We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Hell is more like it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Collingwood B&B and Inns
Davis, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“West Hell is more like it!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

West Haven Luxury Lodge, West Hell is more like it. In addition to meeting this lovely three generation family, you may stay in a well-appointed beautiful lodge, and yes, the views are quite pretty. What is not clear on the nicely produced website are a few important details.
The road to this place is a nightmare of hairpin turns, on gravel, sometimes with a single lane and oncoming cars. If you book this lodge, fly in, or forget it! Don’t be fooled by the professional photographs either, the beach is a very long hike down from the lodge.

When booking, there is a lower priced “cottage” option, which we thought was part of the lodge, but be forewarned, it is NOT! Really, it looks like a converted garage, or perhaps it was temporary housing for the family while they built the lodge. My husband booked us into the cottage and somehow the booking came through as only one guest. Monica was sweet enough to bring an extra set of threadbare towels and explained she’s adding my stay to the bill. Fair enough. This dated, musty cottage (complete with plastic plants and very dated decor) was SUCH a disappointment. We traveled extensively throughout the north and south Island and stayed in at least 10 different accommodations, all similarly priced. West Haven was the only one that was a disappointment.
It was not clear that once we arrived, food could not be ordered…and there is no place to buy food. Monica senior was kind enough to whip up an amazing, delicious meal for two, and we appreciated it but there was no option. We had to pay whatever they wanted to charge us, and both Monicas told us repeatedly what an inconvenience it was; wow, way to make your guests feel bad! Lastly, nowhere on the website did it say that we would not be allowed to go into the Lodge. The only time we were allowed to even enter the Lodge was to pay our bill. Monica wouldn’t even let us carry our dinner plates to the deck to enjoy the view. There were no other guests staying there, so what difference would it have made? Of course, we also were not allowed to step foot near the pool or hot tub, and by the look of all they toys scattered around, that was exclusively for the use of their children.
The property is pretty, but really it is a sheep ranch with few llamas thrown in. Monica’s husband works hard to maintain the animals and the property, but his early morning ride on tractor is rather a rude awakening. Oh, and the torn screens allow endless flies to come in, so perhaps they could provide guests with a fly swatter. Last but not least, Monica-used old shampoo bottles, really?
In summary, if you can afford the Lodge, fly in and out but above all, do not stay in the cottage.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zenwhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monika v, Manager at Westhaven Luxury Lodge, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Madam, I am so sorry you felt this way. Your husband was not fully informed (did not read thoroughly) about the road, which is described in detail, with photos on the webpage and in directions we especially sent to you. The road is SAFE and very well maintained. It is regular School Bus Route.

When you arrived, you were under the impression you had booked a room at the Lodge for $210. While you were here, we both established you DID NOT READ the description of the Cottage on the Agoda Website!!!!! It clearly states the cottage is a completely separate to the Lodge. Lodge Rooms cost $1080, so there must be a difference between Lodge guests, who pay for luxury accommodation, the use of the pool, spa, sauna and all meals.
We understand this made you disappointed, but we took the best of care of you and cooked you a lovely 3 course dinner for only $64. We never overcharge!!!!

For the one night stay you booked, you found many horrible and INCORRECT statements about Westhaven and the Cottage. One of the many criticisms you are correct about are the broken fly screens and you are right, they look ugly and are ineffective. We will be repairing/replacing them.

We do hope you enjoy A HAPPY NEW YEAR and again we are sorry you did not see how special Westhaven is, like the hundreds and thousands of other guests before you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    0
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
39
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Just stayed at the cottage (cheaper option) attached to the lodge. Very friendly hosts and will book again to stay at the lodge itself. Was able to have breakfast, lunch and dinner through the lodge provided by "2 Monica" (mum and daughter). If you are after a resort with large grounds, isolation, beautiful surrounds and hosts who truly are there to help....go here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at Westhaven Lodge for 3 nights recently and it was only just enough time to hit the highlights. We will go back and stay longer and do some fishing, kayaking and further walks.
We stay at 2 lodges in NZ each year and Westhaven is by far on every count the best lodge we have stayed at. The location, the drive to the lodge, the remoteness, the physical lodge itself, the food and family nature of the operation make it very unique and should be on everyones list for that special ocassion or just a retreat away from the rest of the world. The scenery is just stunning due to the ruggedness of the area but the beauty of the forest and rocks was neverending. The many walks are varied and take in great views of the inlet and the everchanging coastline.
The food was a real treat with the Austrian European influence but Monika prepared any food to our liking. The 4pm Austrian afternoon tea cake was something special to look forward to.
The scenic drive to the lodge was along the inlet road over many causeways which is also the school bus route and we stopped many times for photos of the inlet, causeways and spectacular scenery.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JATWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We booked the self catering cottage at Westhaven for 3 nights and had one of the most amazing experiences of our 6 week holiday. The cottage was wonderful (remember to take all food and drink with you!)-it was comfortable, well equipped and with a view to die for. You feel as though you are at the end of the world-remote and idyllic. We sat outside in the evening with a glass of wine watching the tide fill or empty the inlet far below us. It is quite a long drive from Collingwood but well worth the effort so try and go for at least 3 nights. We did lots of walking on their property and by taking the car even further down the coast you see the wild west coast of the Tasman Sea. The family are charming and friendly and we ate with them in the lodge on one evening. Go see for yourself!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mature-traveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2013

It was one of the best places we stayed during our entire journey on the North and South Island!
Though it's quite a long drive to come to the retreat, it's absolutely worth it.
The rooms a superb and spacious with a fantastic view. I have never had such a huge indoor pool , though we stayed in a lot of luxury hotels worldwide . The food is excellent European .
Our kids(11 &15) loved the place!
We hiked together , swam at a private beach , went flounder spearing at night. Our son caught his first Snapper! So much to do in such a wonderful, relaxing atmosphere.
Thanks to our hosts Monika, Bruno, Monika2 and Thomas, they really made our stay so special !
Our only regret was not to have stayed longer then three nights ...!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crisolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

It is not necessary to repeat the compliments that have already been expressed but we would like to endorse these. It is a credit to the family who have worked so hard to create such a superb place and to appreciate it properly it is necessary to stay at least two nights. We booked a suite which we felt was worth the extra paid. Don't wait for a special occasion, go and enjoy now!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btdt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motueka, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We were able to take the wonderful opportunity to share this magnificent piece of paradise with the wonderful hosts that make this retreat so welcoming. They share their beautiful retreat that oozes there craftmanship and expertise,(lovely big rooms with a fantastic comfortable bed and spabath) although not quite finished it still has the fantastic views, and you can feel how the retreat will be when completely finished. The charm and relaxing atmosphere that makes this retreat so special,is a must see, if you like the outdoors and beautiful beaches and walking, this retreat has all this at your finger tips. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and especially the way Monica (both of them) and Bruno and family made our stay so special, Ive just had some canvas's done that reflect the experiences we had and have captured our moment,.magnificent. Thoroughly recommend it, relax and enjoy what this wonderful family have to offer, We thank them for this lovely experience, what a way to spend our 25th wedding anniversary!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
13.3 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
8.3 mi away
Twin Waters Lodge
Twin Waters Lodge
#2 of 2 in Collingwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
24.9 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wetland View Park
Wetland View Park
#2 of 6 in Collingwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
24.9 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westhaven Luxury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westhaven Luxury Lodge

Property: Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Address: 336 Te Hapu Road, Collingwood 7073, New Zealand (Formerly Westhaven Retreat Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Collingwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westhaven Luxury Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and revive on an extraordinary beautiful coastal peninsular in luxury and style. The pure natural beauty and variety of scenery will leave you astounded. The Lodge itself is described as an architectural delight was hand built by its owners. All rooms perfectly appointed to enjoy the endless panoramic views over the Bay. The Lodge offers all facilities for your relaxation, from hydrotherapy spa, infrared sauna, 24 meter swimming indoor pool, massage and beauty treatments. To keep our guest entertained we have a big selection of outdoor activities. Hiking trails, Kayaking tours, Quad bike tours, Scenic helicopter Flights, Boat fishing charters, Maori flax weaving workshops and llama craft workshops. There is something here for everyone. From tidal bores, to dramatic cliffs, huge sea caves, offshore rocks and secluded beaches, Westhaven shows the best of New Zealand nature and wildlife. With the Westhaven Family as your hosts we offer intimate warm hospitality with our delicious cuisine. All your senses will be nurtured at Westhaven Retreat, ensuring that you will have a truly memorable stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westhaven Luxury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westhaven Luxury Lodge Collingwood, New Zealand - Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing