We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Our return visit was even bettern than our first.”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
9 reviews
Entrance
Dining Room
Lime Cay Bedroom
Flamingo Bedroom
Flamingo Bathroom
Flamingo Bathroom
Atlantis Room/Master Bedroom
Atlantis Tub (Master Bathroom)
Atlantis Shower (Master Bathroom)
Patio
Self-contained flat (bedroom 4)
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4
Bathroom 4
Steps to the ocean
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
White House, Westmoreland Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
M1cheleL
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our return visit was even bettern than our first.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed playing in the pool, lounging and enjoying the cool breeze and scenery under the gazebo, fishing, snorkeling and canoing in the clear, blue ocean all right from our own backyard. My little nephew caught his first fish. We took day trips to Negril and Kingston, the local markets for fresh fruits and vegetables and to Borders for fried fish and bammy. The La Vista staff prepared delicious local meals for us. All we had to do was ask. We gave them a shopping list prior to our arrival and it was already stocked when we got there. The friendly staff kept the house clean and tidy and were always around to cater to our every need. We felt very secure at La Vista. It is located in a gated community with a guard and the property itself is also gated.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: I felt pampered.
Liked least: I had to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MamAfriqu...
Georgetown, Guyana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over the Mountains to the best of Jamaica”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

La Vista is a beautiful space overlooking the rocky south coast of Jamaica. Expect pristine countryside and ire vibes. The views are breath taking -fabulous sunsets, moon rises and the Caribbean Sea. The house is well appointed and peaceful. My family and I enjoyed great fun at La Vista, White House and the surrounding areas and were well taken care of, no, spoiled by its friendly staff.

Here, you are left almost entirely on your own to navigate remote Jamaica. So, come prepared with groceries or make arrangements for food shopping ahead of time. It took us two days to sort ourselves out. Same for places of interest, research ahead of time. Also demand precise directions to La Vista, an address and a local telephone number are needed. Do not plan on getting in after dark either because the roads thru the mountains are in extremely poor conditions and travel extremely perilous after dark.

Despite the challenges, we had a wonderful stay.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 1 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view, the staff
Liked least: The manager
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We regret that there were challenges during your stay and will ensure that contact information and a detailed map are issued to our guests prior to arrival. We have placed additional signs on the roadside. We will also provide further recommendations for local attractions and additional consultations for meal planning.

We are surprised that meals were an issue, as you received complimentary dinner upon arrival and the groceries ordered before arrival were placed in the pantry. The staff is encouraged to escort the guests to the supermarket 4 minutes drive from the villa.

We recommend experienced drivers to & from local airports but will encourage visitors to exercise caution when driving on our roads which can be tricky especially when under repair. We did mention in our email that there was a particularly bad spot near Culloden.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay despite these mishaps. If you have any additional questions or concerns, our management team is available to assist in any way possible via email. We trust you received your Kindle which was left behind and found the walker we provided to be useful to your mother.

Cheers,

The La Vista team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ontario, Canada
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chrismwon...
Montego Bay, Jamaica
1 review
“The Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

La Vista was truly the perfect getaway for a group of 7 people ranging in age from 5 to 70.

The villa is located in a quiet, peaceful community where the adults could completely relax while the children swam in the pool to their heart's content. The sunsets are breathtaking and the grounds are pretty and well maintained.

The service of the villa's housekeeper and gardener just added more warmth to an already lovely vacation. We were completely taken care of and the food was delicious.

A white sand beach is a 5 minute walk away where we went kayaking and snorkeling. We were also able to buy fresh fish from a passing fisherman early in the morning.

La Vista was everything we hoped for and more...we had a relaxing vacation with lots of space and personalized service. The rates were affordable and the owners were generous and flexible. This villa is strongly recommended by our family.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful
4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jack966
1 review
“Perfect Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We arrived to the south coast of Jamaica late night, and were greeted by the housekeeper and cook, after spending a few days on the north coast so it was not until the following day when we awoke and explored La Vista – wow! “Is this where we’re staying for 5 nights?” the kids kept asking. One of my fondest memories of our stay will always be each and every morning when we rolled up the 3 storm shutters (the breadth of the porch) and was greeted by the warm Jamaican sunshine and beautiful Caribbean sea in our ‘backyard’ (in addition to the aroma of breakfast being prepared). This was our view each and every day especially at meal times. And what delicious dishes were prepared by our cook and housekeeper at our request. They were both very warm and friendly and very accommodating with our requests.

The house is within a private gated community and is very quiet and spacious with lots of room for our fairly large group. The owner was very accommodating with our needs especially with our sleep arrangements.

We had arranged a private driver to take us around and always looked forward to our return at the end of the day when we knew a hot, home cooked meal awaited us with minimal bathroom wait times as there were 3 full bathrooms available.

We were all very sad to leave and hope to return to La Vista in the not too distant future.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: cook & housekeepr - no house duties for us!
Liked least: very hard to say
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing