We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing week in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandals South Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We just returned yesterday from a week at this resort. We don't usually return to places because there are so many places to see, but I would consider returning here.

We stayed in Room 2203 in the Dutch Village, a butler suite. The room was large and nicely decorated. Only problem with our room was the occasional foul smell coming from the bar sink. Despite several requests, this was never fixed while we were there but the butler brought a plug-in air freshener to cover the smell. That worked most of the time. This was perhaps my biggest complaint for the week - and something that should not occur at a hotel this expensive and otherwise nice.

The grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. The fire pits, ocean walkway, pools, architecture, beaches, etc. were all very enjoyable.

My husband went on several scuba dives, and appreciated the fact that he could dive at 9am (deep dive) and 11am (shallow dive), and be able to meet me by the pool or beach in time for lunch every day. Anyone planning to scuba, note you must pass a quick test in the scuba pool before diving, and they will require you to go on a shallow dive before you can do the deeper dive. My husband said the dives were nice, but nothing too amazing to see, unlike other places he has been. Nonetheless, it was easy for him to get several more dives under his belt.

The restaurants were good. With butler service, our tables were reserved for us; not sure how long others may have had to wait. The food was generally very good, but perhaps not gourmet. Biggest complaint was the tuna was overcooked and tough one night. All in all, a relatively minor complaint.

We were told the hotel was at 97% capacity. It is spread out enough that we never felt it was crowded. Always saw open pool chairs, and there appeared to be enough pool areas, restaurants & bars that it was not a problem.

We enjoyed the spa, but I do think it was overpriced. Also, when we booked our room, we were given a $150 spa credit. One of our first days there, they offered 20% off spa visits if you booked that day, so we did. When we arrived for the spa treatments, we were told we could not combine discounts, so it was either use the $150 or the 20% off, but not both. And, they added a 12.5% "service fee" to the cost of the service. I thought this was all a bit inappropriate, but just know before you book.

Butler service was nice. We had Chris and Ainsley, and they did a good job. Brought us lunch by the pool every day, snacks in the evening, and a few surprises like bubble baths with flower petals scattered all over the floor. They always had a smile and a good attitude. Each pair of butlers has up to 8 couples at a time, so they are not hovering over you. We did not feel like we are only 1 of 8, though; they did a great job of "juggling" the needs of their guests.

The resort is isolated, and for those who like to explore, this might not be the best place to go. I am recovering from a back injury, so sitting by the pool or beach every day was all I needed. As I mentioned, the scuba helped keep my husband occupied.

Because of my back, we did not chance the drive in, but rather took the helicopter transfer. If this fits in your budget, I highly recommend it. 20 minutes and you are at the resort, with great views along the way.

Everyone we met at the resort was friendly. It was easy to strike up a conversation with just about everyone. With perhaps 2 exceptions, the staff were always very friendly and had great personalities - from the maids to the bartenders to the waitstaff.

The variety of pools was nice. On this trip, we preferred the quiet Dutch pool. No music, no DJ, just the sound of the waves on the beach. For those who prefer more entertainment during the day, the Italian pool certainly seemed to have plenty of that.

The ocean here was very calm, and made it nice to take walks on the beach. We had no problem with bug bites, but did apply bug spray before eating dinner on the beach the night they had their beach party.

All in all, it was a great way to celebrate our 20th anniversary.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,699 - 4,705 of 7,268 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

We just spent a week in Whitehouse Sandals from March 24 - 31, 2012. We went with apprehension after reviewing the relatively negative trip advisories provided by recent visitors. However, nothing could be further from the truth. From the moment we landed in Montego Bay, we were treated like royalty. We kept expecting something "unfortunate" to happen but the only unfortunate incident was that we had to leave to come back home. Honestly, the grounds are amazing, the service is impeccable and the food was absolutely delicious. Did I mention the beach and sport activities that were just wonderful?! We never had to pre-book a chair and we didn't usually get to the beach until later in the morning because we went diving first. Some people do reserve their seats but there are so many available that you never have an issue finding a lounge chair. We did tend to eat earlier during the evening around 6-7 p.m. and we never had to wait in line. In addition, we actually started only ordering appetizers first and waiting to order the main course so that we weren't rushed. So I'm not sure where the SLOW service comes from because we did not experience it at all during the entire week. I don't know what else to say except this was not our first 5 star resort or our first Sandals experience so it is not like we are not familiar with good service and accommodations. It was truly wonderful! Hats off to the Sandals staff for making our holiday a wonderful experience.
Tamra and Anthony Benjamin, Ottawa Canada

Room Tip: We stayed in the French village and really liked it because it was further away from the pools, rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tamra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We were a group of three couples who were at the resort Feb 27th - March 5th 2012. Here are my observations, for what they are worth: The ride in was at times a bit bumpy, but we didn't find it nearly as bad as we thought it would be. The resort is beautiful (too isolated in our opinion) everything is pristine and as well kept as you would expect from a resort of this caliber. The views are extraordinary. The food on the whole was good - there were a few meals we didn't all rave over, but that is to be expected. The Parisian Cafe was our most visited spot - excellent first thing in the morning for fresh muffins and coffee to late at night before going back to your rooms. This was our first time at a no tipping resort and wonder if that was the reason for the attitude of the wait staff. (most but not all.) They have no reason to vie for your attention or to give extra ordinary service and we found that although the service in most restaurants was good, there was really only one or two that we had the attention that at other resorts would have been the norm. For example:no asking if we wanted refills for coffee in the morning or even offering them after lunch or supper, no asking if we wanted another round of drinks or wine with our meals, service not served with a "happy" attitude, actually surprisingly slow at times. I agree with other reviews that say it is very relaxing - we found it just too quiet and dull to our liking. Because it is all couples, newly weds or older people,there didn't seem to be the vibrancy of other resorts. The dutch pool was dubbed the "dead" pool. No music, not much drink selection, fresh towels running out every afternoon. We heard no Bob Marley or real Jamaican music at all which was a disappointment. All in all: a beautiful place to go to, no MAJOR complaints but too quiet for us. We won't be back for that reason.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank breezehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

In February we went for our third, two week stay at the Whitehouse. And I have to say it just keeps getting better. This is a resort for people who want to relax on vacation. If you are looking for wild parties till dawn, go to Negril. But if you are stressed out and just want to breath, this is the place for you. The grounds are amazing. The food is good and there is a good variety. The Jamaican people are the friendliest in the world, and there is plenty of room so you don't feel like cattle.

I have read some peoples complaints over the years saying that they weren't waited on hand and foot while they were there, and that is correct. The staff at Whitehouse, to a person, will go out of their way to make you happy, if you just ask nicely. But if you want to be treated like the Queen and treat them like servants you will find you get very little in the way of service. Just remember you paid alot to have everything included, but you didn't pay enough to be rude to the staff.

It will probably be many years before we return to the Whitehouse, but we will always compare every resort we go to the Whitehouse.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My partner and I stayed at this resort in August of last year. It was a fabulous trip. A long journey from Vancouver but certainly worth it. The resort is fabulous...I really cant say anything bad about it. The level of food and drinks was very good considering at the end of the day it is still all inclusive mass catering. I cant even tell how good the eggs bene were!!! We particularly enjoyed the Parisian style bakery. The entertainment was exceptionally good and the Jamaican bands/singers they brought in were awesome. We had some very fun night indeed. We also loved the piano bar. The thing that really made this trip though were the staff. The bartenders in particular were totally awesome....especially at the bar next to the seafood restaurant...Maverick you rock buddy!! I hope the management appreciate the great job these guys do. All the other staff were great too including the entertainment staff (love you too Jermaine!!). We were also very impressed by the way Mr Sangster dropped in on the resort...that personal, family touch goes a long way. On one occasion at the "lively" pool one of the senior guest was more than a little tipsy and had to be helped back to her room by the staff. The compassion and understanding of the barstaff involved was great.

A great place for couples...we saw lots of weddings and met loads of honeymooners....what an awesome place to start a life.

Would definitely go there again...bumpy ride from the airport notwithstanding.

Please commend all your great staff for putting up with all us North Americans.

A classy resort for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Foxy790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My wife and I just returned from Whitehouse last weekend 3/16-3/23 after spending a wonderful week in the sun, sand, and water. This was our first trip to this resort and it left a very good, 'would return' impression!

I am not going to spend a lot of time rating everything in great detail, because to be honest, it's vacation and no resort is ever going to be absolutely perfect. Sometimes you get a meal that is overcooked, or sometimes a staff member my be slow to respond, but on balance, there was not one person that works at this resort that did not go out of their way to make this one the the most enjoyable and relaxing vacations we have ever taken. So here is the short version.

We had a ground floor walkout facing the beach in the French Block. Most of the 'beachfront walkouts' on the French side overlook the pool Yes, the pool can get noisy there, but by 5 PM it is pretty much quiet and quite frankly, some people go on vacation to socialize with others and love that atmosphere because it is fun and lively! If you want a more quieter location, try the block of rooms we were in, from 3101 to 3111. We walked across the grass to the beach and as long as you got up by 6 AM you could reserve one of the grass huts that are right in front of the room. By the way, our room was cleaned daily and our fridge was stocked daily as well with fresh water bottles and juice. The ladies that keep the rooms are so nice and really do a great job! Kudos to the housekeeping staff!

The beach was clean and raked every day and every leaf off of every tree is picked up every morning. Truly amazing! We took several long morning walks up the beach to the west and found that to be enjoyable, especially watching the Pelicans and Terns dive bombing for fish! Best of all! NO BEACH SOLICITORS AND NO JET SKIS!!! This place has it all over Negril in that respect. Would never go back to any resort in Negril after staying here!

The guys and gals running water sports were very professional and a lot of fun! We took the Hobies out twice and my wife did the snorkel trio and saw lots of fish and such! You can actually snorkel right off the beach (the French beach is best for this) and see lots of things. We saw the occasional stingray, starfish, and I swam with a school of barracuda (fun?) and a large school of 'guard fish'. One person even saw a Lion Fish and took a picture of it. There is a small outcropping of rocks that are just to the left of the left side platform on the French Beach that literally has hundreds of colorful fish and the occasion lobster.

The food on balance was very good. We loved Bluefields by the French pool for a 'quick' (Jamaica time) lunch. The jerk chicken and fish sandwiches were the best! We ate everywhere except Jasmines. We found that if you got into the restaurants before 6:45 PM, there was no wait time. Starting around 7 PM they send groups up to the Martini Bar to wait for sometimes 30 minutes for a table. Considering the resort was sold out, we never had trouble getting seated in the 'first wave'. We also took a bottle of wine from home for our last night. The wait staff at Eleanor's accommodated us very well even bringing a wine bucket with ice and served it table side. The wine steward (Sommelier) was very nice and professional. We found the house wines to be very good as well.

Yes the ride from the airport was long and sometimes a bit, shall we say, 'entertaining', but I never felt unsafe as the two transport drivers we had actually got ovations for their amazing skills in tight spots!

I just want to say a big THANK YOU to Sandals for showing us a wonderful time! We will be back!

Room Tip: Top floor in any of the buildings for a view, or if you want more quiet than the French offers, choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jeffandbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We just returned from Whitehouse for our 10th anniversary trip. This was our 4th visit to a Sandals (1st at Whitehouse) and this one exceeded our already high expectations. We booked the Honeymoon Beachfront One Bedroom Luxury Suite and were on the 2nd floor of the Italian village. The room had a fantastic view of the beach and had a balcony with a large enough table to eat at. We took advantage of this several times for breakfast and late-afternoon snacks. This was a butler- level room and the service we received from our butlers (Joy and Keen) was over-the-top! They ensured that we always had a great spot by the pool each morning, with a cooler full of drinks, and anything we needed was just a cell- phone call away (we were given a small phone upon arrival). At dinner time they always ensured that we had a perfect table waiting for us at our reserved time. 

The ride to and from the resort was bumpy and twisty and took about 1 1/2 hours. We opted for the private transport and the car had no problem driving around the potholes and our driver was a great tour guide, which made the journey more enjoyable. It was still a hike though. We heard from others that the shuttle ride wasn't bad, and we would opt for that the next time. 

The beach was absolutely incredible, with plenty of seating and water activities to do and it was long enough to be enjoyed by each of the 3 pools. We tried the water skiing and ocean kayaks and had a blast. The sunset views from the Dutch section looked like a post-card! There's also a recently constructed walkway between the beach and the buildings that spans most of the length of the property. 

As with other Sandals we've been to, the spa was top-notch. We emailed ahead, so my wife had a mani/pedi already scheduled for late afternoon on arrival day. We had a couple's massage the next day which we both enjoyed very much. They added a service charge to the bill, which we found out after inquiring that this was actually the tip. 

The fitness center was closed for renovation so the cardio equipment had been moved to the Aerobics studio, while he strength equipment had been moved to one of the sqash courts. As with all gyms, you have to go early to avoid the peak crowds but the equipment (Life Fitness) is in good shape with plenty of variety. 

We spent most of our days at the Dutch pool and had a reserved spot courtesy of our Butler. This was by far the quietest of the three pools; however, the bar did not have a blender so we had to walk to the other two pools for the frozen specialty drinks. On the subject of seats, there were plenty. However, you did need to get up early to reserve one in the shade if you didn't have the butler service level... I saw people saving them between 6 and 7am. Having said that, there were plenty of chairs on the beach and at the pools... just not under shade. However, later in the day the others did open up... we walked to the main pool in the afternoons and got one under an umbrella.

The restaurants were all very good. We had lunch at Bluefields most days and the jerk chicken was great.  We also had lunch at Neptunes (seafood) and Guissepes (pizza). We had dinner at every restaurant except for Jasmines as we were never in the mood for asian. Service was slower at Neptunes and Bayside than the others, but they were quick with the drinks and we were in no hurry. The seafood was fantastic at each restaurant. We ate outside one night at Bayside during the live music, which made this the most enjoyable dinner of our trip! 

Overall, this was our best Sandal's visit yet. We had intended to try the others for our next "big" trips, but our experience was so good that we are likely to make repeat visits to Whitehouse. 

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank SunnyRob40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White House
30.5 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,685 reviews
29.4 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
27.7 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.1 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
28.3 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,585 reviews
63.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals South Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals South Coast

Address: White House, Jamaica (Formerly Sandals Whitehouse)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > White House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Price Range: £359 - £1,180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals South Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the undiscovered. Journey to a forgotten Jamaica where the natural beauty is simply unforgettable. Within a 500-acre wilderness preserve, blue mountains, lush palm groves, pristine coastlines and shimmering turquoise waters create an unbelievable backdrop for a monumental resort. Sandals Whitehouse Europe Village & Spa perfectly blends the exotic allure of the Caribbean with the refined elegance of Europe. Charming Italian piazzas and fountains are surrounded by gardens resplendent with fragrant foliage, while three European-inspired villages – Italian, French and Dutch – are home to luxuriously-appointed, all oceanfront rooms and suites. Each one offers magnificent views overlooking the two-mile long beach, and top tier suites come with Sandals’ legendary Butler Service. Seven restaurants serve mouthwatering gourmet cuisine from around the world, and entertainment ranges from a sophisticated piano bar to bonfire beach parties and a chic nightclub. This resort is truly a world unto itself, where time is all but forgotten and the only moment is now. World Travel Awards: Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All – Inclusive Company,” 16 years in a row. Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand,” 18 years in a row. Sandals Whitehouse “Jamaica’s Leading Spa Resort” Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences. We’re so very pleased to announce that Sandals Whitehouse European Villages & Spa has been named in Condé Nast Traveler’s Voted 2012 Readers' Choice Awards “Top 15 Hotels & Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 10 and “Top 30 Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 4 as part of the annual “Best in the World” poll. Presented Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and Travelers' Choice Hotel for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals South Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Whitehouse European Village Hotel Whitehouse
Whitehouse Sandals
Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing