We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location quiet area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dooey Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glencolmcille
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dooey Hostel
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location quiet area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I were looking for a place to hang our hat for a couple of days on our 3 week journey in Ireland and this was a welcome retreat. It was a quiet time as the busy seasons has passed (we traveled in sept), each room had its own little kitchen area and bathroom. The appliances are dated but work fine, some may not fine the place as clean as they would like but we had no problems with that. Mary was a delight very accommodating and personality plus .....she really made our stay brilliant. The beach is right down the hill and I even took a dip in the ocean. At 15 euro a night it was a steal in my book.... we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We’ve discovered here we were slowly going direction “Mature couple”. As much as we liked the incredible stone construction, with beautiful hallways, the incredible scenery and the so welcoming and warm contact with Mary, we had difficulties with quite a bit of lack of cleanliness (Well, Mary told us she felt lazy that day…). That woman is so full of warmth and humor, that you can’t do much, just live it through. But as beautiful as it was, we left the next day. Still, to any of our grown kids, we would immediately recommend this piece of post 1968 value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iledujour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Great location, all rooms with views. Communal room was very nice and relaxing. Full facilities available. Beds were excellent - very clean and we slept well. Mary is FABULOUS. Nothing was too much trouble for either Mary or Leo. Best hospitality we have experienced.

Room Tip: Although the rooms are old is there is a great atmosphere in this Hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-ingTracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

The most atmospheric hostel in Ireland. It's old style, okay. But for people, who want a very special place to stay there is no better place they could find. It is one of the last reall hostels with hostel owners, who doesn't see there hostel to make money with but to help their guests to relax and to forget the hectic world outside. For people who want a unsophisticated accomodation this place is nothing. But for people who like to find contact to other guests and also moments of great silence, this is unbeatable. You never will a similar place with this mixture.

Room Tip: The 4-bed-room at the end of the floor above on the right has a great view and it's quite roomy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_rgen_K122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balbriggan, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

The view you wake up to in the morning is amazing. The hostel is cleverly built to blend with the landscape. There are bed options or if you have a tent you can pitch outside. It is low cost. You should enjoy the conversation with the owners if you can't meet other guests:)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garrett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

I loved staying in Dooey Hostel, the views from the rooms are outstanding, the facilities are good, kithcen and bathroom in each room, the beds are comfortable and warm. The best thing about this place is Mary. It's worth the trip just to meet her. You'll definitely enjoy your stay

Room Tip: Go for the 8 bed dorm, the views are the best, the craic is mighty, and the kitchen cooker heats the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tp k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

This is definitely one of my favourite hostels in Ireland, or anywhere in the world for that matter! The location is stunning, great for walkers and hikers, and plenty of space for children to run around and go on adventures.

The facilities are basic but ample: each of the 8-bed dorms has its own kitchenette, shower and toilet, while the smaller private dorms upstairs share bathroom and kitchen facilities. Leo can be seen cleaning and mopping all through the day, so you can be assured that everything is clean regardless of the old and slightly worn feel to the building - and the age of the building does add to it's charm!

There is a large and comfortable common room with a stereo and a selection of Irish CDs, a TV (although I never once saw anyone watch tv in the week I stayed here!), a small library, and even a couple of musical instruments waiting to be played. In is in the common room that you will often find traditional music sessions or sing songs going long into the night!

I would recommend the 8 bed dorms for a good quiet night's sleep, as the smaller rooms are located right next to the common room and can be a little noisy at night. The beds are very comfy and the sounds of the sea below will sooth you off to sleep.

The definite highlight of your stay in Dooey Hostel will you be your interactions with Mary and Leo. This mother and son team who run the hostel epitomise the reputation of the Irish as the most welcoming people in the world, and the people of rural donegal are surely Ireland's greatest ambassadors with the genuine "make yourself at home" atmosphere that they create.
Warm, entertaining, and a great conversationalist, Leo will go out of his way to make sure you feel at home and anything you ask of him is never too much trouble.
Mary is like a one-woman comedy show. It is impossible to guess her age as; while she is well passed retirement age, she is as fit as a fiddle and has the mischievous character of a schoolgirl. She is characterised by the glint in the eye, her wry smile and knockout tongue-in-cheek sense of humour, not to forget her wild-as-the-heathers hairdo, which she refers to as "my auld fekan' dreadlocks!" She is kind of lovingly eccentric granny we all dream of having, and no doubt throughout her stay she will refer to you as "a pháistí" (my dear children).

I will definitley be back to stay at Dooey Hostel

Room Tip: For a quiet night's sleep opt for a bed in one of the 8 bed dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeniba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencolmcille
12.9 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
1.4 mi away
Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
#1 of 4 in Glencolmcille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
3.1 mi away
Malinbeg Hostel
Malinbeg Hostel
#1 of 3 in Glencolmcille
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Slieve League Lodge
Slieve League Lodge
#1 of 5 in Carrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
6.3 mi away
Slieve League House Bed & Breakfast
46.7 mi away
Ionad Siuil Luxury Accommodation
Ionad Siuil Luxury Accommodation
#2 of 3 in Glencolmcille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooey Hostel

Property: Dooey Hostel
Address: Glencolmcille, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Glencolmcille
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Glencolmcille
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Dooey Hostel Glencolmcille, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing