We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hosts Poor Showers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Station House Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Collingwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012

As I expected staying in Collingwood was always going to be a challenge for quality accommodation but we selected the Station House Motel based on it have a two bedroom unit available. The price was very cheap but it was the same for all accommodation in town.

The unit was very basic and reflected the age of the establishment. I would have been satisfied by the unit were it not for the fact that the shower had the water restricted to the point where it was basically worthless for purpose of washing properly. I cannot express my pleasure when I left the Station House Motel and travelled to my Hotel in Darwin to be able to get a proper show as soon as I got into the hotel.

I will never stay at the Station House Motel again even if I was offered the accommodation free. On a more positive note I have to say the Darren & Sylvie with their young family are lovely people and I am sure want to do the right thing by their guests. All that needs to be done would be to remove the water restrictor in the shower. Clearly the updating of the accommodation is driven by the number of guests staying at the motel which is likely to be a long term objective.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gordon35au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thestationhouse, Owner at The Station House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Thankyou for your review. We are so sorry the shower spoilt your stay with us. We have had the water restrictor removed. The pressure is better and we have had complaints thus far.

We would like to offer you a free night with us. If you are ever back in magical golden bay please feel free to drop by and have a chat.

It was a real pleasure meeting you and we look forward to one day seeing you again.

All the best
Darren, Sylvie, Jaimie and Leroy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

We only stayed for one night but we appreciated having the extra space and facilities of is lovely motel after nights of hostels and tiny rooms. It is really well located in this small settlement, close to the beach (a nice place for an early morning stroll) and to attractions in the local area. Our stay was quiet and comfortable, the room was spacious and the bed comfy. Others have said at it was cold and the tv too small - our response would be that yes it was chilly in the evening, but given the time of year that was to be expected, and with the heater and the electric blankets on while we went out for dinner it was great when we got back. Who needs a tv at all? Go for a walk on the beach or to the tavern! We headed there for dinner and the welcome was really friendly, the beer and food good and very reasonable. Definitely opt for the roasted veg with your meal as you get heaps of different veg and it is lovely!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Ljm706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed at the Station House for 3 nights. The hosts Sylvie and Darren are super friendly and full of ideas for things to do during your stay.

The units are large and clean and surrounded by pleasant gardens - two areas of improvement to make them even better would be the shower - the water pressure in our unit wasn't good and we ended up freezing after having a shower, and the TV was tiny and didn't work very well ( not sure if we were doing something wrong but half the time you couldn't see the picture at all) Two small fixes and this would get 100 percent awesome rating.

We would defo stay here again! Its a minute walk from the beach, 30 sec walk to the shops and sooo peaceful and quite.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank superkayakgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My 2 year old daughter and I spent a glorious month at the Station House.
The hosts, Sylvie, Darren, Jaimie and Leroy could not have treated us better - they took care of our every need.
The food was delicious & the coffee (always an important feature if you ask me) was perfect and plentiful.
I cannot Wait to return!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank sfujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Darren and Sylvie made our trip to this area hassle free, their advice and friendly emails before our arrival was very helpful. As we didn't have our own vehicle they offered transport for us and even offered their car to get around (which we didn't require but the offer was there) We loved our room, warm and comfortable. The motel has an ideal location if you need to walk to food places etc. Highly recommended as a place to stay.

Room Tip: We had unit 1 which is around the back so is nice and quiet from any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank DCWCAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thestationhouse, Manager at The Station House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thankyou for leaving a review. It was nice to meet you guys and we are glad you had a good time. We agree that Cottage Unit 1 is cetainly one of the best units we have.

We will look you up if we are up your way some day.

Thanks again
Darren and Sylvie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

WOW, we stayed here for 4 nights and just loved it. Its easily the nicest place we have stayed in during our visit to New Zealand. The hosts where very friendly and helped us out with planning our stay. Farewell Spit was well worth doing and the sunset at Wharfariki was amazing. Rooms were big and clean, beds were comfortable, gardens were lovely and the place just has a nice warm happy feeling to it. Loved the entertainment by the 3 year old dancing in the back garden for us. We will definately be coming back here next time we visit New Zealand.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Authur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thestationhouse, Owner at The Station House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

We are glad you enjoyed it here Arthur. Thanks for the kind words. It was nice to have met you and we hope to see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Good location for accessing western golden bay. Friendly host, with big units with adequate beds. Visit slightly spoilt by one of the weakest showers we have ever encountered.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thestationhouse, Owner at The Station House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2012

Hi Nick.

Thanks for the kind and honest words. I know how important a nice shower is, especially when on holiday, sorry it was poor when you stayed with us. Since your stay we have had the pressure increased and now it is now a lovely shower.

Thanks again for staying with us and leaving a review on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
3.8 mi away
Twin Waters Lodge
Twin Waters Lodge
#2 of 2 in Collingwood
28 reviews
4.2 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
177 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
113 reviews
14.9 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station House Motel

Address: 7 Elizabeth Street, Collingwood 7073, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Collingwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range: £60 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Station House Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Station House Motel, is the original police residence in Collingwood. It has been tastefully renovated and provide comfortable and affordable accommodation. We offer two self contained cottage units in a peaceful garden setting and two studio units with a private bathroom. The cottage units offer full cooking facilities and the studio units offer a partial kitchen equipped with a kettle, toaster, fridge and microwave. Units are furnished with a queen size bed and three of the units include additional single beds. Our beautiful yard has outdoor seating areas and two Bar-B-Qs for use at your leisure. Our family oriented motel is a stones throw from beaches, cafes, the Collingwood tavern, museums and Farewell Spit Eco Tours. We are an ideal place to base yourself to explore Golden Bay. Relax at the cafes, enjoy the beaches or whether you enjoy the Heaphy Track in the Kahurangi National Park. We are bike friendly with a large and secure garage and free parking. We offer transportation to and from airports and walking tracks upon request. We offer continental breakfast and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Station House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station House Motel Collingwood, New Zealand - Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing