We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a discovery, what a fantastic surprise!!!”
Review of Tarraleah Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tarraleah Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a discovery, what a fantastic surprise!!!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

No signage, no advertising, just a small road leading into a small place that the average traveler would have hardly ever heard of. We expected an old run down caravan park with close to nothing facilities. Instead we found ourselves in a pretty, clean and tidy township with well maintained gardens and really inviting buildings. What a range of choices for accommodation!
Stay in the lodge if you are after real luxury. The variety of Cognacs and the Scotch collection on offer would probably beat most places in the whole of Tasmania.
Stay in one of the several spacious beautifully restored 3-4 bedroom self contained cottages.
Or if you are only visiting for a day and just need a place to crash you may want to stay in the scholars building where we stayed. Very comfortable, newly appointed, top value for money, with a bedroom for the 2 kids (18 & 16), a small but comfy lounge, plus a bathroom downstairs and a queen-size bed upstairs on the mezzanine. A huge commercial style and size kitchen caters for everyone staying at the Scholars Building.
Or there is also a caravan park if that is what takes your fancy.
The food the service and the atmosphere at the Highlander Arms was second to none. The staff is friendly and helpful with real local knowledge.
WE LOVED THIS PLACE, recommend it to everyone who visits Tasmania. We will return and stay in the lodge or in one of the cottages next time!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    18
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
17
94
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent 3 nights at Tarraleah Lodge recently and found an oasis.If you are seeking a place that is loud,busy,full of runaway children do not come here.If you want solitude with the option to fish,kayak,read,bike,golf,bushwalk in great surroundings this is the place to come to.

Room Tip: Lodge room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbgser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

After a week in the western wilderness of Tassie we needed somewhere comfortable and dry to spend the night. We were looking for luxury and Tarraleah Lodge delivered! We booked a lodge room for $310 which included breakfast at the cafe. We checked in at 2:30, had a look around the lodge library and then headed to the cliff top spa. We were very pleased to hear that it is complimentary to lodge guests and we booked an hour to use the spa exclusively. An hour is probably a bit too much as we were out within 30 minutes, but it was nice to rest our aching bodies in the hot water. Unfortunately the weather was terrible and we didn't have much of a view. I imagine it would be fantastic on a clear day.
We booked dinner at the Highland restaurant and we were very pleased with the experience. They have a good wine list (the pinot gris from Stefano Libiana was fantastic) featuring lots of Tasmanian wines. I ordered the beef cheek ragout with gnocchi for entree and I could have licked the plate, it was that good. My husband ordered the salted pork and pea croquettes and was equally impressed.
For mains we had the chicken roulade and beef fillet and they were delicious too. The meals came out very quickly and we were finished within an hour and a half, which was good because I was cold sitting near the doorway.
Not a good place to eat if you're after a romantic dinner - it adjoins the bar and there were 2 families with very small and noisy children, but the atmosphere was good and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Overall a great dining experience.

The accommodation at The Lodge was fantastic, my only regret is I went to bed before I could soak in the spa in our en suite bathroom. Next time...

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WednesdayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Tarraleah lodge has beautiful, well decorated, spacious rooms. The service at the Highlander Arms and by the staff working at reception was above and beyond. The complimentary use of the clifftop spa was a nice addition and the massage was a nice way to finish off a long day in the car. I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMcCarthy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Fantastic getaway for kid-free folks! There are plenty of houses to rent nearby for families but the Lodge is a child-free zone - and wow, was that a sheer (and oh-so-relaxing) delight.

We stayed for 2 nights at the amazing Tarraleah Lodge and I'm sad to say it may have ruined me for lesser places now.

The suite was huge and luxurious - full king-size very comfortable bed (latex/Tempur maybe?) waterfall shower and separate full-size bath with spa jets in the bathroom. The lounge and bedroom both had French doors to the outside. The room was only a few metres from the edge of a cliff, so the view out to the mountain was, as you'd imagine, fabulous. I am generally scared of heights but given that the barrier wall was about 4' high and made of thick stone, even I could enjoy the view without feeling imperiled.

The library was a wonderful place to laze about with a coffee in front of a roaring fire. Yes, there was a fire in October - we came during a cold snap and actually had snow! We just kicked back and relaxed and could feel our cares drift away. There's a fully-stocked bar in there too, but as coffee addicts we were more interested in the pod-style espresso machine.

The service was wonderful. We only needed help with a couple of things but on both occasions someone was sent to the Lodge immediately and arrived much faster than we would have expected, and with a cheerful and friendly manner.

The only downside of the entire visit was the variable quality of food at Teez. On Sunday 13/10 we ordered the poached egg and bacon with toast and it was SO good - like, 'foodie heaven' good: thick cut, golden fluffy toast with butter, perfectly poached eggs, juicy sauteed mushrooms and crisp, flavoursome bacon served with a small pot of relish which was actually really delicious. (Normally I hate the idea of relish anywhere near eggs.)

It was a no-brainer, then, on Monday 14/10 to order the same breakfast - which we did, and also an extra serve of mushrooms each. But what we got was undercooked, barely-warmed toast (no butter), onto which soggy, watery eggs were just 'plopped', which made the toast wet. There was also a miserly serving of bacon, no relish, and - I am not making this up - one and a half mushrooms each. (Half a mushroom? Who does that?)

Although disappointed, we weren't going to cause a fuss but we did ask the waitress to follow up on the extra mushrooms. (They, at least, were well cooked.)

She went to speak to the chef of the day and he shot us the absolute daggers from the kitchen and then sent out 4 mushrooms on a saucer - which is more of an 'extra mushrooms for 1 person' portion than for 2, but after the chef's massive overreaction to us requesting completion of the order, we weren't going to try again. It had been such a fantastic weekend overall that hubby and I mutually agreed to just let it slide.

On our way out, the chef glared at us again from the kitchen doorway and then pointedly turned his back on us in a huff. It was a very weird experience and completely unlike the previous day's breakfast in every single way.

Anyway, my advice in relation to Teez is that when it's good it's absolutely exceptional and ranks up there with the best hotels anywhere. When it's bad, it's abysmal. From our 2-day experience there wasn't anything in between.

I'm not taking any marks off the review of the Lodge though, because I'm rating on the rooms and overall service and it's not like Teez is the only place you can go. Next time I'll probably just start the day with a cup of coffee there and then drive up to the next town for brunch or something instead. Speaking of coffee, we drink ours black so I can't comment on the quality of the milk-based coffees at Teez but the waitress there made fantastic espresso both days.

We are already planning our next trip back to Tarraleah Lodge in July next year for our 14th wedding anniversary. I can't think of any accommodation that comes close to the standard of luxury and the feeling of getting away from it all (while only being an hour and a half from Hobart) and aside from the slightly surreal breakfast on Monday, our weekend away was flawless.

I cannot fault the other employees, including the waitress at Teez who was lovely both times we saw her.

Room Tip: From what we saw of the floorplan, all the suites are enormous. We were in Suite 5, I think (I shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daria_and_Shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobart
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The tastefully restored Art Deco village is amazing. Our room at the Lodge was fabulous. Beautifully fitted out. Food & wine was excellent at café & Highland Bar. Staff were attentive, helpful & pleasant. Loved the highland cows & goats.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

WOW! we are so glad we stayed at Tarraleah Lodge! The Lodge is simply superb - loved the art deco feel... we walked in and felt right at home! Our room was stunning.... bed and pillows were out of this world and the 'log fire' added to the ambiance. The bathroom ( and heated floor ) was awesome!
We had the entire Lodge to ourselves.... and after a wonderful meal at the Highlander Arms - we relaxed in the library with a glass of port, an open fire, and wonderful music playing on the CD player... we could not have asked for more -except another night in this delightful Lodge!
We also enjoyed the hot tub experience but forgot the champagne ( know for next time! ).
Kristie was outstanding in her customer relation skills - she was an absolute gem and so helpful - thank you Kristie!
We also enjoyed feeding the Highlander Cattle... mindful of those big horns!
A truly memorable stay in a fantastic spot.

Room Tip: Take time to read the history of Tarraleah - there is a fabulous book in the library of the Lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarraleah
16.0 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
361 reviews
10.8 mi away
Highland Cabins and Cottages at Bronte Park
18.1 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Art Deco Cottages at Tarraleah
15.8 mi away
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
#1 of 1 in Derwent Bridge
245 reviews
25.0 mi away
Curringa Farm
Curringa Farm
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarraleah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarraleah Lodge

Property: Tarraleah Lodge
Address: Wild River Rd 1, Tarraleah, Tasmania TAS 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Tarraleah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Tarraleah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tarraleah Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tarraleah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarraleah Lodge Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing