food was great and fab cooked breakfast. We were disappointed that the manager did not make an appearance. We would possibly eat there again but certainly wouldnt stay because even though you have booked en suite you might not get it!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    28
    16
    8
    9
See reviews for
14
57
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We got a night here with Wowcher which included a 3course meal and breakfast. Our double room was very quaint with our own ensuite. We were very pleased with the prices of their drinks, we sat by the open fire before sitting down for our dinner. Our meals were delicious, and were hearty portions; all I'd say is there should have been a note on the menu to warn of small bones in the Partridge Stew as this was the first time I'd ever had it... Breakfast was also brilliant, cooked to order.
We would visit again.

Room Tip: From reading other reviews it seems like we had the best room at the front of the building with an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collert_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonbridge
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I stayed here at the beginning of December 2012 with my partner . I had red previous reviews about having a bedroom without a bathroom so I made a point of visiting the venue before arrival . I was shown a very large en suite bedroom and was told that this is the bedroom that I would be staying in . I then had a look at the menu , and I was impressed with the variety and prices . I paid for my room.

Upon arrival I was shown to my room which was not the one I had seen before . It was still a double en suite but smaller . I noticed there were no towels and I asked for some towels and was told that they would be brought to the room .
I then made my wan to the bar where I tried to order a bottle of red wine as I had booked in for dinner. I was shown a wine list but my first three choices were not available so had to settle for a rose.

We were shown to our table and I have to say the food was very good and the service was a little abrupt at times , but overall a lovely dining experience .

When we returned to our room we noticed we still did not have any towels . At about 12.30 I made my way down to the bar and asked for some towels . The man , who I think was very apologetic brought me some towels . We also noticed that there were only minimal supplies of tea and coffee - not enough for two cups each . However , due to the lateness of the hour we decided to make do.

The room was well heate and I cannot find fault with the bathroom - good powerful hot shower . Breakfast was excellent and plentiful .

Overall I would say the stay was ok but I had also bought an over night package for a relative and I have just found out that her stay was far from satisfactory.

Room Tip: The large Double at the front with en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindylouTonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Last Monday my wife and I stayed at this pub using our Wowcher coupon. It was excellent!! The satff were great. The beer was very good. The food was excellent and the room was clean and spacious.

Regards, Ross Balaam.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossBalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Our one night stay at the Barley Mow was a lovely experience. As we've done on numerous occasions we were meeting up with our best friends of 36 years as this hotel is halfway between us. My friend booked this on Wowcher and I couldn't believe the price. I didn't expect such a good standard of food and choice. 6 starters, 9 mains and 6 desserts. Though a bit limited on the gluten free meals, the staff were very helpful and checked which ones were ok.The rooms were basic but very clean and we had a giggle with the shared bathroom. Four of us cleaning our teeth at once, hilarious!
I am sure we will be back!

Room Tip: Only book the rooms with shared bathroom with good friends or family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I am SO glad that I didn't believe all of the negative things written on here before arriving at The Barley Mow - I was expecting to be greeted by Manuel or Basil from the terrible things that people had written. I bought a 1 night stay through Wowcher and I can honestly say that we were made to feel so welcome. Granted, it wasn't the Ritz but it was certainly GREAT value for money, considering all that we got for our money! Delicious 3 course meal, overnight accommodation AND breakfast in the morning for 2 all for less than 60 quid. Result! The rooms were comfortable, cosy and clean and the staff were absolutely brilliant!

I had booked the trip as having a 15 month old, money is tight but we wanted a trip away and this was too good to pass up. Naturally, as soon as we sat down to eat, my daughter got upset and it became apparent that there would be no relaxed evening meal... Until, the delightful chef (Wayne, I think his name was...) said, "Tell you what, tell me what you want and I'll bring each course up to your room for you. Here's my number, just call me when you're ready for each course..." Seriously, don't know what we'd have done without his kindness! Then, the following morning, he entertained our daughter so that we could eat a quick breakfast before setting off for a day at Bluewater. What a gem!

Really, really lovely friendly people who did everything they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Thanks so much guys!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Have just returned from a one night stay at the Barley Mow pub. I bought the deal through Wowcher and this was the first time I had used any of the voucher websites. I was pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent and the service from the staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed in Room Number 1, which was clean and the facilities more than adequate for a short break. Overall a real bargain and we will be going back in the future for a meal.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 1 which was quiet and I had a good sleep. Not sure whether it would be noisy on a mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxted
Chiswick
Best Western Chiswick Palace & Suites
Mitre House Hotel
#553 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
#611 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#24 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barley Mow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barley Mow

Property: The Barley Mow
Address: Tandridge Lane, Oxted RH8 9NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Oxted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oxted
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barley Mow 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Barley Mow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barley Mow Oxted, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing