We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Big Slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Campo Cielo Grande

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trevelin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Campo Cielo Grande
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Big Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Campo Cielo Grande, or Big Sky/Heaven Countryside, is exactly that. The property sits on 50 acres of pristine habitat that borders Lago Rosario. The luxury tents open up to expansive views of the lake and the impressive Cerro Colorado. Being politely awakened with steamy hot coffee was a nice surprise, which was then followed by a very complete breakfast in the large cooktent. Both Trey and Shelby are experts of the area and were able to identify different birds, plants, trees, and distant mountain peaks. The best part about our stay was the flexibility of our excursions -- fishing, trekking, horseback riding, guided tours, and rafting. Their enthusiasm and bottomless energy was contagious, especially when my frustration mounted at my inability to throw a good cast. Fortunately, Trey's patience allowed me to throw a line with some degree of fluidity. Our favorite tour was a rafting/fishing experience down the Rio Corcovado, where we were able to do class 2-3 rapids and fish in the slower rapids in between. This was remarkable in that other tour companies were just rafting; we couldn't help but notice their envious eyes as we fished in Trey's 'Cadillac' raft as they floated by shivering.
After a full day of fishing, hiking, or touring, we could always count on a hardy meal back in camp that was prepared by their efficient crew. Our favorite was the lamb ragu, as well as different Argentine asado's they did on the open fire.

Bottom line: This is an authentic outdoor experience in the rugged Patagonia wilderness, but will all the comforts of home - and then some! Both Trey and Shelby were professionals and well qualified at what they did, but more importantly, they made it very, very fun. If you plan on coming to this part of the world, this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoutainManiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Campo Cielo Grande turned out to be a near perfect experience, with great weather, exceptional scenery, delicious food and attentive hosts - Trey Shelby and their staff.
The tent accommodation is comfortable and cosy.
While the men chased trophy trout - of which many were sighted, the women went touring among spectacular peaks, lakes and forests.
Patagonia must surely be one of the world's best kept secrets.

John & Helen Trudinger, Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtrudinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2010

As a fly fishing widow during our stay, I was thrilled to see the area around us by car. Shelby is a great tour guide. We saw the magnificent Parque National Los Alerces, where we had a boat ride through the lakes, lunch in a refugio, and a walk along the river. Another day we visited Esquel and an Indian village, Nahuel Pan, learned about the legend of Gauchito Gil, had a picnic at Lago Rosario, and enjoyed our lovely camp. Our tent had a view of the Andes outside the flap, where we could sit and read, a full, private bathroom attached, and a comfortable bed. A small wood stove is lit during dinner to warm the tent. Meals are in the main tent, unless the guests are out of camp. The food was excellent and the wine was too. A highlight was an asada where dinner included a lamb cooked on a spit, Argentine style, shared with the staff and the neighbors down the road, who own the sheep and cooked the lamb. We all sat around a big table and had a wonderful evening. Whether we were sightseeing, or relaxing around camp, it was a very special vacation. Trey and Shelby are wonderful hosts and do everything they can to make their guests comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TutuTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2010

It was the perfect finish to my two week travels through northern patagonia...

As the previous post said, Trey and Shelby are wonderful hosts and masters at providing their guest with a "quaility experience." Rather than repeat what the previous post stated so well (as it's still a "spot on" review) I'm going to talk about the fishing.

Trey is an observant, talented, creative fishing guide and highly skilled "waterman" that can safely get you into places that few other people have the opportunity to fish. One of the pictures I attached is Trey holding a 28" brown trout that took a dry fly. He spotted the fish pushing baitfish up against a sheer cliff; it was like watching a "National Geographic special" as the fish slashed about. I cast a chernobyl ant against the rocks, there was a heart stopping "slow motion" take and the ensuing battle ended with me catching the largest trout I've ever taken on a dry.

Mix that with numerous fish in the 18"-20" range, throw in some class 3 white water, a great lunch with exactly the type of person you want to spend a day on the water with; end it with a hot shower, a great meal and conversation before walking under the milky way to your warm, spacious tent with it's comfortable bed and you have yourself a day at Campo Cielo Grande!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richrCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Despite many years of traveling in Patagonia, our stay at Campo Cielo Grande was our first experience in a real tent camp. We were in for many pleasant surprises.

Let’s start with the accommodations, which are very comfortable in a spacious tent on an elevated platform, nicely appointed with local furniture and decorative textiles, and with an American style queen bed (thick mattress). A wash basin and vanity are behind a partition with lavatory and hot-water shower in a freestanding enclosure at the rear of the tent. Oh yes, there is a small wood stove to warm tent on chilly mornings. With the tent flaps pulled back the view out across glassy Lago Rosario into the snow pocked Andes was out of a high-end travel magazine. A small deck at the front of the tent was perfect for reading, star-gazing or just taking in the grandeur of the distant Andes while plopped in a comfortable chair. The crystal clear lake is only a 5-minute walk from the tent and offered swimming before breakfast a refreshing dip in the evening.

Trey and Shelby were quintessential hosts conjuring up delicious dinners served on our tent deck. In typical Argentine style grill-roasted meats and poultry and fresh salads accompanied by wonderful Argentine wines recharged our batteries after a busy day out-and-about. A hardy breakfast arrived each morning on a tray. Their many years of experience in lodge operations at some of the best lodges in Patagonia and Wyoming have honed their hosting skills to a fine art. And, their considerable knowledge of the region provided us with daily activities such as horseback riding or daily exploratory excursions or fly fishing on some of Patagonia’s best trout rivers. They really can tailor the activities to one’s personal preferences. Both are so incredibly accomplished with horses and guiding that they make everything they do for you look easy.

If you are interested in really getting away the hustle and bustle of modern life, Campo Cielo Grande should be on your list when you come to Patagonia. It is an ideal spot to kick back and chill out, or to pursue with vigor riding or exploring in the Andean foothills or chasing big trout in famous Patagonian rivers. This rustic camp let’s you turn the hands of time back to when the first Welsh settlers came to the region 100 years ago, but with the creature comforts of today.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Castingabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trevelin hotels
0.0 mi away
Cabanas & Hosteria La Estancia
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Paihuen
Cabanas Paihuen
#16 of 22 in Trevelin
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Casa de Piedra
Hosteria Casa de Piedra
#1 of 4 in Trevelin
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Paz Patagonia
La Paz Patagonia
#1 of 22 in Trevelin
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Challhuaquen Lodge
Challhuaquen Lodge
#7 of 22 in Trevelin
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ruta 71
Ruta 71
#2 of 4 in Trevelin
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campo Cielo Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campo Cielo Grande

Property: Campo Cielo Grande
Address: Estancia Lago Rosario, Trevelin, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Trevelin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Trevelin
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing