We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Hotel for Families.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clane
Certificate of Excellence
Carlow
1 review
“Very Enjoyable Hotel for Families.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked into the Westgrove on Bank Holiday Sunday for 3 nights. Sinead was our receptionist and she was lovely. Very professional and had a beautiful friendly manner. The bar food was excellent. Extremely tasty and well presented. Children's meals also excellent. This hotel has lots of seating dotted around the place. Ideal with children as you could use the bar and relax without worrying were you inconveniencing other guests. The leisure centre was delightful as were the staff. Breakfast was lovely. Staff were excellent especially the mature lady manager who took the time to speak to the children. A lovely touch. The hotel is adjacent to a small shopping centre. Ideal for the little things you might forget! underground parking very handy too. esp when raining and when you wanted to bring in/ out the luggage. We had a very enjoyable stay and will certainly be back at Halloween break if not before.
Paula.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollypolly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your three day family break and found our restaurant, bar,leisure club, kids club, food and service were to your liking. I hope we encourage you to visit again. Thank you for choosing the Westgrove Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    309
    180
    83
    74
See reviews for
355
366
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was a lovely hotel, staff were friendly and helpful...breakfast was amazing really reasonable and it had everything u can think of..we got a great deal for this on Groupon. !! Would highly recommend this as its attached to a shopping centre which is small but has all the bare essentials ;) &a lovely little gift shop downstairs a nick nack shop but with unusual gifts ..ran by a lovely lady very friendly amd welcoming.This hotel has a spa which was nice.....and a lovely Chinese restaurant called Tigger in the little town was delicious

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lusciouslucy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the Westgrove and found that we offered good value for money. I am glad you managed to see a bit of Clane Village and enjoyed a nice Chinese Meal. Thank you for your compliments on our Breakfast Buffet and Staff it is very much appreciated.
I hope we give you good reason to return again for a short break. Thank you for choosing the Westgrove Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went for August bank holiday with husband and gran daughter who is four. Lovely girl called Emma works in the kids club and is great with children. Our little one adored her so a big thank you to Emma. I found the bar area where we ate on two nights very dated and drab. It could do with a makeover. The staff were very busy and nice and polite at all times, even under pressure. The food is nothing special, usual bar menu you can get in most pubs. Thought hotel bar would make more of an effort.The blaring TV was an annoyance and no one seemed to be watching it. Eventually asked for it to be turned down. The room was clean and beds comfortable. Was clean and fresh when we returned from being out. Swimming pool was good. The layout of the hotel is like walking though tunnels and for some reason it reminded me of a gloomy airport. There is the same flat atmosphere you feel in those places. The fire alarm went off in the early hours of the bank holiday and people were just about to lift kids out of beds to leave when someone said no need, not an emergency. On checking out receptionist was unable to explain why this happened, just repeated it was not an emergency situation. Not a terrible hotel but it just lacked appeal for me and my husband.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 542Shelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your your stay over all. Emma will be delighted with your praise in our Kids Club. I am sorry you did not like the food or décor in our bar. Next time you will have to try our Assaggio Restaurant.
I do hope we encourage you to return again for a short break. Thank you for choosing the Westgrove and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

really enjoyed our stay in the Westgrove the kids club was great for our 5 year old daughter
the leisure facilities were a bonus staff were very helpful and the room we had was very clean would recommend foe families with young children

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your mid week break away. Thank you for recommending us for family breaks I am glad your young children enjoyed the Kids Club.
Thank you for choosing the Westgrove Hotel and I do hope we encourage you to return in the near future.
Best Regards
Jerry Russell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, NI.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked the Westgrove as a very last minute getaway. Having searched online for somewhere reasonable to stay, we found that the westgrove was very good value offering us a 2 night stay, 2 breakfasts, 1 dinner and full use of their leisure facilities plus a VIP card for Kildare Village for around £75 each.

The hotel was very clean and spacious, and came with good parking facilities. We were able to access wifi throughout the hotel. The food was lovely, and the waiters were very attentive and friendly.

The first night we stayed, the room was very humid, and the duvets were far too thick. This was quickly addressed the next morning by the cleaners, who changed them to a lighter sheet. My only downside to our stay, was that the bed wasn't overly comfortable.

Other than that, it was perfect for what we were looking for.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmax88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the Hotel offered good value for money. I am delighted you availed of many of our facilities and you found them to your satisfaction.
I am sorry you found our summer duvets too warm but glad this was sorted by housekeeping as soon as you brought it to their attention. I do hope we encourage you to return to us in the future. Thank you for choosing the Westgrove Hotel we very much appreciate your business.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Very poor hotel if you use a wheelchair. It was like the mini-lifts were so obviously an afterthought. Reception very inaccessible if you even have a buggy/pram. Food was average, bar staff very attentive. Definately not a 4*

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilQ115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. I am sorry you found it difficult to get around in a wheelchair. Please be aware that all areas are accessible and that many of our floor surfaces are tiled or have wooden floors so there are many positives. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here at the wknd and I was very impressed..! Beautiful hotel with very spacious rooms..
We had a party of 6 and we were there for my boyfriends Dads birthday.
The management were informed it was a special birthday and we were delighted to find a complimentary bottle of wine in each of the 3 rooms on arrival and free drinks voucher for the birthday boy and his wife...most of the party used the swimming facilities which were lovely also..
The food that night was top class, could not fault one thing with it, very friendly waiters and a good atmosphere in general.
We moved to the bar after dinner for a few drinks and enjoyed the live music....
We will definitely return to this hotel...

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tinafairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and got to use the Leisure Club and found the pool to your liking. Thank you for telling me about your experience I am glad your boyfriends Dad enjoyed his birthday.
Thank you for choosing the Westgrove Hotel I do hope we encourage you to return to us again in the future.
With Best regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clane
6.8 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
5.3 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
567 reviews
6.0 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
421 reviews
3.8 mi away
Barberstown Castle
Barberstown Castle
#2 of 2 in Straffan
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: Abbeylands, Clane, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Clane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgrove Hotel & Conference Centre situated in the beautiful village of Clane in County Kildare; we are 30 minutes from Dublin City Centre with easy access from the M7 and M4 motorways. A four star property with extensive leisure club consisting of 20 metre indoor pool, kids pool, Jacuzzi and steam room and a large gym and fitness studio. We have The Oak Bar with a carvery lunch and full day menu, Assaggio Italian Restaurant and 24 hour room service. We have the award-winning Spa Haven featuring Elemis luxury treatments. We have our supervised kids club with mini cinema. We have two well appointed ballrooms, three boardrooms and two syndicate rooms hosting weddings, conferences, meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgrove Hotel Clane
Westgrove Hotel And Conference Centre Clane, County Kildare, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing