We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clane
laois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Hi we had our wedding with yous on the 8th of December 2011 yous made everthing perfect we wouldnt of asked for more we had the best day of our lifes with yous their was knotting yous didnt do for us thank u very much Nicola and David Byrne

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    301
    170
    77
    73
See reviews for
330
361
21
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We decided on the morning of Tuesday 3rd January that we would go away for the night with the kids. After vieing many hotels on trip advisor we decided to head to the Westgrove Hotel in Clane as it had a lot of good family reviews. There was a few negative ones from couples but we thought we would give it a shot. We booked a excetutive apartment suite so we could have the extra room with the kids with sitting room. We arrived and had lunch as the room wasnt ready and lunch was fine and staff polite and nice to the kids. When we arrived to the room we noticed that it was freezing in the room. Both bedroom and living room were too cold to have our kids in who are 2yrs old and 6 months old. The heating was storage heating which I thought strange anyway considering the rest of the hotel is heated bt vents as with most other good hotels. We put on storage heating at full blast and informed the hotel of our concerns which they said they would check the room for us in 30mins and make a call from there. We went to the pool with our 2yr old who is pool mad and couldnt wait. We lasted in there 10mins max before he asked to get out as he was cold and shivering. Not only was the pool cold but out of the pool was freezing also. We left and headed back to th eroom to see if it had heated up. it had v slightly but the alarming thing was that it didnt seem to be retaining heat. 2 hrs passed and we had no visit from hotel staff. We rang down again and eventually 3 hrs after asking them they told us they had another rookm for us which my wife went to check and when arrived realised that it was just a 2 bed room which was hotter but far too small for a family of 4 so at this stage we had to stay put in our original room. We went down to dins and hoped that it would have heated up by the end. The restaurant staff were friendly and pleasant but didnt seem to know much about anything on the menu and the food was very poor. It seemed the chef didint really understand what Italian cooking was, maybe this is because it was th Tuesday after xmas with all experienced staff off? I really dont know. Back to the room and it had heated which we turned off as storage heating gets v hot.I had to get uo 5 times that night and turn the heating on as it was freexing and I was sleeping in a tracksuit and back up to turn off as it kept getting to hot!! The whole wing we were in which was on 1st floor from 101-122 was colder that the rest of the hotel, even a staff member commented on it!! So when checking out today I was annoyed so what happened next might not have annoyed me if we had a good stay but as I stood infront of the receptionist in an empty lobby waiting to check out she 1st took a call from what seemed to be accomadation and went through all rooms that were ready to go and be cleaned etc..This lasted approx 8 mins while I stood there. Surely the thing to do here is to tell accomadation that she will ring them back as she has a customer infront of her and surely in a servive trade like hotels customer is core, it was just rude and topped off our stay from start to finish. This is our 1st review ever to write but I was just so annoyed with the whole stay and wished we had gone with our gut instinct and headed to Galway instead!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgroveHotel, Front Office Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We do not seem to have got anything right on this occasion and for that I am extremely sorry.
Thank you for choosing the Westgrove Hotel we very much appreciate your business and I do hope we get another opportunity to show you the hospitality we are well known for.
If you have time please contact me directly on jerryrussell@westgrovehotel.com and we can discuss this further.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Irl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed in the hotel over the Christmas period with my family and would have to say that it was great , Food was super and were the staff . We stayed in a Family room which was nice and big for us , rooms were very clean with nice white duvets with lovely towels in the bath room .Room was a bit hot but other than that is was a great stay , will defo come back

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golfirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgroveHotel, Front Office Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the staff and food super. Catering for families is an important part of our business and I am thrilled we performed well. Thank you for labelling us as a Great Hotel, the team will be so glad that we made your Christmas break special.
A very Happy New Year to you, and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in 2012.
Kindest Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

I love this hotel. We have tried carverys around Kildare and this is by far the best. The food is fresh, the lamb devine. It's the little extras that are great. The chefs are very mannerly, the lounge staff helpful. The manager is obviously good because the place is impecable. All in all a great meal for a Sunday afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgroveHotel, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Dear Customer
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. My team here in the Westgrove Hotel are thrilled to read your comments. We will not be sitting on our laurels and will be adding to our Sunday Carvery offering in the New Year.
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you to the Oak Bar very soon.
Wishing you a Happy New Year.
Best Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

A very nice hotel, food excellent, staff very friendly and courteous, well supervised by Ella. Great value for money. Will definitely go back

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgroveHotel, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are thrilled to read your report on our new restaurant Assaggio. Thank you for your mention of our Restaurant Manager. Excellent customer service is our priority here in the Westgrove Hotel and we strive to do that everyday.
Happy New Year to you.
Best Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

My husband and I stayed in late nov as we had previously stayed here for my sister wedding last June .
Well all started off slow with reception not been able to find our booking.
We were told there was two restaurants to choose from so later that evening we asked to see both menu a so we could decide which one we dine in . We went to the Italian and asked a polite foreign girl and she said she was unsure if the other restaurant would be opening and asked if we'd wait while she asked the chefs !!
We were then told both so we left looking for menu's got changed and down we came . The first restaurant called kirbys was open. In we went only to be the only ones there we waited 10 mins and noticed through glass doors that the staff were all in kitchen talking. So off we went to itialan which was tasty but portion size weren't great. Also we weren't offered water or a wine list . My husband went to the bar and ordered drinks and no one battered an eye lid.apart from the barman who said he 'd bring them through.overall I wont be back . Also housekeeping started knocking at doors at 10.30am, we were told check out was at 12!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markkagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgroveHotel, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We very much appreciate your feedback and I apologise for the service issues you encountered. We obviously got it wrong on this occasion and for that I apologise. I would welcome the opportunity to talk to you so if you have time please contact me on jerryrussell@westgrovehotel.com
Best Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

My family of two adults and two kids stayed in the executive apartment, which was very clean, we had a large bedroom, a separate large living area, a small kitchen area and a lovely clean spacious bathroom. We stayed for three nights and ate in the restaurant for two nights. We had a deal that included a two course meal, we had a good selection of dishes to choose from and everyone enjoyed the food. Even though a wedding was being held in the hotel during our stay we found the hotel quiet and the staff helpful. The underground car park is so good as it rained almost constantly during our stay and we didn't get soaked loading/unloading our luggage!, there is an entrance to some shops from the car pak too which was handy to pick up some food to pop in the fridge in our kitchen. We all really enjoyed our stay, i would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, we will be back !

Room Tip: Choose the apartment if you have a family, it is worth that little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surfinglaverty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgroveHotel, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the Hotel to your liking. We are so lucky to have apartment rooms for families and we recieve great feedback about them. With a family myself I know the importance of having room to breathe.
Once again thank you for your report and we hope you will return to the Westgrove Hotel soon.
Best Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clane
5.4 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
5.9 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
8.3 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: Abbeylands, Clane, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Clane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgrove Hotel & Conference Centre situated in the beautiful village of Clane in County Kildare; we are 30 minutes from Dublin City Centre with easy access from the M7 and M4 motorways. A four star property with extensive leisure club consisting of 20 metre indoor pool, kids pool, Jacuzzi and steam room and a large gym and fitness studio. We have The Oak Bar with a carvery lunch and full day menu, Assaggio Italian Restaurant and 24 hour room service. We have the award-winning Spa Haven featuring Elemis luxury treatments. We have our supervised kids club with mini cinema. We have two well appointed ballrooms, three boardrooms and two syndicate rooms hosting weddings, conferences, meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgrove Hotel Clane
Westgrove Hotel And Conference Centre Clane, County Kildare, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing