We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all what we expected from reviews”
Review of Posada el Jardin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada el Jardin
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ticul
Chicago IL
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Not at all what we expected from reviews”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

First of all, Roman was not there when we stayed. Asked for him and the woman who was checking us in seemed to think there was not even anyone by that name associated with the property. We stayed in the King room shown in the pictures with the blue wall behind the bed. The room was filthy. I am not a clean-freak but there were over 2" of dirt on the fan blades of both ceiling fans and also on the beams visible in the bedroom. Mini-frig was good but had not been cleaned out. Bed sheets were clean but is mattress was awful. We have traveled in Mexico (and not just tourist parts) and this was by far the worst place we stayed, although not the cheapest. Soap in bathroom was not new in wrappers and had been used by other travelers. A/C did work very well. Additionally, travelers need to be aware Ticul is a market town. That means if it is not market day you will have a very hard time finding anywhere to eat.We arrived just as it was getting dark and ended up with no where but a small convenience type store to get some crackers, cheese and ham. By the time we we finally able to get the woman doing check-in to understand we were there for a reservation and get into the room (which took over 45 min as she kept going back into the office looking for keys and paperwork), it was dark. If it had been earlier, we would have left and gone somewhere else. As it was, we stayed one of our two days and left early. Garden and entire property looked as if it had been nice once but had fallen on very hard times. It is city center property and therefore not very restful from a noise perspective. Roosters from midnight on are not our idea of a nice rest. By comparison, we stayed in a much smaller town (Santa Elena) and were much happier with our accommodations) the next night.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondewithabrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    16
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were pleasantly surprised to find our room was more like a little house with 2 spacious rooms & the fridge is so handy.

The Garden is beautiful and all is well looked after. The pool is a treat & the family are so lovely, we had some great chats. Nice breakfast with good coffee.

Ticul is a great base for The Puuc Route & only one hour from Merida by collectivo!

Don't miss Uxmal!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fractalcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel was amazing value for money. The owner, Roman, was the perfect host. He was helpful & chatted to us about various things. The rooms are large and comfortable. The garden is charming. Included in the price was a lovely breakfast of fruit, sweet breads & coffee. You won't be disappointed with your stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickPJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here in Aug. 2013. Roman the owner was very helpful and helped us plan interesting places to see as well as where to eat. We had many interesting conversations about life in Mexico. Our kids (10 and 12) loved the pool and the room was very spacious. The mini fridge was a great bonus. There is so much to see around Ticul and it was a great homebase. We would definitely come back and stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Fasslers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

On first site from the road - I was slightly anxious when I saw this hotel. Driving into the courtyard, I wasn't reassured as we were greeted by a big pile of rubbish BUT although first impressions obviously do count, this is actually a very sweet place to stay. We wandered around looking for someone and finally found the delightful owner who welcomed us and led us through a charming garden past a lovely pool to our room. It's basic but clean and the AC is good plus it's very good value for money. The grounds are a little run down and with a bit of work this place would be very charming but the friendliness of the host makes up for it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evejackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I have far and away the best memories of the Yucatan in the day I spent with the owner of this b and b. Roman and his mother are kindness in itself. I did not stay with them as I had foolishly booked into Merida but I saw their charming house and bedroom. His mother gave me the best breakfast I had in Mexico and Roman drove me up to Uxmal. Throughout he was so kind and well mannered and, thankfully, with a great sense of humour. My Spanish does not exist and his english at the time of writing is ? but with sign language we managed. Still if anyone speaks Spanish it is a must to spend one or two nights here when travelling through the Yucatan.

Room Tip: I think they only have one double room so book as soon as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WidgeParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zacatecoluca, El Salvador
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed here while touring the Ruta Puuc and found it to be an excellent value. The room was less than $40.00 american, and had cable TV, AC, a ceiling fan, and two beds, both of which were reasonably comfortable. The room rate includes pan dulce and coffee in the morning. The host, Roman, took us swimming in a cenote and a tour of two more cenotes as well as a fascinating abandoned hacienda from the colonial period. The AC was awesome - in fact, we got cold and had to turn it off. Everything was acceptably clean, and there was plenty of hot water. There is a pool, and a beautiful garden setting with interesting strangle trees. Both the Ruta Puuc adn Uxmal were conviently close and there is secure parking on the grounds. We will definitely stay here the next time we come to Yucatan!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ticul
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#2 of 2 in Ticul
25 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel Uxmal Resort Maya
10.4 mi away
Hotel Puuc
Hotel Puuc
#1 of 1 in Oxkutzcab
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
24.2 mi away
Ko’ox Na’Lu’um Eco Hotel
15.1 mi away
The Lodge at Uxmal
The Lodge at Uxmal
#2 of 3 in Uxmal
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada el Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada el Jardin

Property: Posada el Jardin
Address: Calle 27 #216 (entre 28 y 30) centro, Ticul, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Ticul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ticul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit us before stay.The best service in Ticul, naturally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Posada el Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing