We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heron's Rest
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Twin Waters Lodge(Collingwood)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mohua Motels(Takaka)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Awaroa Lodge(Abel Tasman National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
27
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housegreat view of the baymain streetbreakfast was excellentowner's househeaphy trackgolden bayself contained cottagefarewell spitgreat place to staysouth islandrusselltreeshillviewsaccommodationnz
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in this very peaceful region. The cabin was beautifully located and private. Very nice deck with a view to the sea, nicely decorated and with a great big outdoor bathtub amid the trees and the birds. The host were very welcoming and allow you as much privacy as you want while being very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very nice as well and can be had in the cabin or in the main house. This was probably our most enjoyable stay in all of NZ. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ishock78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus S, Owner at Heron's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

We enjoyed your company and you certainly had a good look at all the Bay has to offer . Your tips on Samoa are very useful. Happy travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Collingwood is well of the main track for the average tourists to stay. Not much there but a wonderful setting with lots to see around. Your hosts will give you all the details. The accomodation was excellent. Your own little piece of heaven surrounded by trees. The "bathroom" is quite unique and separate from the main accomodation, more suited to the summer months. A barbie is available for you to eat outside overlooking the sea. A wonderful setting with very friendly hosts.
Don't forget to visit the local chocolate "factory"

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b-sutcliffe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus S, Owner at Heron's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Thanks for your kind comments. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Communciation prior to arriving was great and we were made to feel very welcome. The studio room was private, plenty of space, clean and tidy and the view lovely. The breakfasts were fantastic: One morning we had breakfast in our room, the second morning in the house, where we enjoyed having a chat with our hosts.
We mountain biked the heaphy track while we were in Collingwood and Heron's rest was very convenient for this. Angus and Maureen also let us leave our luggage at the studio while we were biking, which was really handy.
We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked to go back at New Year!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sara e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Great to have you stay and look forward to seeing you in the New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Excellent B&B and very accommodating!

I was with a party of 5 staying in Collingwood before cycling the Heaphy track. Angus was very accommodating and we arrived at a late hour and left early to start the track. We were given an excellent breakfast with freshly baked bread and homemade cereals and conserves. The rooms were cosy and warm which made going out in frosty morning very difficult!

Unfortunately, we didnt get to see the views from the lodge as it was dark during our stay! It was a 45 min drive to Browns hut, ideal place to start. I would firmly recommend the Herons rest as a friendly, great value and comfortable place to stay in Collingwood.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Thanks for your kind comments. We hope to encourage more cyclists and walkers to our beautiful area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Friends recommended Heron's Rest to us,very glad they did,very good indeed.We had a lovely bedroom with a deck outside. Maureen and Angus are well travel people so our conversations were wide ranging. Very good breakfast which,including Maureen's homemade muesli,very nice.The hosts share the table with you so good conversation is assured.We had a fish and Chip dinner with them 1 night.of course a glass or 2 of wine both nights. Went to the Mussel Inn the other night.Went to the Farewell Spit Lighthouse,which did not grab us as we expected.( Not sure why this was ) Some other places in the area excited us more.Wharariki Beach for one. Wish we had more time there.
Thank you Maureen and Angus for a lovely time,hope we can visit you again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus S, Owner at Heron's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Thanks for the review. It was great having you stay, good company. Please come again to Golden Bay and stay with us

Kind regards

Angus and Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews