We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Bangldeshi food”

Golden Bengal Tandoori
Ranked #20 of 34 Restaurants in Oxted
Price range: US$19 - US$32
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Golden Bengal Situated in the heart of Oxted, Golden Bengal offers mouth-watering Indian cuisine. Its establish 1975. The Golden Bengal is renowned throughout the Surrey area for its divine style and presentation of traditional Indian cuisine, this is achieved by paying special attention to every fine detail and only using the very finest ingredients. If you are looking for the most exquisite Indian food in the Oxted area, then take a look and order from our easy to use on screen menu, you will see that we offer something for every member of your family. Our on-line menu is fully downloadable, so why not keep it on your desktop for regular use! If your favorite meal is not on our menu just call our restaurant, our chef will happily try and prepare it especially for you.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Traditional Bangldeshi food”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Curry like it used to be. This restaurant is happily stuck in the past, a past where the same half a dozen sauces were applied to different cuts of meat. Chicken Madras was tender and tasty and, though described as ‘fairly hot’ was, for my taste. ‘mild’. Chicken Jalfrezi was, as it should be, prepared with plenty of peppers. The various Bahjis very pleasant, particularly the sag bahji. Cost with beer and main course around £20 so a good deal. Service can be slow but the food is worth waiting for. Nothing fancy but a good nosh!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BasilMav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamun-Oxted, Public Relations Manager at Golden Bengal Tandoori, responded to this review, 30 September 2016
I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. It will help us improve our operations and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    8
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey UK
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Takeaway report”
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

Eight for a takeaway. We rang beforehand and told 30minutes. Turned up it was ready all nicely packed up. We rounded the bill up to £100 with extra Nan Breads. Strangly no till receipt was offered and no list of contents. Cash handed over it felt odd that no till receipt given. When asked we were offered a hand written piece of paper. We wanted to prove to the ladies what we had collected was as ordered.

Look that's nothing to do with the quality or quantity just seems this cash and no receipt seems wrong as we couldn't check what we had nor could the owner know what had been given.

Anyway the food was good OK. Not fantastic but what the hell with a couple of beers. The ladies liked it so that was good enough.

Its worth saying that on a Saturday night the restaurant was as good as full for at least one sitting. Saw friends in there and all seemed well.

Helpful?
1 Thank LittlePlum&BigPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamun-Oxted, Public Relations Manager at Golden Bengal Tandoori, responded to this review, 30 September 2016
I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. It will help us improve our operations and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“4 inch long black hair wrapped around chicken piece”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I have been eating here for almost 2 years. At the start the food was tasty and competant-- certainly well above average. The service remains attentive, but the food has steadily gone down hill. Wonder if they changed chefs? On my last visit, my food was pretty tasteless, but the icing on the cake was a long black hair that my boyfriend found wrapped several times around a single piece of chucken, hidden under the sauce, after he had already put it in his mouth. (Neither one of us have black hair, or hair that long). The staff seemed very embarrassed and offered to cook him a new dish-- though at that point we were very much put off our food. We got our meal free of charge, but will not be back. Very much a shame, as this used to be our go-to curryhouse.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marissssa500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamun F, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bengal Tandoori, responded to this review, 1 April 2017
I’m so sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience. That wasn’t our intention. We really appreciate your feedback and hope you do give us the chance to make it right.
I hope that this hasn’t put you off a return visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening!”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Having eaten at this restaurant for over 20 years, felt it was going downhill & have not eaten there for 18 months. Decided to try it again tonight and was well impressed, food service and price! Very enjoyable evening good food,, good service and value for money, all in all a very pleasant evening!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al M, Public Relations Manager at Golden Bengal Tandoori, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Dear,
Thanks for your valuable opinion. Its Really helpful for us & It is always our aim to give our customer the best quality service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average Indian”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Nice food
Service ok
Ambience...traditional "Indian"
Didn't blow my socks off
Great if you are craving a 'ruby'......

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank OxtedWildeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamun-Oxted, Public Relations Manager at Golden Bengal Tandoori, responded to this review, 30 September 2016

Thank you so much for your feedback and time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Bengal Tandoori also viewed

 

Been to Golden Bengal Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing