We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house set in beautiful surroundings.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of An Scrin

Sliabh Liag.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sliabh Liag.
An Scrin. Salmon Leap..
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Sliabh Liag.
An Scrin.
Salmon Leap..
Sitting room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Utility with washing machine and dryer
Bathroom upstairs
Double bedroom upstairs
Bathroom
Bathroom
Double bedroom upstairs
View from upstairs
Single bedroom upstairs
Bathroom downstairs
Shower downstairs
Sunset in Teelin
Sliabh Liag
Views of Teelin Bay
Sliabh Liag
Views of Kilcar
Sliabh Liag
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Glencolmcille, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Julia M
Lisburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful house set in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed 22 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at An Scrin as an extended family over the New Year period. The house is very clean and well furnished. The kitchen is particularly inviting and was easily able to accommodate our party of 10.
We arrived during a period of very bad weather which resulted in a power cut. Despite this slight set back we were still able to enjoy our stay and the owners, Tania and Martin couldn't have been more helpful during this time.
"The Rusty Mackerel Pub", which is right next door, was the perfect place to bring in the New Year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
Glad to see a nice review and such a pity that there was a power outage during your stay. We hope that this will not put you off returning to teelin. Thanks for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrequentF...
2 reviews
“Fantastic House”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a fantastic house. We encamp as a family every year to Donegal and have stayed in some beautiful houses. This is however by far the nicest house we have stayed in. The house is lovely and modern and spotlessly clean. With the bay to the front and the mountains behind, there is a fabulous view from nearly every window. All you need is included...dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer. Even better, walk out the back door and 15 seconds later you are in The Rusty Mackeral Pub. The kids insisted on going to the pub each evening for the Wifi, not that I was complaining. Don't miss the trad music session every Sunday from 4pm. Also a big shout out to Paddy (and Kevin) and his boat trips from the pier. We had 6 children with us and Paddy organised Kevin to take us out for some fishing at the foot of the cliffs. The kids had a ball, all got a chance to steer the boat, and all caught fish (14 Mackeral for tea that evening). Extremely reasonable as well. All in all a fantastic week, so a big thank you to Tania and her lovely house. My only reservation about telling everyone is that I might not get booked for next year!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2015
Thanks for your kind review. I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed Teelin. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Tania
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful beautifully kept house and would come back again and again.”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Hi Tania thank you so much for having us at your beautiful house. The house is well kept clean and very spacious. There were 8 adults 2 children 1 baby and there was room for all of us and we were not falling over one another's feet. The whole family said they would be back. We were lucky to have such good weather and to go for drives along the coast. We went for a peaceful break and that's what we got. We ran out of milk one morning and my nephew went to the shop and it was very early so he was not sure it was open so he seen a couple walking there dog and asked if the shop would be open they said if it was not they would give us milk till later in the day. On his way back from the shop the couple were waiting with milk for us so what more can I say. Brilliant holiday and we will be back thank you so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2015
Thank-you so much for the kind review. Delighted that the weather was perfect for your visit. We hope to see you and and your family again sometime. Once again, thank-you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amckenna8...
Dungannon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

First class accommodation at the foot of slieve league cliffs which are majestic !
The pub in your doorstep wasn't half bad either great music sessions on sat and sunday!
Highly recommend .

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thanks for your great review. Hope we will see you all again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
555Andrea...
County Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent accommodation, spacious with all the mod cons and friendly service”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I and our 5 children are regular visitors to Donegal but would say without doubt that this was the most impressed we have ever been with our choice of self catering accommodation.

The property itself is situated in Teelin a beautiful place just outside Carrick and is sited with lovely views across Teelin Bay looking across to Kilcar. It is literally feet away from the renowned Rusty pub with its welcoming staff and both live bands and trad sessions each week. It is within walking distance of Teelin pier where Paddy the friendly skipper from Sliabh Liag boat trips will welcome you aboard to sail around the gorgeous coast beneath the cliffs, provide commentary on the area and give the kids turns to steer the boat. It is a short walk also to Ti Linn cafe and crafts and the perfect base to explore the majestic cliffs at Bunglas, the many sandy beaches, the lovely villages/towns of Carrick, Kilcar, Killybegs, Glencolmcille and its folk village or a drive along the river Glen, known for its salmon and trout fishing and through the valley of Glengesh Pass to Ardara.

The house "An Scrin" is a new build with a very high standard finish. It is immaculate and on entering gives the feeling that you are the first people to ever use it ! The huge kitchen/dining area it ideal for big families like ours and with 4 double and 2 single bedrooms there is loads of space. There is a bathroom and en-suite downstairs and a further shower room/toilet upstairs and neither would look out of place in a classy hotel. Every detail has been thought of in this house, hair driers, iron, an abundance of towels, washer & drier - everything. The front garden is great for the children to play in too.

Tania the owner, greets you with a smile and gives the genuine assurance that if you are in need of anything, she is just a phonecall away. I have no doubt that we will stay here again and would highly recommend others to do so. First Class !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: I have no dislikes it was perfect
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thanks for your great review. Hope we will see you all again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vapanther...
VA
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Perfect and Kid-friendly”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We just spent 8 days in this beautiful, clean, and spacious house. With two young children (5 &2) we loved that the house was totally uncluttered, spacious, clean and had plenty of room for storage. We loved the lack of knick-knacks (which as a parent meant I didn’t need to worry about my little ones tossing ceramic ducks or the like across the room).
Our host Tania was gracious and flexible. Being American we had to phone for a few tips on how to use appliances etc.. and were always welcome. Tania was helpful, free with advice and came by when needed.
We cooked nearly all our meals here and felt the kitchen fully met our needs. The kitchen has all appliances (modern and work well), lots of counter space, and all the basics needed for cooking (ample dishes and silverware, a few sharp knives, spatulas etc…), a fry pan, several pots, a few baking dishes. Some things that this house offers that are not common in many of the others in this area are: a dishwasher, a washing machine, a dryer and electric is included in the overall price.
Kid friendly: Offers a baby gate for the stairs, highchair and a travel cot (pack-n-play) for a baby. Few sharp edges and no knick-knacks to worry about.
Pub nearby – quiet, no problem

We loved our stay and hope to return to the same house next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is amazing as is the location (at the foot of Sliabh Liag)
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2014
Thanks for your kind words and its so lovely to get a nice review. I am so happy you and your family stayed with us and hopefully the next time you are in Teelin, you will call again.

Best wishes

Tania

Sliabh Liag Holiday Accommodation
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbm1958
Coleraine, United Kingdom
1 review
“This new modern house is perfect in every way with views of mountains sea and beaches”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Was is Teelin last year and decided to go back as I fell in love with the area. Tanya and Martin have an amazing new house, the best I have ever rented. The house was equipped with everything needed for a holiday in Donegal. All the bedrooms were bright very spacious and clean. Plenty of bathrooms so no waiting around for showers etc. Cannot fault this accommodation in any way. Tanya and Martin both called to ensure we had everything we needed. We went on a boat tour of the cliffs with Paddy at the harbour. Do not leave Teelin without taking the time to so this. A boat trip not to be missed. The local has plenty of traditional music and a very welcoming open fire if the weather gets a bit damp. If you go to this beautiful area of Ireland and can book this house do so with confidence as I will definitely go back. You can have as an active or relaxing break you want from this location as the area has so much to offer everyone. Thanks Tanya and Martin.
Janet, Jamie, Sheree, Martin, Rhonda and Megan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was perfect
Liked least: some people might want wi fi but we were happy without it . We were able to hold conversations without internet etc taking over our time together. Great for those addicted to their i phones.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2014
Janet anf family

Thank you for your kind review. Its so nice to hear people enjoy the property. I hope you will call again and maybe next time i will get to meet you in person

Kind regards

Tania Byrne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing