We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandals South Coast
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunset Heal Jamaica(Petersfield)
US$46
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Room Service
Treasure Beach Hotel(Treasure Beach)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa(Treasure Beach)(Great Value!)
US$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Resort & Villas(Treasure Beach)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$667
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Secrets St. James Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$656
US$573
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marblue Villa Suites(Treasure Beach)
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silent Waters Villa(Montego Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,489)
Filter reviews
7,489 results
Traveller rating
4,974
1,651
555
200
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,974
1,651
555
200
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian villagemain poolcafe de parismartini barfrench poolwater barfourth floorour honeymoonpastry shopgarden tourpot holeswhite nightred lane spajerk shackclub levelbutler servicepelican bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,304 - 5,309 of 7,489 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Let me start by saying this resort had some of the finest service and food i have had from any of the resorts i have visited.

Here are the possitives:

The waiting lounge at the airport was a nice treat
Check in and out was very good and efficient.
Food was great, lots of choice and quality was very good( specially the pastry shop
Good wine list even the house wine was woodbridge reserve
Service was great, food front desk and cleaning staff were very friendly
Rooms were very clean and did resemble the European community it was named after (French , Italian, Dutch) Colors and design were very good)
Beds were some of themost comforatble i have slept on in resorts
Pools were cleen, good size and plenty of area to stay around ( it was just off high season)
Snorkelling off the beach was very good the fish were not afraid and would rub up agains some of the women and they would screem this was amusing to those of us people watching.
The free glass bottom boat was very good
The dive boats and crew were aso very good

Now for the negatives

Travel between the airport and the hotel was long and very bumpy, heard many people complain about it and that they got car sick( government still slow at repairing roads)

The entertainment in the evening was hit and miss ( mostly miss) the main entertainment on most nights was amateur at best and left a lot to be desired. Considering the regular prices for this resort I was very disappointed. There were a couple of good entertainers but overall just the tipical audience participation games( fun ) but the entertainers after the games were soso.

The neutrals

The on site stores and amenities were what one would expect all the little things people forget( razors deodorant, feminine products snack foods) they also had typical souvenirs as well as liquer, cigars, artwork and high quality jewelry and watches

concierge service was available to handle anything els you wanted ( for a fee of course)

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view The italian is closest to the main area and all have good beachfront
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Dan01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My husband and I had the best time at Sandals Whitehouse!! The ride to the resort was not as bad as I thought after reading some of the reviews. It was sad to see the state of some of the towns in Jamaica. When we arrived at the resort we were greeting with a towel and a drink. The check in process was very smooth. The food was incredible!!! The red snapper at Eleanor's was amazing. Guiseppe's pizza is a must! We visited Cafe De Paris multiple times a day!! Loved the jerk chicken at Bluefield's:) The staff was very helpful and friendly. There were always plenty of chairs at the beach and the pool. We did take our own rafts to float in the ocean. My husband and I will be returning!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I traveled here for a long weekend with my Mom. This was my first Sandals experience, but not my first all-inclusive experience. Overall, it was a wonderful weekend and I will highly recommend this resort to others.

We were spoiled for the weekend with a Butler suite. If your budget affords for this, I recommend it. Our favorite aspects were that they reserved our beach chairs and wrapped them in cozy towels, brought us a cooler full of cold beverages and hroughout the day, the Joy the Butler suprised us with wonderful treats like Jamaican patties, fresh coconuts, delicious cocktails and more! And in the evening, Kamar the Butler had the best tables reserved for us for dinner! It was great!

The beach here is wonderful! It is so long and very secluded. At times, we were the only people on the beach, so it felt like your own private escape. Tehre is sea grss in various patches, so if you like to swim in the ocean, you may have to search out the best spot (i found the area roped off by the French Village to be really clear). Also, I highly suggest getting up early one morning to watch the sunrise over the mountains! So pretty!! The sky turns this amazing pink color and no one else is on the beach! It is so relaxing and peaceful. Plus, you can find some lovely shells, grab a cup of coffee from Cafe de Paris and enjoy the resort before everyone wakes up or go for a swim in the beautiful main pool in the Italian Village and be the only one in the water!

The staff here is very friendly, especially Tamara at Cafe de Paris! We tried all the restuarants. I am not a food snob, but I like gourmet food and appreciate presentation and unique flavors, etc. Not all the restaurants and not all the dishes where hits. We enjoyed out seafood at Neptunes, the thai food at Jasmines, the lasagna at Guiseppes, breakfast at Bayside and lunch at Bluefields. We also liked that you are able to place orders to-go, which is nice if you prefer to dine in your room.

Another great thing about Sandals Whitehouse is that the resort is so large and so spread out that if you are here for a romantic getaway, you will easily find a place to escape to be on your own. Whether the beach, the cabana beds near the jacuzzi in the Italian village, the gardens, etc, there are loads of nooks and crannies where you can escape.

Overall, this is a great resort to getaway, relax and unwind. I would suggest 3 nights here as a minimum, as the distance to/from the airport is just under two hours, plus the resort has so much to offer you need close to a week to explore and enjoy it!

Room Tip: we liked the central location of the Italian Village rooms
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MyTravelingPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

OMG!! We just got back from the most amazing trip to Sandals. This was our first time here and first time out of the country to an all-inclusive resort. I am not sure anything could live up to this place.
The trip down to the resort was filled with horrible roads and car-eating potholes, but the time passed quickly with our driver, Stylish, giving us valuable information about Jamaica. We arrived and were greeted wtih a drink and a cold towel. They escorted us to the concierge office and were made to feel at home immediately! They made us an even better drink than from the lobby and checked us in in mere minutes. We were then escorted to our suite by our concierge, Sheldon, and our concierge manager, Lancelot! Both were so very good and so friendly!
Our room was spectacular and well worth the money for the concierge suite! It was large and spacious and beautiful!! The bar and wine in the room was great!
We were in the Dutch village and stayed in the Dutch pool most of the time (the quiet pool). We were there for relaxation and we definately found it there! David was our favorite bartender at the Dutch bar. He makes a wonderful "green lantern" that you should try!
We also spent some time at the Renaissance pool by the French village. Anthony poured up some mean drinks there also. Our favorite was a chocolate banana. Melinda was another bartender on an exchange from the Sandals in the Bahamas. She was great also and fixed a wonderful drink called the Emerald Bay, their signature drink at her resort back home.
We spent only a little amount of time in the main pool (riviera pool). It was nice, but could get loud and we were looking for loud most of the time.
The food was outstanding!! Neptunes was a favorite for their fresh seafood and Bluefields was wonderful for their jerk pork and chicken. We enjoyed all the others too! The only thing we tried that we didn't like was the sushi at Jasmin's. It was not good!! Don't eat it!!
We enjoyed two different sessions at the Red Lane spa. Ask for Sandra, she was wonderful!! We had two different massages and a body exfoliation treatment. Both were outstanding!
The ocean was so beautiful! We were able to get loungers right on the beach with an umbrella with no problem. The swimming area that is roped off, is the best for swimming, but all of the beach is beautiful and you are able to get into the water anywhere. The beach was well groomed everyday and night. On a clear day, the ocean was so many different blues, it was amazing!
I did get several mosquito bites, but no more than I would have gotten back home being outside as much as we were. We didn't see any sand fleas or any other bugs. It was almost bee-free also. I only saw three bees the entire time we were there, and believe me, they have enough flowers to support several hives.
We already want to plan another trip back here. We spoke with several people that had visited other all-inclusive resorts and said that this one is by far, head and shoulders above the others. They said the friendly service and luxury cannot be found elsewhere!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank lwade_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

After an ok experience at Sandals Antigua, we weren't sure that we would ever try another Sandals resort again. Its not that we are not easy to please, because we are very easy going people who understand that it is rare to have a perfect holiday with no glitches. We just didn't feel that we got our bang for our buck at SGA. We decided to give Sandals another shot and booked a vacation at the Whitehouse. It was PERFECT, and we were finally wowed by "Sandals". We felt that our hard earned dollars were wisely spent.
The resort is beautiful, the beach gorgeous, the food was great, the drinks very good, the staff were super. They had even had good entertainment in the evenings, and the weather was perfect. I want to keep this review short and honest. The facts are that if you have booked this resort, you will not be sorry. We just booked a returning trip for Jan, 2012. Many Sandals regulars come back to the Sandals Whitehouse for a reason, and soon you will find out why..
Have a fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mauifreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews