We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good times in Valledupar :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Provincia Hostal Valledupar
GreenLeadersSilver level
Banská Bystrica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good times in Valledupar :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Ive found this Hostel-Provincia in march 2010 and was it a good choice for a sleeping there:) Good location near a centre,excellent accomodation including internet,perfect friendly staff.Everytime you ll visit a Valledupar,you can find them and to sleep there.Good choice,good price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank latinobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvalledupar, Gerente at Provincia Hostal Valledupar, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and recommendations, we hope to return soon. Thanks for letting us make your stay an unforgettable experience. Thanks again for choosing Provincia Hostel as your choice of accommodation in Valledupar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    34
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
27
30
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I haven't stayed in many better hostels than Hostal Provincia, it's very clean, the location is great and the layout of the place is beautiful.

Service was good, although I don't think they spoke English (not sure though as I didn't try).

Hostal Provincia isn't the cheapest hostel in town, but it's easily the best.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SeeColombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvalledupar, Gerente at Provincia Hostal Valledupar, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and recommendations, we hope to return soon.
Thanks for letting us make your stay an unforgettable experience. Thanks again for choosing Provincia Hostel as your choice of accommodation in Valledupar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We had a fantastic time in Valledupar, Provincia hostel is amazing place, clean and friendly; the staff is really kind and they willing to help you get know the local people, music and the magnificent natural places that surrounding the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2012pallud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvalledupar, Gerente at Provincia Hostal Valledupar, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and recommendations, we hope to return soon.
Thanks for letting us make your stay an unforgettable experience. Thanks again for choosing Provincia Hostel as your choice of accommodation in Valledupar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Valledupar is a great city with nice places you can visit and the Provinica Hostal is the perfect place to spend some days...or weeks... or months..:-) there. The Hostal has everything you need, the service is perfect and the rooms are comfortable and clean. Over all the owners of the Hostal are very good people !!!! They are very helpful and they realy make you feel like beeing at home. If you want they show you the city and if your interested in going out you can be sure that you can join them and they will invite you for a shot of Aguardiente...:-)

Don't miss this Hostal and this city if your travelling in Colombia !!! -> Valledupar - the city of Vallenato !!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvalledupar, Gerente at Provincia Hostal Valledupar, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and recommendations, we hope to return soon.
Thanks for letting us make your stay an unforgettable experience. Thanks again for choosing Provincia Hostel as your choice of accommodation in Valledupar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in Provincia during a random trip to Valledupar. No idea why this town isn't in the guide books but it is absolutely amazing and this hostel was a welcome surprise.Provincia is a family-owned, operated, and lived in space. The entire family is incredible. They make you feel part of the house. Almost everyone speaks English if that is important to you but to really get the full experience of Valledupar a basic command of Spanish is helpful. The hostel is spotless, the rooms large and colourful, the kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need to cook a feast. The hostel is located right next to the picturesque main square, so you can't beat the location. We only planned to stay for 1 or 2 days we ended up staying for 5 and only left because we had to go study Spanish. The only criticisms I had, were that our room could get a bit stuffy at night because there are no windows to the outside but on the other hand they do have a nice fan and they just installed air conditioning so its not really a bother. If you're a light sleeper and people stay up late socializing it could be a bit loud, but that's to be expected in a hostel... Valledupar is not a crazy party place anyway so we didn't have any problems sleeping. I would strongly recommend to anyone to visit Valledupar and stay here in Hostel Provincia. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank coconutfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvalledupar, Gerente at Provincia Hostal Valledupar, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and recommendations, we hope to return soon.
Thanks for letting us make your stay an unforgettable experience. Thanks again for choosing Provincia Hostel as your choice of accommodation in Valledupar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

We arrived here after a long trip down from the Guajira Peninsula and it was just what we were looking for. Clean and cheerful, there was a BBQ that night in Provincia and some of the locals came along allowing us to chat and get to know Valledupar. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable, the hostel itself is a goldmine for information about the city and Colombia. My only regret, to not have stayed longer. Provincia makes for an excellent place either en route to or from the Guajira, on to Santa Marta and as a different as yet undiscovered corner here in Colombia.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LCAMompos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvalledupar, Gerente at Provincia Hostal Valledupar, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and recommendations, we hope to return soon.
Thanks for letting us make your stay an unforgettable experience. Thanks again for choosing Provincia Hostel as your choice of accommodation in Valledupar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valledupar
0.7 mi away
Hotel Valledupar Plaza
Hotel Valledupar Plaza
#7 of 11 in Valledupar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
2.1 mi away
Colombia Real Santa Marta
Colombia Real Santa Marta
#63 of 68 in Santa Marta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Valledupar
Sonesta Hotel Valledupar
#1 of 11 in Valledupar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arawak Upar
Hotel Arawak Upar
#8 of 11 in Valledupar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Valledupar
Hampton by Hilton Valledupar
#2 of 11 in Valledupar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kurakata
Hotel Kurakata
#10 of 11 in Valledupar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Provincia Hostal Valledupar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Provincia Hostal Valledupar

Property: Provincia Hostal Valledupar
Address: Calle 16a 5-25, Valledupar 200001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Cesar Department > Valledupar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Valledupar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Provincia Hostal Valledupar 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Provincia Hostel is a lovely, homely, backpacker hostel in the beautiful city of Valledupar, is a hostel with the warmth of home.Provincia Hostel has five comfortable and nicely decorated private rooms with bathroom, TV, air conditioning or fan and 22 dorm beds available. This comfortable hostel has all the facilities you could hope for including a fully equipped self-catering kitchen with free coffee available all day, bag Storage, courtyard, some great social areas with a barbeque, hammocks, strewn garden, a sociable dining area, book exchange, free internet and WIFI connection available for guest use. There's also cable TV with a large DVD collection in the lounge area, air conditioning or fan in rooms, several bicycles free for rent and a Plenty of information is available on what to do locally and the staff will happily advise you on day trips, activities and tours from Valledupar as well as hostels and places to visit all across the country.The hostel has become a popular stop for backpackers not only for its friendly welcome and great facilities but as a base for exploring Northern Colombia. Located in a beautiful city, this is the perfect place for relaxing. We have a wonderful, friendly, and clean hostel. The nice and quiet atmosphere will truly make you feel at home. You will find a calm, clean and inexpensive hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Provincia Hostal Valledupar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing