We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Twin Waters Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Twin Waters Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Collingwood
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at Twin Waters for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Trish and Mike are excellent hosts and we were invited to join them for a glass on wine on our first night. They made very helpful suggestions about how we could spend our time at Golden Bay, sharing their own experiences and those of other guests. The accommodation was well designed for guests, of a high standard and very clean. The bed was very comfortable too! Breakfast was very tasty and the coffee excellent. Flynn (the delightful boxer) and Jazz (the rather aloof, but still lovely cat) contributed to the enjoyment of our stay. We would have no hesitation in recommending this B & B to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    2
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Brilliant! Loved it ! Thank you Trish!why do I have to write 200 words when a few are enough? Great place to jump off to see seals on Wharariki beach - they came up to me with no encouragement. A real privilege.even more words needed! Twin waters was really so comfortable after staying in an apparently 5 star rated accommodation.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BassDram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is our third stay with Trish and Mike. And as before a lovely stay. Trish and Mike are exceptional hosts. Other guests attracted to Twin Waters make for interesting conversation at breakfast and afternoon wine.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iaminoznow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I can not say enough great thinks about Twin Waters Lodge. Trish stayed up late to welcome my arrival after driving from Picton up and down the mountains through dense fog. I stayed here two nights and those nights were the best of my trip. Trish welcomed me as though I were family, gave me ideas and places to venture during the day and evening as well as great restaurant recommendations and shared her and husbands trip to Antarctica with me . Very close to Golden Bay. Views from rooms are spectacular! Rooms very clean, modern, green (energy efficient) and full coarse breakfast. I stayed in the Shanghai room which was awesome; I felt like a star on the set of Jurassic Park. I would Stay at Twin Waters any day over the Ritz. Do not look anywhere else; stay here!

Room Tip: All rooms have a different theme, pick what suits your style or try something new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nate82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Trish and Mike Boland were the ultimate hosts! We loved our "Safari Room" and couldn't have been more comfortable in their beautiful B&B. The guests have their own living and lounge area beautifully decorated with African arts and crafts. Each guest room has it's own theme and are really well done, we were just partial to ours which was at the end. Breakfasts were delicious and the conversations with guests, Mike, and Trish were always fun and interesting. The location is perfect for exploring especially if you take the Farewell Spit Eco Tour, which we loved loved loved! Trish always lead us to the perfect adventure and restaurant, one of which is the School House. It was wonderful and just down the road five minutes away. We couldn't have felt more welcomed.

Room Tip: Each room has a unique personality with it's decor, all quiet and well done. We loved our Safar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleG149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

I was greeted at the door by a dog, which for me is a problem. There is a cat in the house as well, neither are mentioned on the website or the b&b or on booking.com. When I mentioned not recalling reading about the dog on the website; “it is not on the site because he is very sweet and up to now, only 2 have had problems with him, another person and you”. After stating once or twice more how sweet the dog was, the owner Trish was willing on her own accord to lock him away from the B&B part of the house. But it made me feel the bad guy –how can you not love this cute doggie-, not a good start.
When showing the rooms, it was mentioned that wifi reception was only in a small office-like room, not in the bedrooms. When I booked on booking.com, the information clearly indicated that wifi was available in the bedrooms as well (as I double checked after my stay). If it is not available in the bedrooms, this should be stated very clearly in my opinion, as it is quite a difference in service whether wifi is only available in a “public area” or also in the guest rooms.
The room and guest area have an African theme (although one of the rooms looked a bit Japanese). Themed bedrooms can be a good conversation starter –have you lived in Africa?-, and I do understand it holds precious memories for the owners, but in this case it gave an outdated impression, maybe also due to the faded duvet cover with African pattern.
The bed is made of a kind material that is sure to gather dust, and looked dusty. Covered in dust was the cord of the lamp on the bedstand next to the bed. Cat and dust; astma patients may want to avoid this place.
Besides many African artifacts I counted 2 or 3 animal skins in the guest lounge, 1 in the bedroom, which started to give me the creeps.
The decks at the room (deck is actually at the road side with some bush in between, but it is a very quiet road) and around the guest lounge were nice. However, there was nothing to sit on on the deck at the bedroom and the guest lounge deck only had two not so comfortable looking chairs. Too bad, as the deck around the guest lounge has nice views at the estuary, worth enjoying.
For people who do not care about these things; some positives; excellent shower, handheld, nice modern bathroom, tea and coffee facilities and fridge in bedroom, besides a small kitchenette in the guest lounge. It is a 1 minute walk to a nice beach, and pleasant views from the guest lounge.
Breakfast was excellent, with cooked breakfast and Trish was a very informative host, with lots of advice and lots of experience from all over the world. Breakfast is at a large table, so a chance to meet other guests.
In that regard, if you do not mind the dog, cat and absent wifi reception in the bedrooms, it may be a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twinwaterslodge, Owner at Twin Waters Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
I thank the reviewer for this review, but would like to clear up a few points about this review that may be misleading:

About our animals. As with almost all B&B owners, the premises are also our home, and our pets share this with us. Most New Zealand homes have a cat or dog as a pet, and often both, and we are no exception. I must emphasise that our animals are controlled and are not (and have never been) allowed in the guest rooms or guest lounge - or in our kitchen. There is no need for guests to have any contact with our animals if they do not want to. On the other hand, if guests want animal contact, we are happy to let them engage with our dog - the cat can be a little bit timid. Our dog Flynn is simply a pet. He is very friendly and most guests love him. Look for a blog soon on our web site about him. Our cat, Jazz, has an important role to play as a mouse catcher - we are in a rural location and mice need to be controlled.

About the WiFi: we do not guarantee WiFi in the rooms and never have. Because of the variability of ability of computers to receive WiFi and the extensive nature of the property, it is not practical to have a strong WiFi signal in all places. We provide places where WiFi can be used. The signal is best in our library, which this client used (hardly the "small office-like room - it is 4.5m x 3.5 m). We do not claim in-room WiFi on our web site and we apologise for any error on an affiliated web site.

About the "dusty appearance": The bed in question is made in Africa out of woven water hyacinth, which is stained with a natural dye. It is the nature of this material that the finish appears dark, with lighter streaks, which may make it appear dusty - this is normal (but the dusty light cord was an oversight!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

Twin Waters Lodge was an excellent place to stay while exploring Golden Bay. Very relaxing stay with great hosts and a beautiful environment both inside and out. I would recommend Twin Waters to anyone looking for accomodation in Golden Bay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XFDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
8.0 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
18.2 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
4.1 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
17.9 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#1 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
18.1 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Waters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Waters Lodge

Property: Twin Waters Lodge
Address: 30 Totara Avenue | Pakawau, Collingwood 7054, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Collingwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Twin Waters Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace, tranquility, native birdlife, a sandy beach, native forest and affordable luxury. These are the hallmarks of a stay at Twin Waters Lodge. We are situated in the north-western corner of the South Island amongst some of the most varied scenery and activities New Zealand has to offer. Our purpose-built lodge is nestled harmoniously on a finger of land between a wildlife estuary and the shining blue waters of Golden Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Twin Waters Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Waters Lodge Collingwood, New Zealand - Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing