We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Station House Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Collingwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Since staying here last the B&B facility is no longer, which disappoints as there is limited food prep facilities in the unit. Continental can be ordered delivered to your room. Most would expect at least a Queen double bed too
That said the room was immaculate with a superb shower to enjoy.. This old police station is so charming with photos to remind guests of the towns past. The hosts were delightful friendly folk and made us most welcome. Restaurants/Main St just a few paces away. We loved our stay here in this quaint historical town.

Room Tip: PHONE FIRST to ensure vacancy here or in Collingwood itself. It is only a small place. You will fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob and Di H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Station House for one night. It's a very small quiet town and perfect for trips up to Farewell Spit.

The family were lovely but the room we stayed in was a bit tired and could do with a revamp. Especially the shower.

If you want somewhere livelier and a little quirky stay in Takaka a few miles South. Great place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We loved staying here. Collingwood is a tiny village in a stunning setting - beach to the east, estuary to the west. The Station House is a historic police station converted into lodging. It has been lovingly maintained. The room was generous and comfortable and it had a small kitchen (no hot plate or microwave - those would be an improvement) and plenty of space for your belongings. The owners are lovely and the gardens are fantastic! Collingwood has little in the way of services but the setting was heavenly. We found many delightful and beautiful places during our visit to this area. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PattyPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Would have been two but it was booked out the night before. Very central, although to be fair most things are as Collingwood is very small!

The motel, or at least some of it (room 4 where I was and room 3 opposite), is inside a historic building and the owners also live in another section of the same building. So it felt more like a B&B in that respect.

Nevertheless the room was fully self contained, everything you'd need really. No kitchenette but a microwave and of course jug & toaster. There was a two seater couch so you could watch the TV from the bed or the couch which is good.

No aircon but a fan provided. Could get pretty warm in there in the middle of summer I'd think. A couple of windows can be left open but they are in the dining area not directly the sleeping area.

If you book the Farewell Spit Eco Tour through them you get $10 off the accommodation so that helps with the budget, making it $100 rather than $110 in my case.

Also a good bit of advice mentioning the Rosy Glow chocolate shop to me, I bought myself 3 tasty treats from there. Usually gourmet chocolate seems overpriced but the $11.50 I spent was a worthwhile treat :-)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Spacious cottage in a good location - close to some of the best attractions in the area. Perfect for a longer stay and big enough to fit the whole family. Kitchen was well equipped. Milk/tea/coffee were not restocked during our stay. Bathroom was also roomy and basic toiletries were provided. The only negative about the bathroom was the shower - water pressure was very low and the shower head only moved sideways. It was impossible to adjust the height, which made showering difficult for shorter people. Free WiFi and free parking were a bonus.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pralinka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Station house to explore the area. I wouldn't call it a motel but rather a home stay or B&B without breakfast. Our suite was very nice with a large bedroom, sitting area, a separate kitchen / dining area and bath. Lots of room. The young couple that own this place go out of their way to make it a good stay and they have two small children that we enjoyed, perhaps because the kids were the same age as our two grandchildren. The area is quite fun to explore and the ideal town for this is Collingwood and the best place to stay is the Station House.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jer-jeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thestationhouse, Owner at The Station House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thankyou for leaving a nice review. We agree the best place to stay in Collingwood is the Station House Motel. Thanks for staying with us. Cheers, Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Hi my name is Ron Baxter from England. I had the fortune of dropping by the Station House Motel by chance and they had room for me. This charming, family run little motel in Collingwood was one of my highlights during my stay in NZ. The owners are wonderful and know alot about the area, the highlight was whaririki beach, i got so close to the baby seals. i do highly recommend this motel. I loved enjoying my wine relaxing in the bueatiful gardens. My only complaint apart from not staying long enough was the TV was too small (Darren promised he would have a bigger flat screen installed before i return next feb) I wish Darren and Sylvie all the best for the future, thankyou.

Room Tip: Probably should book, I didnt but got luckey although I did want to stay longer but they were full u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baxter-Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thestationhouse, Owner at The Station House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Hi Ron

Wonderful of you to leave a review and a nice one at that. Wharariki Beach is definately one of the best beaches in New Zealand and all of our guests just love it there, seals, dolphins, caves, sand dunes and the wild west coast sea, glad you enjoyed it. The gardens here at the Station House Motel are coming along nicely and the TV's in the units are now a better size....so we are all set up for your next trip.

Looking forwrd to seeing you again and thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
3.8 mi away
Twin Waters Lodge
Twin Waters Lodge
#2 of 2 in Collingwood
28 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
269 reviews
4.2 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
125 reviews
0 mi away
Collingwood Park Motel
Collingwood Park Motel
#2 of 6 in Collingwood
69 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Innlet Backpackers and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station House Motel

Address: 7 Elizabeth Street, Collingwood 7073, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Collingwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range: £60 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Station House Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Station House Motel, is the original police residence in Collingwood. It has been tastefully renovated and provide comfortable and affordable accommodation. We offer two self contained cottage units in a peaceful garden setting and two studio units with a private bathroom. The cottage units offer full cooking facilities and the studio units offer a partial kitchen equipped with a kettle, toaster, fridge and microwave. Units are furnished with a queen size bed and three of the units include additional single beds. Our beautiful yard has outdoor seating areas and two Bar-B-Qs for use at your leisure. Our family oriented motel is a stones throw from beaches, cafes, the Collingwood tavern, museums and Farewell Spit Eco Tours. We are an ideal place to base yourself to explore Golden Bay. Relax at the cafes, enjoy the beaches or whether you enjoy the Heaphy Track in the Kahurangi National Park. We are bike friendly with a large and secure garage and free parking. We offer transportation to and from airports and walking tracks upon request. We offer continental breakfast and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Station House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station House Motel Collingwood, New Zealand - Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing