We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandals South Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We traveled last year from May 1st 2011 to May 7th. We had a little trouble with our flight getting to the resort, but we had a wonderful stay once we arrived. The grounds of the resort are amazing! Everything was so pretty. The flowers and landscaping were beautiful! The resort never felt crowded or full, there was plenty of space on the beach and around the pools. We never had to wait long at dinner. We waited a little bit for lunch a few days. Room service was pretty slow (Took about an hour or more each time we had ordered something). Food overall was great. Drinks were really good, they exceeded our expectations!

This resort is very quiet and relaxing. It feels very secluded. There is not a lot of night life, we did not mind because it is not really our thing. We had a wonderful stay and really enjoyed this resort! The staff really made this resort a wonderful place, everyone was so friendly and kind.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KS850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,579 - 4,585 of 7,139 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

We were disappointed with this resort after our visit to Bahamas which was far superior in every respect. No quality premium drinks are available if you are a whisky drinker like me!
Glenlivet was available in one pool bar for one day only. Martini bar is so cold that you need winter clothing to drink there. Ths staff is very courteous except Alicia who works at
"come back" desk. She was very abrupt and when asked about departure tax asked us to find it out ourselves! Only bar that is open late is Neptunes which has no seating places if it rains which is a daily occurrence. Entertainment is of a very poor quality. Be prepared to walk as the rooms are well away frobm the bars and restaurants. Not likely to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We first stayed at Sandals Whitehouse in 2006 (see our review) and are pleased to report that, under the new General Manager (Carl Beviere), it has taken on a new life. Having experienced a couple of years when the staff was depressed by it manager, it was great to see all of our old friends on staff truly enthusiatic once again. The amenities and niceties we have come to expect were even better because we saw a truly delighted staff that was happy in its work on the "Whitehouse Team." Mr. Beviere has unshackled his staff and they have responded wonderfully.
There are new outdoor furnishings at poolside, and new sofas, market umbrellas and cozy firepits around the restaurant and Bayside patios areas. The new executive chef has begun to make his mark on the menu offerings. Be sure to visit the Casablanca Martini Bar.
Errol and Damian, at the Riviera Pool, have been friends for several years and greeted us warmly upon arrival. They made every day at the pool a good one.
Bryan, in Suite Concierge, was a human dynamo, seeing to it that our every need and want was answered.
Sheree and Rashida, in the Cafe' de Paris (bake shop), welcomed us back with their winning smiles and attitudes. They serve-up some of the most delicious pastries you will find anywhere.
Tamara, a server at Bayside, was new to us this year, but greeted us as if she had known us for years. She was always friendly, accomodating, and efficient.
We came to Whitehouse in '06, and now, seven stays later, we can again commend it enthusiastically. We look forward to our 2013 vacation with the knowledge that Mr. Beviere and our staff-family will happily welcome us back to our Jamaican home-away-from-home.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean-view. Penthouse Suites hold the highest and best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Greybeard2257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

After 2 (consecutive) visits to SWH then Grand St Lucian and Antigua we felt it was time to head back to SWH. Here are some observations
The thrill ride to SWH was 90 minutes as usual. This being our 3rd time we actually enjoyed the ride but the wide eyes and white knuckles of our friends would have them dreading the return trip all week. If you tell the driver your not in a hurry and there's a generous tip for a safe journey you might even enjoy the ride (as our friends did on the return) Helicopter is an option $700 for 4 people 1 way. (your bags go on the shuttle not on the copter)

Nice Rooms with ocean views
New Boardwalk is a great addition
Additional seating with umbrellas and fire pits added lot's of places to chill
Martini bar is still the perfect place to start your evening
Best beach to find a spot and spend the day. No vendors/wrist bands/kids
Ocean is warm and beautiful
Snorkeled 5 of 7 days (people take advantage of this, the times were never full) Love that the reef is so close your there & back in 1 hr. lot's of great things to see including a HUGE Stingray. Water is clear & shallow. The water staff is great. Is it the best snorkeling in the world NO (Bora Bora was better) but we had a blast!!

A few other thoughts
Drinks
Ladies didn't like the Champagne (and they tried and tried to like it) Antigua had Excellent Champagne
House wines are OK (try mixing the Merlot & Cab together) you will get a funny look but wait staff is always eager to please
Bar tenders are all fun. We have a great video of Colton trying to fill a glass on his head (most of it went down the back of his neck :)

Food
We eat to live - not live to eat so the variety and quality were fine
Neptune's with it's seafood fare is a much better fit than the previous cuisine of TexMex

The highlight of SWH and the reason we will be back a 4th time is their staff
These are Beautiful People who are genuine, and do all they can to make your stay special.
Yah Mon!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funtimes52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Having just returned from the Sandals Whitehouse resort, we were not disappointed. What a fabulous week! Wished that road from the airport to the resort wasn't as bumpy, but it wasn't all bad. We enjoyed seeing the interior of Jamaica and meeting some nice people along the way. Once we arrived at the resort, the pampering began. We were offered a towel to refresh ourselves and a cool drink. As we had booked Penthouse Honeymoon Beachfront Concierge, we were booked in privately. Our room was awesome! A corner balcony in the Dutch village had beautiful sunsets. The beach was well maintained and was one of the nicest private beaches we have been to. My husband and I enjoyed a romantic candle light dinner on the beach with delicious food and service. We booked a day trip to go ziplining with Chukka Zipline Canopy and again, we were not disappointed! What a thrill! Make sure you get Gussy and Troy as your guides. Another thing to check off on the bucket list. I could go on and on but I hope you get the gist of it. My husband and I will certainly go on another Sandals vacation and we are already looking for next year. I just want to end by saying we met some of the nicest people at this resort from Canada, the U.S , England and of course the wonderful Jamaican people. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Love the sunsets from the Dutch village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Just returned after a week at Sandals Whitehouse March 22 and after some of the stuf I saw on Trip Advisor befrore going I wanted to add some balance. This is our second trip to the resort but we had not been back to a Sandals for a few years with wedddings and other family priorities. We were at the Whitehouse about three years ago and while the Sandals Grande St Lucia has been our favourite the Whitehouse is now right up there.

Lets get the negatives out of the way. The road there from the airport needs work and the drive is not pleasant and reminds me of the old road to Ocho before it was updated. That said it is less than 90 minutes and once you are there it is worth it.

The resort was full or almost full. Getting a chair at the main pool was not an issue and is where we spent most of our time. We did use the small pool a couple of days but you needed to get up early to stake out a chair if you wanted one. The other pool had the volleyball net and hence we migrated to the main pool. Lots of swim mats in all pools and towels available. The beach is great and the ocean was warm. With all the space it never felt really crowded.

Since our last visit they have added a walkway on the ocean side of the buildings and it added significantly to the pleasure of walking to the pool or to dinner from our room. We walked the long private beach and this makes the resort special with nice sand and no people or vendors trying to sell you something.

The restaurants were not a problem and Sandals have a new food manager now for a few months and it looks like he has made a difference and is addressing many of the issues that I read about. Even with conceige service and the ability to book dinner times it was not needed and we rarely used the times we booked. I think too many people forget to relax on vacation when it come to picking dinner times. We ate with another couple and our startegy was to meet at a bar for a drink. One of us would walk to a restaurant while the drinks were being made and get either a time to sit down or a person from the restaurant would offer to come and get us. We usually got a table within 15-30 minutes or less and never waited longer than 45 minutes which meant two drinks on the patio in nice chairs looking at the ocean. No big hardship.

Eleanor's gets good write ups and the food there is excellent with beef tenderloin cooked to order. Good choices at all restaurants and while some meals were better than others we had only one meal that was disappointing but not so bad that we still finished it and could easily have ordered something else or gone somewhere else if we had wanted to. Expectations at dinner are high at Sandals and we managed to put on several pounds.

The staff was friendly and the Whitehouse is a resort that I would have no problem recommending.

Phil from Mississauga

Room Tip: All room have some ocean view. I think French section is the farthest from the main pool and the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This was our second trip to Whitehouse, our first being last May. May is the start of the rainy season, and we did get rain for about 4 or 5 afternoons last year. This year we went March 2 - 16, not the rainy season, and we ended up getting rain 12 out of 14 days. It was mostly afternoon, and once was late in the evening, but it was disappointing. At least most mornings were beautiful. If you plan to get married here, you should do it in the morning for a better chance of good weather.
I'll start with the negative. Service could be very slow at times, especially at Bayside for dinner. My husband asked for more wine and she never came back with it. We found there were many times we had to ask for more wine. Our first trip to Sandals Hicacos in Cuba had much better service. Our wine and water glasses rarely got below half empty before they came and refilled them. They left the wine in ice next to the table, but they still came along before we needed to pour it ourselves. I guess we were expecting this kind of service again. But it wasn't bad enough to keep us away. Sometimes we had to wait a while for the main course, but there was nowhere else we had to be anyway.
There were a couple days there were no face cloths and I had to use the end of a hand towel to wash my face. But our room was always kept clean.
Water pressure was a little low a couple times, but it didn't stop completely like it did once last year.
The only other negative, which really isn't the resort itself, was the sand fleas. We've been to Cuba 4 times and the DR twice, but this is the only place I've got bitten by sand fleas. And we spend all our time at the beach wherever we go. Maybe all the rain was a factor.
We still love this resort. It's very beautiful all around, the grounds and the beach. We ate at all the restaurants more than once and never had a bad meal, except my husband wasn't too fond of the beef tenderloin at Eleanor's. We skipped most desserts in the restaurants and went to the cafe instead. I tried a crepe on our last night, very nice and I'm glad I didn't try it earlier! As it was, I ate too much chocolate soft serve and too many little goodies!
If you don't have butler service, you may have to wait to get seated at the restaurants, especially if you go around 8pm. But you just leave your room number and go for a drink at the martini bar and they'll get you when your table is ready. We did this a few times, and the wait usually wasn't very long. One guy got pissed when he couldn't get a table right away and walked out saying it was the 6th time. All he had to do was leave his name and he probably would've been seated in 20 minutes or less. Some people need to be more patient!
The beach is beautiful, tho the water wasn't as calm and clear as last year. The second week was getting better. We saw a couple star fish again. If you go on the pier in the mornings you may see a few stingrays. Someone from the bar did visit the beach a few times to take drink orders. A couple times they just came with a tray with water and beer and asked if anyone wanted some.
We stayed in the French Village, same as last year. We like to stay there, it makes us have to walk more, and after all the trips to the cafe, we needed to walk as much as possible!
The firepits are nice, but because of all the rain, the seats around them were wet most evenings. The new walkway, which was just about finished on the day we left, is very nice too. There are a few more palapas than last year, but they still need more. We had to get up 5:30 to get one, and even then I had to walk past a few before finding one a couple mornings. Yes there are lots of chairs on the beach, but if you want shade, which my husband does, you really do have to get up early. Plus the palapas come in handy when the rain comes!
Overall, a beautiful resort, friendly staff, good food, and it's nice being the only resort on the beach. Tho this will soon change when they build a Beaches next door.

Room Tip: All beach view, but first level may be blocked in places, we prefer top floor. French farthest from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cinster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White House
29.4 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
27.7 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
63.1 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,502 reviews
63.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,612 reviews
24.4 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals South Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals South Coast

Address: White House, Jamaica (Formerly Sandals Whitehouse)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > White House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Price Range: £384 - £1,245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals South Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the undiscovered. Journey to a forgotten Jamaica where the natural beauty is simply unforgettable. Within a 500-acre wilderness preserve, blue mountains, lush palm groves, pristine coastlines and shimmering turquoise waters create an unbelievable backdrop for a monumental resort. Sandals Whitehouse Europe Village & Spa perfectly blends the exotic allure of the Caribbean with the refined elegance of Europe. Charming Italian piazzas and fountains are surrounded by gardens resplendent with fragrant foliage, while three European-inspired villages – Italian, French and Dutch – are home to luxuriously-appointed, all oceanfront rooms and suites. Each one offers magnificent views overlooking the two-mile long beach, and top tier suites come with Sandals’ legendary Butler Service. Seven restaurants serve mouthwatering gourmet cuisine from around the world, and entertainment ranges from a sophisticated piano bar to bonfire beach parties and a chic nightclub. This resort is truly a world unto itself, where time is all but forgotten and the only moment is now. World Travel Awards: Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All – Inclusive Company,” 16 years in a row. Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand,” 18 years in a row. Sandals Whitehouse “Jamaica’s Leading Spa Resort” Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences. We’re so very pleased to announce that Sandals Whitehouse European Villages & Spa has been named in Condé Nast Traveler’s Voted 2012 Readers' Choice Awards “Top 15 Hotels & Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 10 and “Top 30 Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 4 as part of the annual “Best in the World” poll. Presented Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and Travelers' Choice Hotel for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandals South Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Whitehouse European Village Hotel Whitehouse
Whitehouse Sandals
Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing