We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandals South Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

5th year in a row we have spent at our home away from home. Another amazing trip. A little more rain this year than we have ever seen, but a nice late warm rain is beautiful. Better than snow!! As always impeccable food and service and grounds. Greeted warmly by staff, special thanks to Adrian and Leroy. Oshoi doing a great job in the gardens. Bar service impeccable this year by all the bars, Shimone, Kimone and Delroy. To Arnella always finding me the biggest cups possible for our excellent blue mountain coffee at 6:30 a.m. And for Sherees beautiful smiles passing my husband his pastries each and every evening.. Excellent pool satff, Geaton & Damian always ensuring the pool & area was clean and plenty of towels. Thank you to evryone too many to mentio. The food and resort is beautiful, but the staff are incredible a big reason we keep calling it home... God willing see you all next year.

Room Tip: We love the dutch, mid point at the resort, a little quiter, exactly what we like
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gina69-46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

We're so glad that you enjoyed your 5th stay with us at Sandals Whitehouse. We always want to ensure that our guests have wonderful experiences with us and it seems during your stay we accomplished our goal. Thank you for your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back home soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,011 - 3,017 of 7,262 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at Whitehouse April 5-12. This was our 4th Sandals vacation (stayed twice at LaToc with and without butler, and once at Grande Riviera with a butler). Our room was in the Italian section, 3rd floor without concierge or butler. We really liked the location in the Italian section as it was just steps from the restaurants and main pool and only a five minute walk the other direction to the French pool.

Our only negative experience was checking in. Yes, the ride to Whitehouse is nearly two hours, but we weren't bothered by it as we knew what to expect & treated it as a sightseeing tour. But after the plane ride & long road trip, we got to the resort and had to fill out paperwork all over again that had been done before we left. Having arrived at 1, we were told the room wouldn't be ready until 3. The process in the lobby was slow. They directed us to the Italian restaurant for pizza (excellent) but then we still didn't get to our room until 4! Lesson learned, always pack a bathing suit in your carry-on!

The resort is beautiful and very well maintained with lots of gorgeous flowers, plants, fountains and peacocks roaming about. We appreciated the fact that Whitehouse is secluded and so the entire beach is for Sandals guests only. The beach is raked daily, clean, and we never had a problem getting chairs. We spent lots of time at both the Main & French pools. The pool bartenders (Shamone, Renauldo) are fun & make a great, strong drink.

We enjoyed the cafe de Paris for coffee at any time and had our breakfasts at Bayside. I have to mention Gladius working in Bayside as one of the friendliest waiters. For dinner we enjoyed Jasmines (service a little slow), Giuseppe's (excellent food, Daniel was very attentive), Eleanor's (awesome filet and service), Neptune's (very friendly service, beautiful setting, my husband loved his mahi mahi) and Bluefields (pretty outdoor setting, excellent grilled shrimp). The martini bar was fun for before or after dinner drinks, the bartenders like Fletcher were friendly and fun! Just a thought, maybe move the martini bar downstairs - walking two flights of marble steps after drinking can be dangerous!

My favorite experience was going on the Sandals Foundation Reading Road Trip to a local school. If you love children and don't mind giving some of your time for a great cause, I highly recommend it. It's no more than a ten minute drive to the school, you'll be back by 11:00 & most importantly the children love it!

The staff at Whitehouse was overall wonderful and we thought the resort was beautiful! I've read complaints about the rooms being outdated - ours was very nice & the resort is less than 10 years old! Thanks Dorine for keeping our room clean, Keysha in the spa for my relaxing facial, the dive instructors for their patience, Jamille for helping us plan our next Sandals vacation & our drivers Michael and Dean for making the trip to and from Whitehouse a safe & informative one.

We will return, loved the beautiful and relaxing resort.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank PKMPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your great review of Sandals Whitehouse. We're thrilled to read that you had another amazing Sandals visit with us. We always strive to meet and exceed the expectations of all our guests, especially our return guests as they have already experienced our high standard. We're glad we were able to make your stay fabulous and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This place is so amazing!!!! We loved everything about it!!! We went for 9 night for our honeymoon and we did not want to leave!!!

Your spoilt for choice with the food, so much to choose from and it all tastes so good!!! cafe di paris was so nice - the crepes were amazing!!!

The stuff are so friendly, especially Prince, Ronaldo, Angelita and the guy at the jerk pit!!! They made us feel so welcome!

The cocktails are great, we loved the Jamaican smile and Blue Hawaiian - you must try if you are going!

Our room was lovely, we had a mini fridge, which was filled every day.

The beach is beautiful and includes all water sports, which is great.

Wednesday night - was our fav - Chocolate buffet night!!!!!!!!! we loved it - chocolate fountain, chocolate martinis - so much chocolate - it was great for all chocoholics!!!!

The entertainment was fantastic day and night - Prince and Angelita made sure everyone had a great time and involved all.

We definitely can't wait to return.

all our love to all the stuff at the White house from the couple from London who just got married as Ronaldo would say 'Mrs Dimitri'

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hanglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

It brings us great joy to know that you had an outstanding honeymoon at Sandals Whitehouse. We truly do our best to ensure that we meet the needs of each guest. We want to not only exceed expectations but also to create a lifetime of amazing memories. Thank you so much for your review.

We hope to welcome you back soon for another awesome stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

If I could rate this property a 10, I would. It is absolutely gorgeous, and the resort's secluded location makes you feel like you're on a private island. The beach is perfect, the service is perfect and there are plenty of restaurants and bars, and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food.

Here's the longer review. One cold NE winter day, a girlfriend and I were having drinks, and we decided to leave our husbands behind a book a girls' getaway weekend. We wanted to go to a place that had a laid-back atmosphere and was kid-free. Sandals Whitehouse was having a sale, and so we booked!

We arrived on an early flight into Montego Bay, and I highly suggest it because we were the second flight in, and there was ZERO line at customs and immigration. Within minutes, we were shown to the Sandals lounge, offered a drink and relaxed until it was time to board the shuttle bus. We had looked into a private car (ran about $250 each way, or a helicopter, which was about $650 each way), but decided it wasn't worth the expense.

The ride wasn't that bad. I had been to Jamaica before, and it seems like the economy is turning around slightly. The ride was about 90 minutes, and yes, there are winding turns, but it's tolerable.

Arriving at the hotel, we were greeted with a nice cool towel, and because we had booked a Club Level room, we were shown to Club Sandals to check-in. We were served a welcome drink as we checked-in, and then Sheldon showed us our room. Our bags were delivered minutes later, and we went out to have lunch at Bluefield's. It was so amazing to have lunch overlooking the turquoise water. Lunch was good - my friend and I both remarked at how perfect the portions were. They are smaller than what you receive in the US, but you can order as much as you want. US portions are so big anyway, it was nice not to feel stuffed after a meal. The Beringer wine was also really good.

As we had lunch, we chatted that something seemed a little off in the room - nothing major, but there seemed to be a little difference with how it was described online, particularly the bathroom. Because I had upgraded us about a week before we arrived, I wanted to make sure we had the right room. We went back to see Sheldon, and he took such great care of us. He was able to correct the issue, and we were then shown to the proper room.

The rooms are great, very clean and spacious. The bed is huge - yes, it was a little strange that we had to share the king size bed, but it was so big, we had plenty of room on each side. The in room bar is wonderful too. We left a note for the person that stocks it with our preferences, and they were able to give us more of what we liked, e.g. Diet Cokes.

For dinner, we ate at Guiseppe's, Eleanor's and Neptunes. All were excellent, and service was incredible (especially at Eleanor's and Neptunes). We sat outside all three nights, and it was wonderful.

For lunch, we mostly ate at Neptune's because of it's proximity to the water and because it was seafood (something we don't eat a lot of at home). Again, service and the meals were really good.

For breakfast, we usually grabbed something quick at Cafe de Paris. The coffee was so good.

For bars, we usually hung out at Neptune's Bar. The service was great and fun. At night, the fire pits on the beach are turned on just in front of Neptune's, and they have these wonderful loungers (almost beds), where a couple can lie down and look at the fire pit and the ocean. If you need a refill, you just walk back up to Neptune's and there you go. I'm sure they'd probably also give you a bottle of wine if you wanted.

Surprisingly, we didn't have as much trouble with finding loungers as others have mentioned. We were able to find two loungers under a canopy on the beach one afternoon, and we hung out there and read. I was also able to move to one of the hammocks. If you can swing for Butler service, your Butler will reserve loungers for you. Also, next time we're there, we'll definitely rent a Cabana for $125/day. A Butler would also be nice because if you wanted a drink refill or some food, they could bring it to you.

I'm a certified diver, so I went diving both days at 9am and at 11am. The crew is top-notch, and the equipment was good (however, if you have your own and can bring it, I'd suggest it because with so many divers and diving everyday, the equipment is a little worn). The dive sights were great - three reef dives and one drift dive. On one of the reef dives, we saw a six-foot nurse shark. They also offer night dives, but I didn't participate.

My friend went kayaking and had a good time. There are so many other watersports and we just didn't have time to try them all. I also had a massage at the spa, and while pricy, it was a good massage. The last day, we walked to the end of the beach which gave some out of this world views (you need to sign in and out with security when you reach the resort end but it's not a big deal).

There are also 12 or 15 peacocks and peahens running around the property, which is just crazy to me. One of the peacocks spread his feathers for me, and I found that pretty cool. There is usually at least one wedding going on per day, and you'll see the bridge and groom taking pictures all over the property.

Before we left, we signed up for Sandals Select and put down a deposit for another visit next year to get the booking bonus.

Another tip is to book Club Mobay for your departure flight. It saved us about an hour in security, and we could relax in the lounge with free wifi, drinks and snacks.

All in all, it was a fantastic trip, very relaxing and the service was top notch. I'm not good with names, but everyone was so friendly, helpful and really wanted us to have a great time. Most of the staff got a kick out of two girls that were traveling without their husbands at a couples resort. We still met lots of friendly people and had a great time. Also, having an all-inclusive experience was nice because no heavy bar bill at the end of the trip.

Room Tip: Dutch side is quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank WorksforTravelMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I would highly recommend Sandals Whitehouse to anyone considering it. The grounds are beautiful, the food is excellent and the service is spectacular. Allen was our concierge and he was outstanding. Thank you Allen and thank you Sandals. We will be returning soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

where do I begin!!!!!!

we were upgraded on our flight out with virgin, which was amazing, we flew premium economy which made the flight out more comfortable.

our journey to the resort was fun!!!!! travelling on the bumpy roads, if we could of stretched the cash would of deffo booked the helicopter flight in to sandals, which we saw on several days whilst stretched out on the beach


check in was smooth, room was very spacious, grounds kept very clean, staff work very hard to give you an amazing stay.

it was well worth the 9 hour flight from the UK, you Americans are lucky to have such an amazing product (Sandals) so close to home

the boat trip to the pelican bar was fun

Eleanor's restaurant is fab, jerk pit for spicy chicken at lunch is great, bayside for breakfast, and the coffee shop for their blueberry muffins, scrummy at 0630 in the morning



will definitely be returning to a Sandals resort.... Mr Stewart you have so got it right and many more owners of hotel chains should look at what you are doing....

your staff at the Whitehouse are so attentive and friendly and they make you feel at home

cant wait to return

Mel and Pete

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent, however if you like a little peace in the day sunbath in the Dutch area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We loved Sandals! This was our second sandals experience and we loved then both. We stayed at the Grand Bahamian the first time and chose the Whitehouse for our second stay. The Whitehouse was our personal favorite. The butler rooms are the way to go! I loved that the Whitehouse was surrounded by mountains and the beach. It felt very Mediterranean. The restaurants are all outstanding especially the crepe shop!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Cbug33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for the great review of your stay at Sandals Whitehouse. We're delighted to read of your second wonderful vacation with us. We strive to meet our motto: Luxury All-Inclusive Vacations for Two People in Love. I'm so glad we were able to meet that goal, as well as exceed your expectations, during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back for an even better experience next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White House
30.5 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,683 reviews
29.4 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
27.7 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.1 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
28.3 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,581 reviews
63.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals South Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals South Coast

Address: White House, Jamaica (Formerly Sandals Whitehouse)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > White House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Price Range: £358 - £1,187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals South Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the undiscovered. Journey to a forgotten Jamaica where the natural beauty is simply unforgettable. Within a 500-acre wilderness preserve, blue mountains, lush palm groves, pristine coastlines and shimmering turquoise waters create an unbelievable backdrop for a monumental resort. Sandals Whitehouse Europe Village & Spa perfectly blends the exotic allure of the Caribbean with the refined elegance of Europe. Charming Italian piazzas and fountains are surrounded by gardens resplendent with fragrant foliage, while three European-inspired villages – Italian, French and Dutch – are home to luxuriously-appointed, all oceanfront rooms and suites. Each one offers magnificent views overlooking the two-mile long beach, and top tier suites come with Sandals’ legendary Butler Service. Seven restaurants serve mouthwatering gourmet cuisine from around the world, and entertainment ranges from a sophisticated piano bar to bonfire beach parties and a chic nightclub. This resort is truly a world unto itself, where time is all but forgotten and the only moment is now. World Travel Awards: Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All – Inclusive Company,” 16 years in a row. Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand,” 18 years in a row. Sandals Whitehouse “Jamaica’s Leading Spa Resort” Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences. We’re so very pleased to announce that Sandals Whitehouse European Villages & Spa has been named in Condé Nast Traveler’s Voted 2012 Readers' Choice Awards “Top 15 Hotels & Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 10 and “Top 30 Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 4 as part of the annual “Best in the World” poll. Presented Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and Travelers' Choice Hotel for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandals South Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Whitehouse European Village Hotel Whitehouse
Whitehouse Sandals
Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing