We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50/ 50 good and bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Atenea Aventura
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vila Seca
Essex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“50/ 50 good and bad experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

All the below information said; it is in stark contrast to the rest of our hotel experience which was excellent. The reception staff were extremely polite and helpful and the food and restaurant staff exceeded our expectation. If you drive then this is somewhere to base yourself whilst you go out on trips etc or just for somewhere to sit and do little however if you want everything within reach and you have young children to keep entertained then this is not your hotel.

Upon arrival at the Atenea Aventura Aparthotel September 02, 2012 we did experienced a problem with the cleanliness which was not up to our experience of other four star accommodation. The room smelt strongly of old tobacco smoke and dust, the carpet had clearly not been vacuumed in some time and was stained with ash etc. We raised our concerns with the reception staff who offered the possibility of another two rooms. One on the same cost basis and one that was classed as an apartment but normally cost an extra 45E a night however they would make a reduced rate if we chose that one. We were supplied the keys to view these rooms on our own.
The second room also smelt of tobacco and dust but not quite as strongly and the apartment was exactly the same, so we went back to reception and informed them of our opinion however we would take the second choice. It would not have been worth us paying extra money for an apartment whose space we did not require when it really wasn’t much better that the other rooms as far as cleanliness was concerned.
Once we had taken our luggage to the new room we looked to settling in; however the safe did not work as someone had taken out a couple of the batteries. We knew we would be hot so decided to strip down the bed, take off the blanket, un- tucked the sheets etc. so even if we were late back it would be ready for us however it had lumps in the bedding so we decided to remake them and when we pulled back the sheets we found hair in them. Not just one stray hair and not at the head of the bed. Once again we went to reception and requested that housekeeping re make the beds with clean linen and put batteries in the safe. It may be useful to add that the reason for the lumps was due to ill fitting (and in our opinion ill advised) plastic mattress covers. The kind used on a potty training aged Childs bed.
As it was a Sunday late afternoon there was no housekeeping so the receptionist asked us to take the apartment at no extra cost as more room choice would be available tomorrow. We complied and left our clothes in the suitcases not knowing when we would have to change rooms again.
We had no feedback and it became clear after a couple of days that we would be remaining in that room. We made our own beds in the morning out of habit and again out of habit plumped the Boudoir cushion only to be engulfed in a stinky cloud of old dust. We used the spare blankets to soften the loungers on the balcony and found that they too were in desperate need of cleaning.
We also found one and a half bottles of water in the fridge which we though may have been left by its previous occupants however days later we saw these on the cleaner trolleys so we believed they should have been complimentary.
On the Monday we spotted housekeeping staff about other floors although mostly their trolleys and we clearly found what looked like fresh towels and the room had been sprayed with an air freshener but the carpet had not been vacuumed and there had been no polishing. The toilet pan had not seen a brush in some time and none were provided for personal use. Tuesday was much the same.
On the Wednesday afternoon, we happened to be reading on the balcony and housekeeping (a new person) came in and vacuumed, changed towels, cleaned the bathroom etc. We had already made our beds it was after all the afternoon. From that point onwards housekeeping took care of the room; we were even supplied with new soap at the sink. The items of rubbish / fluff we had been monitoring in the hallways was also cleaned away.
It is our opinion that housekeeping had remained un- monitored for some considerable time and this actually let the hotel down which is extremely unfortunate and a great disappointment to us.
The hotel needs to have the bedroom carpets and soft furnishings cleaned or renewed to retain a four star merit. It would appear that when the issue was brought to their attention something did change and I really hope that they will continue in that vein as it has such great possibilities.
We are not posh or snobs and one of the party is a smokers so nothing has informed the write up but fact.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdcessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    324
    148
    33
    16
See reviews for
257
293
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Visited for a long weekend with a group of friends for a stag weekend the hotel was clean,rooms cleaned daily very few English people stayed in the few days we were their the pool area was ok nothing goes on nice and quiet to chill out the bar is very reasonable priced for drinks never tried the food,the local area is very quiet nothing to do or places to eat out to cater for English so need to go into salou a taxi ride costs about 12 euros with plenty to do their the people on reception and behind the bar speak ok English and always happy to help on all the hotel is like a better travelodge

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

The hotel is not in my opinion a 4 star luxury hotel.The quality and variety of the food at the restaurant is very poor, they only serve menus (one appetizer, one main, one dessert in a choice of four) at 10 euros. They don't have decent vegetarian options.Some of the rooms are very hot and not even the air conditioning is able to cool. The internet connection in the room is only with a cable and anyway it didn't work for 80% of the time we spent there. The moquette was dirty and the rooms were not very well cleaned. In both rooms (ours and our childrens') at the third floor we found ants!! The swimming pool is very small. The gym consists of just an old, broken bike and a bench in the corridor that takes to the indoor pool. The sauna is for 2 people maximum.
The only advantage is that this hotel is close to Port Aventura, easy to reach by car in 5 minutes.
I appreciated its round architecture, very original, and the indoor whirlpool allows some relax.
The cleaning ladies were very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Giovanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

For the first time through past 3 years of travelling I was totally unsatisfied by room cleanliness. Long black hairs in the bathroom, on the bed upon arrival...Rather worn grey coloured (instead of white) towels...Spots on the carpet...Unpleasant breakfast...Bad smell all around from Tarragona chemical plant (((
The only advantage if you travel by car - good location for stopover or Reus/Port Aventura one-day visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donya87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Location was great, was in a quiet area with local resturants and a supermarket.
Staff were friendly and very helpful.
The hotel room was clean and spacious enough & a nice outside pool.

To get to Salou is only a 10min drive which does not cost much atall to get there by taxi, we called down to reception to book a taxi & the taxi would be outside within 5minutes (but don't make the taxi wait as ull b charged more) the taxi to Salou was around £10-15euro one way depending how fast the taxi driver was driving & splitting it between 3 of us worked out great, getting a taxi back from Salou at late hours in the morning again was easy, plenty of taxi ranks..
Again no problem getting a taxi to Port Aventura park £6-7euro one way and only 5min drive away so you could walk if you wanted in the heat..

Overall the hotel & location was great no problems with this holiday, enjoyed by all three of us.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lc2y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We arrived on a Sunday night via Ryanair into Reus. Got a taxi outside for €25 - which is very steep considering it takes no more than ten minutes! But - there you go.

Arrived to the hotel at approx 10:30pm - receptionist was very nice & cheerful, gave us all the information we needed about the restaurant/pool/spa etc.
We were in room 604 - which was an end room on the 6th floor. We were near the lifts, which worried me a little, but it turned out to not be a problem for us personally (it wasn't too busy on floor 6!).

The room was lovely - very clean, well equipped and modern. I would liken it to a posher version of a Holiday Inn type room (but a nice one!). Had a lovely bathroom with hairdryer. Only issue with the bathroom is the shower screen is too short & the water goes over the floor, but not a major issue of course!
Ours was a standard room, so i imagine the superior rooms are even nicer.
The TV - as others have mentioned - didn't have any English channels. Whilst this isn't an issue, as you don't come on holiday to watch tv - we easily remedied it by re-tuning the freeview channels & up popped BBC World News. Nothing exciting - but ok to have on in the background whilst you're getting ready!
Air-con worked a treat. Our safe worked fine & did so all week, no probs there at all.

Breakfast was ok - but as previous people have said, it does get a little boring after a few days, but is enough to fill you up for the morning. We did not get asked once though for our room number - so anyone could have gone in there i imagine ??

Pool area was lovely - nice & quiet, very peaceful.

Vila-Seca, for us, was perfect. Yes it's Spanish & residential - but come on people - you're in Spain!! We were much happier being there than in some touristy place with your typical loud/drunk/half-naked holidaymaker about! Nothing was in English, but again - you're in Spain!

We ate a couple of times in the Mombassa Cafe across the road. Food was very nice & very reasonable we thought.
I don't understand the comments of people who say there is nothing around?? There are dozens of cafes, bars & restaurants. Also plenty of shops. No problem there.

Bus service to Salou was extremely hit & miss! One day we waited over an hour at the bus stop! It's the number 55 bus you need & costs €1.50 each. We walked a few times into Salou. It is a fair way - approx 4.5km, but if you take a slow walk, it's not that bad. Salou was not really for us - it was ok, but just not our taste.

Went to Port Aventura one day. Was HEAVING during the day - busting at the seams & roasting hot - so we left & went back at about 8pm. Much quieter & much cooler - i would recommend that to anyone!

We loved our trip & stay here - would definitely return here. If you're after a nice hotel, in a quieter area, but still quite close to the 'main' bit - i would recommend this for sure.

Negatives...????? Only thing i can think of - pillows were a bit wafty, oh & some of the other people at the hotel were very inconsiderate with the door slamming, but that isn't the hotels fault!

Can't wait to go back soon :o)

Room Tip: Rooms on upper levels probably have a nicer view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Just a quick warning, this is going to be a VERY Detailed review so skip now if its not what your after...

First of all we booked this holiday as a girly holiday mainly for Port Aventura, so we thought this would be a perfect location. We flew to Reus Airport with Ryan Air, this was good we didnt have any trouble there what so ever, i was abit worried about getting a taxi because i wasnt sure how far the airport was from the hotel (Just knew it was closer than Barcelona International) we collected our bag and left the airport and i was glad to find people helping everyone out with the taxi's. We was told it would be £25 and told to get into the taxi, i thought this wasnt too bad only because i thought it would be at least half an hour away...no...not the case we timed it (Yes thats true) about 7 minutes!!!?!

Ok so we arrived at the hotel this was at about 8:30pm and checked in no problem, the staff were really nice. We then got to our room 212 to find that the safe was broken! (It kept saying 'Blocked') so we went down and let the receptionist know she said she would get someone to look at it the next day...whilst we was down there we planned on doing a day trip to barcelona the next day so we asked for some details about how we get there and what we needed to do.

The next day we got up early ready for breakfast and our trip, we got breakfast included there was (as far as i can remember) cereals, mini chocolate croissants, plain croissants, chocolate orange marble cake, ham, cheese & tomato sauce rolls, bread & toaster, jams & chocolate spread, grilled tomatos, a range of meats and fruit, this was nice for the first couple of days but after eating the same things day after day you do not want to eat another croissant ever again! We wanted to get the 9:15 bus and we had left plenty of time to get it...by this time noone had come up about the safe so we thought instead of carrying our stuff round we could give it to reception to look after and they could get it fixed whilst we was out...Sounds pretty reasonable right? No they would not look after it for us!. The lady said she could get someone to do it now for us, right as we are about to leave..ok if she could fix it we could still make our bus, she tried and tried and it still wasnt working, the only other option was that we move rooms or wait untill 11 for someone who knew what they were doing could fix it. needless to say we missed our bus and wasnt very happy about it, then to make things worse they was going to move us to room 402 which was right opposite the elevator which was going constantly throughout the night. we said no so they then changed us to room 411 which was basically the same just the bathroom was set out differently, the safe was locked when we went in and they was trying to blame us and telling us to put 6 numbers in rather than 4 (which it says on the instructions) so they then had to unlock it again! nightmare.

We somehow managed to make the 10:30 bus to Salou (bus stop was located to the left of the main entrance to the hotel & on the opposite side of the road very easy you cant miss it) the buses are run on a timetable with about 10 different times during the day, so you need to make sure you get back for the last bus! When you get the bus to Salou you will need to get off at the last stop which is only about 10 mins away from the hotel and there is clear directions to the train station from there.

We get to the train station at about 10:45am and get our tickets (2 return tickets to barcelona 30 Euros) only to find out the next train want untill 11:40am...This day could not get any better. The trian finally came and it took us 2 hours to get there, then you have to take into consideration the train times back & allow 2 hours to get to Salou and make sure you get back intime for a bus back to the hotel i dont think it was worth it.

The area is VERY residential and we didnt feel to welcome to be honest, the supermarkets were not open on sundays, we didnt have any food so we asked at the hotel bar if they had an english menu we was told no? WHAT?! so we asked at main desk, the lady fiddled with her computer for a while and she said no aswell. so i walked over the road to the right to find a restraunt there i walked in the place was silent and i asked if they had a menu in english and the rude woman said no we only have a spanish menu. i could not believe our luck! then as i walked back into the hotel the receptionist had located an english menu! Thank god we could eat!!! WRONG! when the man handed us the menu he let us know that the restaurant was fully booked. all i can say is thank god for the vending machine.

As for Port Aventura the only bus you can get there is 10am which we found is a load of rubbish because its way to hot during the day, plus its open until 12 midnight so we found going during the evenings was much better, the only bad point is that we had to walk there & back if we wanted to leave after 10! it was tough im not going to lie, we are not unhealthy either we go to the gym everyday! it was about 30/40 mins walk then you walk around the park for hours then knowing you have to walk back again at midnight when there is only 2 of you? that was a killer.

Over all the hotel was clean, staff were helpful but it was noisy (the room doors were slamming all night, plus the inconsiderate people staying there & the lifts) and the all the menu's where the same, no change what so ever, the evening menu had about 4 things each for starters, main and dinner and not one thing changed during the 5 days we where there so if i was staying for a couple of weeks i would not be happy! The pool & spa pool were actually pretty good. I would not rate this as 4* even though they got alot of things right, they got more things wrong. Having a car would be a different story, much more convenient but after all that i still would not stay there again.

The reason i wrote so much was because i wanted to know all this info about this hotel before i went so hopefully someone will find it helpful if they are planning on going.

Room Tip: Higher floor & away from the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WilsonReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Seca
1.8 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#20 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
3.2 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
2.3 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#12 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#6 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.0 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
5.0 mi away
TRYP Port Cambrils
TRYP Port Cambrils
#5 of 33 in Cambrils
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Atenea Aventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Atenea Aventura

Property: Mercure Atenea Aventura
Address: C/ Ramon d'Olzina 52, 43480 Vila Seca, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Vila Seca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vila Seca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Atenea Aventura 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Atenea Aventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Atenea Aventura Hotel Vila Seca
Aparthotel Atenea Aventura Vila Seca
Mercure Atenea Aventura Costa Dorada, Spain - Vila Seca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing