We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite 4 star standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not quite 4 star standard”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Ladies toilets were clean but in bad need of a make over. Taps hanging off sink, no soap, toilet roll holders all broken. Bedroom was very cold. There were no extra pillows or blankets. No pen for the room service menu. Breakfast was freezing cold. It should have been very tasty but too cold to enjoy. Bar and restaurant were very cold. I sat at the table with my coat wrapped around my legs all evening and night. I was served a very flat bottle of beer at end of the night. There was no staff in bar to get an exchange but I did eventually find someone at reception. It's a 3 star hotel at best. Food in restaurant was lovely. But that was not enough to redeem the place. I wouldn't go back or recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcgiollacuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review of your stay. I am sorry it did not meet your expectations. If you would like to discuss the service issues you encountered please contact me directly.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    302
    171
    79
    73
See reviews for
335
362
22
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed with family using Pigsback voucher.. Although hotel didn't appear particularly busy were left waiting until 3pm on the button to be allowed check in even though we were there for 1pm..a short call to housekeeping not an option evidently! Attitude of receptionists was cold and unfriendly not just to us but to all we saw them engage with during our wait, not a single smile between them!! I can't understand having worked in the hospitality industry how management can fail to act on such an important an issue which has been repeatedly reported by reviewers.. Surely the object of the Pigsback offers is to encourage repeat business!!? The bar staff appear to be the complete opposite so hats off to the bar manager.. They were all helpful, smiling, enthusiastic and as it should be.. treated us as Guests! Housekeeping do a great job, room neat and tidy and were pleasant when we passed them with the kids. Pool area was really lovely for families and well maintained, family dressing room a great idea! One thing to remember is that there is no lifeguard on duty unfortunately.. all in all a good stay but unnecessarily soured by reception staff!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnydaystocome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review on your stay. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and found our front office team unwelcoming. If you would like to discuss your findings please contact me directly.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

First night out without baby and we got a special offer..how bad could it be???? Awful! Room stank floor was sticky blanket on bed dirty and awful music pumping from bar which was audible in room. The offer came with a three course dinner which was so restrictive we were almost left with just 2 choices and they managed to get that wrong. Worse thing is you are stuck here as there are no good bars or restaurants around. Should have gone to Dublin city!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sile-Ain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. If you would like to discuss your findings please contact me directly.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel was booked as part of a Hen Night package and I have to say I was "Well Impressed"!! I wasn't expecting too much as the hotel was in a small village but it was lovely. There was free car parking and wifi which was a good bonus. The hotel was huge but in a good way. We had a lunch snack in the bar and a three course evening meal in the restaurant which was amazing, the food was so tasty!! The hotel in general, accommodation, food and drinks were all excellent value for money. It was a short distance to near by towns. My only disappointment was I didn't have time to use the amazing looking spa or stay longer. I recommended to my parents to go last month which they did and they to have a great two day break! Will look forward to my next trip here!! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review of your stay. I am so glad you enjoyed your girlie break away and that you recommended us to your parents. Thank you for choosing the Westgrove Hotel and yes you have given yourselves a good excuse to return.! Seanna and her team in our Elemis Spa Haven would be delighted to look after you on your next visit.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back at sometime in the future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from.a two night stay with The westgrove. It was just super. Wonderful kids club, lovely staff throughout the hotel. Fab bed and pillows. Yummy food. All in all we will be back. Really great trip.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovethehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review of your stay. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our staff helpful and friendly. Thank you for recommending our Hotel it is very much appreciated. Thank you for choosing the Westgrove Hotel and I do hope we encourage you to return again in the future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

It was a weekend away for my sister as it was her birthday. It was such a lovely stay. We got a family room which gave us 3 beds. A great start. The hotel had given us a few little treats in the room which was such a lovely touch. (chocolate dipped Strawberry's) We had dinner that evening in the Italian Restaurant Assaggio. The food was gorgeous and the service was brilliant. Such lovely staff and friendly staff. The waiter must have over heard us say it was a birthday weekend so he arranged a lovey desert and birthday candle for her. A perfect touch that topped a perfect day.
We had treatments booked in the lovely relaxing spa. Again lovely staff. Perfect treatments.
We stayed 2 nights and the second night we ate in Naas town.
When we checked out the lovely receptionist gave us VIP passes to Kildare Village.
It was just a perfect stay and even though the hotel was booked out on both night it was so quiet.
Highly recommend it as a nice base to see Kildare or as a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johannawhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read your comments and so glad you were well looked after by our team. Thank you for all your praise.
Thank you for choosing the Westgrove Hotel Leisure Club & Spa Haven and I hope we encourage you to return to us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We just spent two nights at the westgrove, we were at a wedding so we had fun and the food was very nice. The breakfasts are good too as was the service. But the whole hotel is very dark, the rooms are dark, the carpets are dark, the main dining room is dark. In America this would be regarded as a 2star hotel. The reason is that the whole space smells of damp, like an old cleaning rag. That's not pleasant. There is no way you should go here if your not attending a function. They do have good wifi, but I had to constantly get new door keys as they kept not working. Will not be going back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and that you thought our hotel smelt and that your bedroom keys did not work. You mention the Hotel was smelt of damp. Our Hotel is a relatively new build and does not smell of damp. On the bedroom keys not working I have organised all our bedroom door looks to have their annual service. Thank you for complimenting our Free Wifi, our Food and Our Service.
I do hope you will reconsider and come and visit our lovely property again in the future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clane
5.3 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
2.6 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
390 reviews
8.5 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
4.9 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: Abbeylands, Clane, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Clane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgrove Hotel & Conference Centre situated in the beautiful village of Clane in County Kildare; we are 30 minutes from Dublin City Centre with easy access from the M7 and M4 motorways. A four star property with extensive leisure club consisting of 20 metre indoor pool, kids pool, Jacuzzi and steam room and a large gym and fitness studio. We have The Oak Bar with a carvery lunch and full day menu, Assaggio Italian Restaurant and 24 hour room service. We have the award-winning Spa Haven featuring Elemis luxury treatments. We have our supervised kids club with mini cinema. We have two well appointed ballrooms, three boardrooms and two syndicate rooms hosting weddings, conferences, meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgrove Hotel Clane
Westgrove Hotel And Conference Centre Clane, County Kildare, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing