We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot but too remote - bus ride to resort is a killer unless you are a bit drunk!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandals South Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Certificate of Excellence
Decatur, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely spot but too remote - bus ride to resort is a killer unless you are a bit drunk!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Resort is lovely but the logistics of getting there too much for me. Lots of variety in cuisine but it still all tastes the same to me. Best food in main dining is breakfast buffet. pizza at Italian is really good. Otherwise food is just basically average cruise food. It was a wonderful vacation w friends and gorgeous location and superb staff but it's the things that weren't great I always want to know about.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,422
    1,487
    476
    179
    92
See reviews for
174
5,397
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,050)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our second trip using Beach Bum Vacations - Marcie Muensterman. She once again knocked it out of the park with this excellent recommendation. The staff was tremendously entertaining and very pleasant the entire stay. A must stay location for anyone going to Jamaica and wanting that romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Ask Marcie, she always has the best answer for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our first trip to a Sandals resort and our first trip to Jamaica....we booked a return trip prior to our departure because the experience was wonderful.

The first half of the ride to the resort was fine, but after the rest stop we were over it. Next time we will definitely try to find another couple in advance to split the cost of a helicopter ride.

The resort is beautiful and with a Concierge Club level room we were immediately whisked away to the Sandals clubhouse for our check-in. Concierge showed us around the resort on the way to our room.

We had a beachfront walkout in the Italian Village. Rooms are small, but furniture is nice and you don't spend much time in your room anyway. Fridge was stocked and our housekeeper Clover made arrangements with the bar service to give us Light RedStripe, our preference. The doors to the rooms are not sealed well so you can hear everything going on from the other side.

The beach was long and beautiful and we enjoyed walking along the beach each morning. We never had an issue finding chairs on the beach with shade. The water sports opened at 9am (hobie cat and paddle board). We recommend they open earlier (7 or 8am) when the water is the calmest.

Normally this is not the rainy season, but as we have experienced in the States, their weather has changed too and it rained everyday around 3pm for a couple of hours. But after a long day on the beach this was the perfect time to take advantage of some of the other activities at the resort (ping pong, pool) and get ready for dinner. Or better yet, sit in the hot tub with a cool drink and make friends while it pours!

The restaurants were great. Staff was friendly and service was overall good. We enjoyed the variety of the buffet at Baysides, but also really enjoyed the other restaurants. While the treats at Cafe de Paris were great, we were very disappointed with the lack of employees working and twice my husband walked out after waiting in line in the mornings.

The bars were great and we met some wonderful people, both guests and staff. We would like to give a HUGE shout-out to Renaldo who introduced himself to us as soon as we approached the bar and called us by name everytime we saw him. He was timely with our drinks (he remembered what we liked without having to ask), always good to chat with and really felt like a friend. There was another bartender who was very friendly as well and I can't remember his first name, but his last name is Christie.

The watersports were great and we really enjoyed the hobie cats, paddle boarding and snorkeling. Never had to wait and the equipment was in good condition. The beach staff was very nice and helpful and we especially enjoyed talking with Ewan....great young man and we wish him the best!

We were approached by several photographers during our trip asking us if we'd like to schedule a photo shoot. We enjoyed speaking with Oneal and asked to schedule something with him. He was a great guy and we recommended him to another couple while we were there.

We didn't mind the shuttle ride back to the airport, but again, highly recommend taking a helicopter to the resort.

Ben and Kristie from PA, USA

Room Tip: The beachfront walkouts are nice because the patios are smaller when they are on a higher floor beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben_and_Kristie_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was our 2nd time to Whitehouse the last being in 2008. We had another almost perfect Sandals experience. We've been to Mo-Bay 6 times, Antigua, & Royal Bahamian. I will tell briefly of our trip. We were there 4/19-4/26.
Ride to resort is an experience and all part of the trip. You really get to see the island and the day is basically shot anyway. 1st day and last Saturdays are travel days. Once at Whitehouse, check in was very smooth and quick. I requested Italian Village the Wed before our arrivial (rm. 1203) which is the close to everything and was granted that and also Sandals put us next door to our traveling companions. Thank you!!!
NEVER had an issue getting shape or chairs on the beach outside the Italian Village although we were out there by 8:00 and did stay in the chairs all week. You'll meet the same folks in your area as everyone seems to scope out a spot on Sunday, and stays there all week. Beach is fine and a liitle seaweedish but nothing that'll make you stay out of the water. Water wicked warm and nice after long New England weather.
Loved the water sports! Guys there helpful to get my wife and I standing on paddle boards. Did that all week!. Also nice water skiing boat!
Bartenders and all happy and serve a good drink. Loved that the Red Stripe was ALWAYS cold. Bloody Mary's at 10:00 at pool bar spicy and awesome! All top shelf brands too. Never had a problem getting served.
Food was typical sandals food. I liked Bayside at night the best. Onion soup, and the duck YUM! Missed lasanga, and more red sauce items at the Italian but that was ok. Elenors good too. You can wear shorts if you eat outside. Don't understand Sandals policy that you can go in with gym pants or jeans, but nice dress shorts are not ok????????
Burgers at Bluefields good. Order the fish sandwich there on a burger roll as the roll that comes with it is 3 times the size of piece of fish. Met some nice people there as everyone is on vacation and in a great mood although there are some around you can tell will never be pleased.
One thing I loved about the Whitehouse compared to our Mo-Bay and other Sandals, was that they played REGGAE music around the pool and resort all day---not Madonna! It was wonderful as you're in Jamaica and want to hear the island music. It was nice to float around pool from 3-5 listen to Bob Marley, Shaggy, Beres Hammon, Steel Pulse, Mogan Heritage-- see I learned the artists.
Ok, my gripes now. The best night entertainment was Reggae beach night which was Friday. Most people are leaving the next morning (us at 6:30am) so we could not really party and enjoy. Lots mentioned this so I would move this night to Thursday as it seemed like it would have been great. I know our fault for not staying out.......... just a suggestion.
Jerk Pit was terrlible. Taste was there, but quality of meat fatty. If you try it, don't have them chop it up.
Last gripe the returning guest dinner on Tuesday was totally way toooooo long. Long waits between courses. I know it rained during cocktail hour and we were moved in but it seem disorganized. Worst one we've ever been to. Only positive is that we got Appleton Rum instead of rum from Guyana which has been given out our last 7 trips to Sandals.
Ok all in all a wonderful week and we have booked Sandals Halcyon for our 10th trip in 2015. Thank you to all at the Whitehouse. Special thanks to Anthony and his golf cart!!! You won't be disappointed if you come here as Sandals always makes your vacation a memory.

Room Tip: Italian Village best beach Close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gongshow69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was our second Sandals Holiday and the first time at the Whitehouse. Everyone told us at Antigua that if you like Antigua, you will love the Whitehouse - they were right.
The journey to the resort takes about an hour and half, through some very narrow and hilly roads but you certainly get to experience the Jamacian countryside and incredibly views as you go over the mountains
The arrival greeting was great and we were quickly on our way to our room. My wife wanted to be in the Dutch Village but we ended up in the French Village - no problem, they moved us the next morning - thank you Xavier!
The resort was near to being fully booked but it never felt busy even though there are 640 staff that work on the resort. Sunbeds by the pool or by the beach were never really a problem. We used to get up at 0700, put out our towels (keep two brown ones from the day before) and then off to breakfast at 0730.
Wherever we went in the resort the staff were friendly and would do almost anything for you. We did get stung by jellyfish in the sea and straight away the life guard was off getting some vinegar to rub into the sting.
The food was amazing. Eleanor's steaks, to Neptunes Shrimp patty and salads, Jasmines amazing spring rolls. The stand out service in the restaurants though has to be Sherwin - the main man at Jasmines. He was very welcoming, attentive and knew exactly what to get us. We went to Jasmines four times (out a 2 week holiday) and we will never forget the food and of course Sherwin.
As we stayed in the Dutch Village, we sat by the pool/beach there and had two fantastic bar men - Fitzeroy and 'chucky' (made in China?) These guys made great drinks all day, every day - thank you
You have to go to the Martini bar - Fletcher and Romeo you made our evenings with your entertainment and great drinks. My wife is hooked on chocolate Martini's - One Love !! I wont mention the Geordie with the Pink Cosmopolitan. oops just did
The water sports are free and taking out the Hobbie Cat everyday sailing was very therapeutic and the staff were there to help everyone from beginner to advance levels
As it is a Spa Resort, it seemed a shame if we did not indulge in a massage or two. As a couple we had a massage, side by side and there were truly relaxing albeit a little expensive but when you are here you want to chill out - excellent massages and look out for the deals of the day in the daily newsletter.
In the newsletter, it tells who is getting married that day - have to say we were amazed that they were up to 5 weddings a day. Don't get me wrong it is very romantic but it does mean that it is not always couples in the resort. There are groups of guys or girls which at time can get disruptive.
Finally, I have to mention Steve Barrett, Director Customer services - this guy is Mr Fix it. No matter what issues you encounter, and there will always be something this guy gets it sorted. He was everywhere in the resort making sure everyone was having a good time. Thanks Steve

A truly wonderful 14 nights and can not wait to get back

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room then the Dutch Village is excellent - all rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton NB
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at Whitehouse from April 4th-11th. After visiting the Dominican Republic last year, boy was I glad to get back to Jamaica and especially Sandals!

We arrived on a Friday at 11am and made our way to the Sandals lounge. We only had time for a quick Red Stripe before we were told to board our bus. We were the first group to board and we waited only about 15-20 minutes for others before we left. What can I say about the ride? It's not as bad as others have stated but it is, to say the least, interesting. A winding road through the mountains which is only about 2 1/2 car lengths wide and towards the end, only 1 car length wide in places. Once you arrive at the resort, you will soon forget the 1 1/2 hour drive.

We were escorted to the Club Sandals lounge for our check in. We had originally booked a Penthouse Club Level Room but were offered an upgrade to a Beachfront Club Level Suite. Before we accepted, we viewed each room and decided to take the upgrade because of the larger balcony and walk in shower. We were on the 2nd floor of the Italian Village very close to the beach and closer to the restaurants than the other 2 villages.

We never had a bad meal at any of the restaurants and the portions were more than enough for my wife and I. ( keep in mind we both are not small people, LOL) I think our favorites had to be Elanors and Guiseppes. We tried them all with the exception of Bluefields, however we did eat lunch there one afternoon.

The service was outstanding from ALL staff members in all areas. That's one reason we love Jamaica so much is because of the people. They are very friendly and just seem to enjoy life.

Before we left for Whitehouse, I read all the reviews, and while there, made some observations about some of the comments made here on Trip Advisor.

1) Comments about a small beach/erosion
The beach in the Italian village is much wider and has a lot more room. This includes places to sit in the shade. The Dutch village beach is definitely eroded and is very narrow with most of the chairs under trees or palipas (sp.?) The French beach is a little wider with slightly more room.

2) Getting up early to reserve spots
If you want a spot by the Dutch or French pool, It appeared as though you would have to reserve early in the morning as there was limited seating around these 2 pools especially under umbrellas. The main Riviera pool has TONS of places to sit most of which have umbrellas. We would usually be there by 7:30 and would reserve our spot, go eat breakfast then come back for the day. By 8:30 there were still lots of spots to choose from. (same as the Italian beach but a few less spots to choose from.)

3) the towel game
Yes, people did reserve spots with towels but in our experience, we did not notice many that were not used. (At least by the main pool which is where we spent most of our time). The only thing that took me a day to catch on to was to make sure you grab a couple of towels at the end of the day for the next morning. Our first day we did not and there were not any towels to be found until later in the morning. I assume because everyone had taken them the previous afternoon. (Don't worry though, there are plenty of towels to go around through out the day.)

4) The floatie game
This one did irk me a little. There were a few guests that felt that once they had a floatie, they were entitled to keep it all day under their lounge chair even though they were not using it. I actually witnessed a young newlywed guy take a floatie which was clearly not being used that was laying at the edge of the pool. An older man saw him and demanded that he give it back and that it was his! Totally rude and out of line! The last I noticed, the floaties have "Sandals" written on them, not individual names. Learn to share kids, there are plenty to go around.

Aside from the usual few obnoxious guests, most people there were great. We met some nice people from all around North America and Britain.

Overall, we had a great stay at Sandals Whitehouse and would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jorjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We visited this amazing resort from April 3 - 11th, 2014. This was our first visit to Jamaica and our first stay with Sandals. From the moment we arrived at the airport and we were greeted at the Sandals lounge and until the moment we departed from the Club Mombay departure lounge, we were blessed with exceptional service provided by respectful, kind and truly amazing human beings, some of whom we have come to now refer to as our friends!

The bus ride through the mountain was a wonderful experience as we learned about the country and the people. The bus drivers are highly skilled and value the importance of safety for their passengers! Along the way, we were welcomed warmly at the Ramble Rest Stopwhere we had an opportunity to browse the beautiful handcrafts for sale while enjoying refreshments and washroom facilities. The lady who operates the shop was wonderful!

As we arrived at our destination, Sandals Whitehouse, we were immediately welcomed "home". This sense of welcome was truly extended and experienced throughout our complete stay!

There are few words that can truly describe our experience and we consistently use the word "paradise" to try and capture the staff and the resort when telling others about Sandals Whitehouse!

Throughout our stay, we experienced professionalism by all staff and we felt safe, respected and valued. We immediately fell in love with some very special staff who are to be commended for their professionalism, respectfulness, and most importantly, their true humanity: Fletcher, Romeo, Awanna, and Kameisha you are all very special people and it was a gift to have met you! Your passion, professionalism, respectfulness, laughter and love for your job, your colleagues, your families and your country truly set you apart!

During our stay, we also went on the Black River safari, visited the YS Falls and toured the Appleton Rum estate, all of which are a "must" for visitors to this amazing resort. From the on-resort staff who coordinated our excursion to Sharon and Larry, our tour guides, this was a phenomenal experience! a very special "thank you" to Kaylon and Summer at Appleton Rum estates and to Carl, our captain along the Black River who is the "crocodile whisperer"
Thank you to each and everyone of you for making our excursion such a memorable experience!

During our stay, we participated in daily activities which were many, varied and awesome! The nightly newsletter delivered to our room each evening was great! Some of the amazing activities included an exceptional opera singer one evening in the gardens, garden tours, glass bottom boat rides, etc. We also attended an amazing cooking lesson with Jennifer who taught us how to cook the national dish and jerk shrimp! Jennifer, you are awesome!

While we could continue to rave about the security, cleanliness, beuty, service and exceptional food at this resort, it is the staff who will be forever in our hearts and minds as we reflect upon our amazing experienced in paradise! We look forward to returning many more times with our friends and family!

One love truly symbolizes our first of many more visits with the staff and beauty of Sandals
Whitehouse, Jamaica!

Room Tip: All rooms are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White House
31.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
63.0 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
29.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,230 reviews
63.1 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,452 reviews
64.1 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals South Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals South Coast

Property: Sandals South Coast
Address: White House, Jamaica (Formerly Sandals Whitehouse)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > White House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals South Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the undiscovered. Journey to a forgotten Jamaica where the natural beauty is simply unforgettable. Within a 500-acre wilderness preserve, blue mountains, lush palm groves, pristine coastlines and shimmering turquoise waters create an unbelievable backdrop for a monumental resort. Sandals Whitehouse Europe Village & Spa perfectly blends the exotic allure of the Caribbean with the refined elegance of Europe. Charming Italian piazzas and fountains are surrounded by gardens resplendent with fragrant foliage, while three European-inspired villages – Italian, French and Dutch – are home to luxuriously-appointed, all oceanfront rooms and suites. Each one offers magnificent views overlooking the two-mile long beach, and top tier suites come with Sandals’ legendary Butler Service. Seven restaurants serve mouthwatering gourmet cuisine from around the world, and entertainment ranges from a sophisticated piano bar to bonfire beach parties and a chic nightclub. This resort is truly a world unto itself, where time is all but forgotten and the only moment is now. World Travel Awards: Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All – Inclusive Company,” 16 years in a row. Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand,” 18 years in a row. Sandals Whitehouse “Jamaica’s Leading Spa Resort” Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences. We’re so very pleased to announce that Sandals Whitehouse European Villages & Spa has been named in Condé Nast Traveler’s Voted 2012 Readers' Choice Awards “Top 15 Hotels & Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 10 and “Top 30 Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 4 as part of the annual “Best in the World” poll. Presented Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and Travelers' Choice Hotel for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Destinology, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Ebookers so you can book your Sandals South Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Whitehouse European Village Hotel Whitehouse
Whitehouse Sandals
Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing