We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of The Barley Mow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Barley Mow
Ranked #2 of 3 Oxted B&B and Inns
kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here last Friday with a Groupon voucher, which included 3 course meal, bed and breakfast. Really enjoyed the night, staff were very friendly and helpful. The heating in the pub area wasn't working, however they had a fire going which was cosy. Food was nice, I had the chicken and rice for main which I loved - nothing better than home made special fried rice! Room is basic, but clean, however we did get woken by someones elses alarm! Would def go back here especially when it is warmer. We walked in to Godstone the following day which we saw some lovely sites.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms available, we stayed in room 1 which is above the bar, so if you want an early night av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentLady83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    28
    16
    8
    9
See reviews for
14
57
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I went to the Barley Mow with friends for a meal last week. Staff were very friendly. The main course was £11.50 home made burger and fries with side salad, the burger was amazing, and was really pleased, so we thought we would order desert. I ordered Dark chocolate and passion fruit Terrine, when it came it was 2 slabs of what looked like shop bought frozen dessert, it had ice crystals and really wasn't nice that I couldn't even eat it (I eat virtually anything!) My friend had sticky toffee pudding which she said tasted like shop bought micro pudding. When the waitress came and collected plates, I did tell her about my dessert and that I couldn't eat it, she was very nice and said she'd tell the kitchen, but no offer of reduction of the bill was offered, so I ended up paying £5.50 for a dessert that I couldn't eat. A shame as the main course was so good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Spent a night at the Barley Mow including 3 course meal & breakfast
Room was basic & clean but with un-ironed bed linen which made it look shoddy
the room was over the main bar which was noisy after we had retired

Meal was very good & breakfast nice enough but could have done with another cup of tea but werent asked.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham Friary, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had a thoroughly lovely time on our two day visit; we were welcomed very warmly despite the recent storms and lack of electricity (all the staff had been sent home!) - but we'd decided to stay anyway. It was a bit chilly upstairs due to the boilers having been off for the two days, but the bed was comfy and we had the tv, too. Due to understandable lack of kitchen staff, we ate out in the local village of Westerham (Gurkha Kitchen, brilliant), but on returning enjoyed very realistically priced drinks, with the landlord and a few friendly locals.
Breakfast the following morning was full English with freshly made tea and coffee, absolutely beautifully cooked and service was both friendly and personal. We took our dogs walking for miles in beautiful woodland countryside, returning later for lunchtime drinks, in a busy and friendly atmosphere. Dinner later in the evening was all home cooked, delicious and very generous in portion sizes. Again, staff were chatty and welcoming. There was a lovely atmosphere and candles burning in the windows, adding to the rustic quality of the whole experience.
Some comments about the room quality in another review are somewhat over stated. Yes, the shower facilities are not luxurious, but the building is very old and rustic. For the money and the food, not to mention the hospitality, you would have to go a long way to beat it for value and enjoyment. Of course, you could go to a soulless chain of cheap over night facilities, if you want a posh little en suite...but if you are looking for character, countryside and glorious walks, go to Barley Mow, Tandridge. We will be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had a super meal here in the summer - really friendly, good food and a lovely pub as well. Excellent service. Would recommend it to anyone fancying a good meal after a long country walk. The beer was good as well and, I am told by the men in the group, was well kept.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rev_Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Had a nice one evening stay via Woucher.The pub is very much a tradional Surrey country pub.Wooden floors,log fire,great food and very friendly staff.The room was very comfortable with no noise from traffic etc.We went for 1 night and did a walk from the pub where thare are plenty of footpaths to follow.There is a large garden at the rear of the pub which would be ideal on a warm evening.I cannot fault our stay and would love to go back one day.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2 which was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom8667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

I would agree with the last reviewer. We stayed on a wowcher deal. The 3 course meal was great as was the breakfast in the morning. The staff were friendly and there's a nice large beer garden here. The rooms are a bit dated but clean and functional. Good shower. Would definitely go back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spookmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxted
Chiswick
Best Western Chiswick Palace & Suites
Mitre House Hotel
#558 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
#614 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#23 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barley Mow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barley Mow

Property: The Barley Mow
Address: Tandridge Lane, Oxted RH8 9NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Oxted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oxted
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barley Mow 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Barley Mow Oxted, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing