We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect residence to visit North & West Sardegna”
Review of Il Melo Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Melo Residence
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porto Torres
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect residence to visit North & West Sardegna”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed 10 beautiful days and visited : Castelsardo, Stintinho coast & beaches, Alghero, Argentiera, Sassari, Nettuna, Capo caccia and, of course, Porto Torres Basilic & roman terms.
Porto Torres is at the center of all these sites so that you do not need more than 30 minutes to reach any site, ideal location.

Then, Il Melo Residence offers space, comfort, private parking, clean rooms, fresh bread service each morning and, over all, a top fair welcome & visits suggestions. If you have chance, you can see on the roof many apartment bikers, which is really nice, fun, funny.

Laura & her mother who manage this residence are very fair, and Serena is a fantastic person who speaks many foreign languages and starts russian, so no language boundary there.

Nicolas

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
42
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Padova, Italia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Il Melo is a family-run residence located a few minutes driving from Porto Torres center and port. It is the perfect base to visit the several fantastic beaches and places (Stintino, Castel Sardo, Alghero,Asinara,...) that are within a 30'-45' minutes driving. However, you really need a car to enjoy your vacation at Il Melo, since even the closest beach is not easily reachable on foot.

We had a four-beds apartment with a fully equipped kitchen, a wide and comfortable bathroom, a night double room, and a living room with a double day bed. Furthermore, we had a private terrace with a table for outdoor dining.

The service also included tablecloths, towels and linens, which are changed every half a week!
The price (around 80 EU/day) was excellent, considering the offered service and the period (July).

On top of it, the extreme courtesy, availability, and kindness of the owner Laura, her mom, and the young lady who helps them, greatly contribute to make the experience particularly enjoyable!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAAAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is our second visit to Sardegna (1st time in July 2013) and chose Il Melo for our stay without any question again!

It is very reasonable, beautiful and sanity rooms with full kitchen. There is a local morning market in Porto Torres, where they sell fresh local products for really cheep price, and we bought many things from there and cooked at our kitchen in our room! Some nights, we dined out at great seafood place suggested by Il Melo, and they were fantastic!!!

What makes Il Melo special is the expertise suggestions (best beaches to go based on the wind direction of the day, other attractions, places to eat & buy) and hospitality, on top of all the facilities at great value. Also they get fresh pastries and pane every morning, so no worry for the breakfast neither!

We came all the way from Japan for 2 times, and surely will be back again !!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

It was such a pleasant stay at il melo residence! We usually stay at hotels when we travel, but staying at an beatiful apartment with kitchen was perfect for Sardegna, which allowed us to try several different great local restaurants, and also sometimes skipping meals and stay at beach all day! It's a family-run apartment, and they were super nice and helpful. We asked everything (restaurants and beaches to go to etc...) and their suggestions were all great! Warm welcoming family will assist to make sure your great stat in Sardegna! Thanks so much, our son miss you guys already. Will return again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

For 35 euros a night I wasn't expecting a lot even in January. This was very good. You do your own cooking which cuts costs and get a comfortable flatlet with Italian TV and internet access. Porto Torres has some sights as well, but the near by Mont d'accoddi beats these, a monument unique in Europe and well worth a visit if you are interested in places like Stonehenge or Avebury.

Only slight drawback is its out of cenntre location but that does mean parking is free and very easy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swindonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Torres
0.2 mi away
Hotel Libyssonis
Hotel Libyssonis
#2 of 3 in Porto Torres
135 reviews
2.4 mi away
Buddi Hotel
Buddi Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sorso
62 reviews
13.5 mi away
Park Hotel Asinara
Park Hotel Asinara
#1 of 16 in Stintino
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alghero
872 reviews
13.4 mi away
Cala Reale
Cala Reale
#5 of 16 in Stintino
488 reviews
14.2 mi away
Club Hotel Ancora
Club Hotel Ancora
#4 of 16 in Stintino
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Melo Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Melo Residence

Property: Il Melo Residence
Address: Via del Melo 39, 07046 Porto Torres, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Porto Torres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porto Torres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Il Melo Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Il Melo Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Melo Residence Porto Torres, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing